We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic properties in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Elite de Waterkant
Ranked #96 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Our large group (20) had 3 properties between Xmas and New Year - 2 in Loader Street and one in the street below. We stayed in 96 Loader Street - a great 4 bedroom 3 bath cottage with multiple deck areas and a plunge pool. (Another of the properties had a roof top hot tub).
Its all very contemporary and stylishly furnished - flat screen tv's in every bedroom - all you could wish for. The master suite is to die for, one ensuite bedroom is a separate annex (above the garage), the other 2 doubles are small on the ground floor and share a shower room.
Not really toddler friendly (open stairs, no net for the pool) - but we had one and we coped.
Only gripe was that although a (small) sellection of tea/coffee/crisps were provided for immediate use there were no other 'basics' provided. Not a big problem as there is a FANTASTIC Spar supermarket in the new Cape Quarter only 5 minutes away - but when you are only there for 4 nights you dont really want to buy a whole box of washing powder/kitchen roll/cooking oil etc etc. In the UK I would expect this to be provided in this std of property - perhaps this is normal in SA though.
There was also confusion as to whether we could have a BBQ at the property. I had asked in advance and had been told 'that there was room on the deck', however on arrival we were told 'no - due to fire hazards'. However we later found a large kettle drum BBQ in the garage - but didnt use it as it was so far away from the deck.
De Waterkant is a great area - lovely bars and restaurants in the Cape Quarter or its only a 10 mins walk to the V&A. Felt totally safe - its very pretty and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2009

We stayed in an apartment managed by African Elite at the new Cape Quarter annex that opened early November. The location is excellent with many restaurants and shops in the Cape Quarter, which is in the Waterkant district. Laundry is in the apartment, which was fantastic, as well as wireless internet access. It is a 15 - 20 minute walk to both the V&A Waterfront and historic sites. There is also free underground parking in the garage. The apartment is self-catering, but there is a grocery in the building. Beautiful views from both the bedrooms and balcony. Be aware that the apartment is very modern. Neither the bedrooms or bathrooms have doors, so privacy is extremely limited. As the Cape Quarter also has entertainment on the weekends, the noise level can be quite loud, although we were there opening weekend so it may not be as bad at other times. The music doesn't go past midnight or so.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktg0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Markhook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lovva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
De Waterkant Village
#94 of 110 in Cape Town
209 reviews
African Elite Properties
#34 of 129 in Cape Town
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ashanti Lodge Gardens
#10 of 129 in Cape Town
536 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Elite de Waterkant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Elite de Waterkant

Address: 47 Napier Street, Cape Town 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your African Elite de Waterkant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Elite De Waterkant Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing