We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Paradiso

Cafe Paradiso
Ranked #54 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Established by the inimitable Freda, Cafè Paradiso immediately set the bar for local cuisine and, from its inception, introduced us to a variety of dishes and ingredients seldom before experienced locally. Loving the idyllic setting and the warm ambience, Capetonians eagerly tucked into exotic and ‘foreign’ fare such as tzatziki, dolmades and babaganoush as well as the delicious country-style dishes which emanated from Paradiso’s bustling kitchens. Joined by three more formidable women, Laurille, Lynn and Mapula, Frieda and her team remained the heart of city trading with a lineage of values forming the foundation of this amazing establishment.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This was the first restaurant we visited after arriving in Cape Town. We were not disappointed. The food was of the very best quality, with enormous portions. The wines and beers were really good also and the price was brilliant. We had two courses each, plus a bottle of local 'champagne' for under 350 Rand

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    290
    76
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Our daughter, who lives just down Kloof Street, from the Cafe Paradiso, had spoken of taking us to dinner at her 'favorite Cape Town restaurant' months before we arrived in South Africa. So . . . because she is very particular about food and how it is prepared, my husband and I had very high expectations. We were not disappointed. The Cafe is located in a trendy and safe neighborhood, has a lovely courtyard with outdoor seating, and best of all, wonderful food. I had a Mushroom Ravioli with Olive Sauce that was one of the best pasta dishes I have ever had. I also had a Mozzarella, Prosciutto Appetizer as a salad on toasted garlic bread. There were five of us and the bill was under the equivilent of US $100. Absolutely delicious and the prices are very reasonable, especially by American standards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetHarperLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Summer lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We popped in as we walked past and just the look and vibe from outside tempted us in,,,the food was excellent...Gordon Ramsey would have been pleased " excellent food , fresh ingredients , setting in the garden on a sunny day with the mountain in the background was fabulous,,,I will def go back there again .good European staff so communication and service was also excellent.makes such a difference when the staff are on top of their game too....highly recommend

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala city
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I went to Cafe Paradiso twice. We were always very happy with our food, and service. It has a hip vibe, lots of young people, but we never felt out of place. There is outdoor seating which is very nice, with nice views.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We had great expectations of this restaurant based on recommendations and our chat with the chef when we stopped by earlier in the day and decided to book a table for later in the evening. We were surprised that they could fit us in without a booking on a Saturday evening and were happy with the offer of an inside table expecting the restaurant to be very busy. We duly arrived at 8.30 and were shown to an inside table as expected. However the experience from then on was the worst we have had during our visit here. We we were shown to what we now know is the worst table in the restaurant right by the kitchen and the coffee station - we could barely hear our conversation over the coffee grinding machine. We also had the family from hell at the next table who seemed to think it was acceptable to allow their children to run rings round our table as a shortcut due to the very poor positioning of the table as it was so close to their table. To make matters worse the restaurant was far from busy and the tables that we expected to see filled with other diners remained unoccupied for the entire duration of our visit and their was no reason for us to have been seated in such an awful place at all. The food we ordered did not make up for any of the discomfort that we experienced; overcooked prawns and over dressed salad just added to the disappointment. We couldn't wait to get out of there. When the bill came we told our waiter what we thought and he promptly brought Ron, the duty manager, to speak to us. He did his best to apologise and tore up our bill and offered to make it up on a future visit which was much appreciated but we won't be taking up the offer. He was having to deal with a situation which could have been completely avoided if the young man who greeted us when we arrived had actually done his job to ensure visitors to the restaurant had the best experience that could be offered. If this is how they treat customers and visitors to the area I certainly wouldn't recommend them to anyone and the food wasn't that great either.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Paradiso also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Cafe Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing