We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vos House- what a treat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
African Elite de Waterkant
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Vos House- what a treat!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were 8 friends that rented this house for 6 days in February 2013.
We were amazed at how fantastic the place was when we walked in.
The house has 5 rooms all with en-suites, 4 of the rooms are big and luxurious and have air con and TV's in them, the 5th room is very small and does not have air con or a TV but it does the job.
The house is open and spacious with amazing views. It has a pool on the ground floor and a jacuzzi on the top floor with braai facilities.
The house is around the corner from a shopping centere, close to bars, pubs and coffee shops.
We had a great stay here. This house is highly recommended if you want to spoil yourself.
Only down side was the noisy constuction going on close by, that stared up at 7:00am-5:30pm, and the night club that is right next to the house.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the left side of the house as you enter it, because the right side has the constructi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
3
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We rented VOS HOUSE for the grooms men and a few friends to stay for our wedding.
Its a bright purple house on the corner of VOS street. (Parking can be an issue)

Its walking distance from the shops (Groceries and restaurants)

It was great, if you rent the house it has 4 bedrooms all with en-suites.
The house is made up of "the house" a "studio apartment" and a 1 bedroom apartment" as it wasn't peak season we got all of those in one for the price of only the house :)

On the ground floor is the main bedroom and its right by the pool. (yes the house has a small pool - we didn't use it as it was winter but would be great in summer.) open this huge sliding doors to the pool. The en-suite for the main bedroom has a HUGE bath which is big enough for . The "studio" and "1 bedroom apartment" is also on the ground floor with its own private balcony. All of this connect to each other. which was great for our guests to still have some privacy while sharing the house.

1st floor is the kitchen, living area/TV room, dining room, another bedroom and big balcony with with BBQ facilities. It has a really lovely view at night. There are big day beds to lie on and enjoy a nap.

On the roof there is a decked area, (AWESOME) amazing 360 degree views of cape town, table mountain, signal hill and some of the waterfront in the distance. BBQ facilities are there too and a jacuzzi/splash pool :) with tanning loungers

We all really enjoyed staying here, some of the art in the house was a bit odd and we ended up removing one of the drawings and facing it the other way.

*There is a bar close to the house which can be noisy at night till late

Room Tip: Rent the house as its worth it. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have stayed with African Elite Apartments in De Waterkant several times and love it - for me the best accommodation in CapeTown. Great location in the "village style" quarter, with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops all around. V&A waterfront and most sights are also in easy (and safe) walking distance.

Its great to have the privacy to stay in your apartment and still get the whole "hotel service", the apartments are serviced daily, just like in hotel the rooms are made up, towels changed etc.

AEA rents different apartments all over the De Waterkant. 46 Loader is a great adress (with 2 bedrooms), on two stories, with a private pool, a great bathroom and fantastic views over the waterfront and table mountain.

In the Cape Quarter (shopping mall with a big Spar, several restaurants and shops) is the AEA office (very friendly and helpful staff) and on the top floor, the newest apartments that they own. They are very modern and well furnished. The roof garden with a small pool and views over table mountain is also great. The only small negative point - the big windowfront in the apartments is great, and overs excellent views, but on weekends it can get a big noisy from the bars & clubs just below.

Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have rented property with African Elite, and whilst the properties are lovely, many owned privately and managed by African Elite.

Some days after checking out I received notification that the Property required an extreme clean, in spite of paying over the odds for a cleaner supplied by African Elite, plus my own cleaner who also came in weekly. Additionally an exit meeting took place with one of the African Elite staff who shook hands and waved us off. This was clearly a ruse to retain the deposit since I was now 6,000 miles from Cape Town. After discussions the claim was dropped by African Elite, but it left a very bitter taste.

Additionally I personally introduced 6 further clients to African Elite and should have received a commission. This was unknown to me since I am simply a "man on the street" and not a travel agency or tour operator. This was not made apparent to me that a commission was payable.

There are plenty of agencies in Cape Town, this is one not to do business with. This is not a recent trip rather one some time ago/ So whilst I have said it is this month. It refers to a previous period. The same staff member is still at African Elite.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tallguy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I travelled on business down to Cape Town and stayed in the serviced apartment in de Waterkant. Right from the start I was very impressed. One of the team took us up to the apartment, showed us the roof top swimming pool (too cold while we were there but would be lovely in the summer) and even showed us around the shopping centre and recommended a great restaurant (Beluga).
The apartment was very well laid out and everything looked very new and well maintained. Unfortunately the fuses had tripped but, true to form, this was sorted out very quickly and efficiently. The location is superb with some very nice bars and restaurants near by and would definately be ideal for a tourist to Cape Town.
I am very impressed and give a hearty recommendation!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppys_dad101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Stylish and very contemplate furnished appartments in the heart of the de Waterkant quarter. Located in Loader Street, inside a shopping mall. Most stylish appartment we rented. Washing machine and every thinkable kitchen equipment provided. Very nice view to the Table Mountain. Very kind and helpful staff. We received a two bed penthouse upgrade and the option for staying in the appartment until 2 pm.
Free parking provided. 10 min walk to the V&A Waterfront.
A SuperSpar and different nice restaurants (try out Vanilla) are located in the building.
Only downer: Bar across the street get's noisy on the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel5522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Our large group (20) had 3 properties between Xmas and New Year - 2 in Loader Street and one in the street below. We stayed in 96 Loader Street - a great 4 bedroom 3 bath cottage with multiple deck areas and a plunge pool. (Another of the properties had a roof top hot tub).
Its all very contemporary and stylishly furnished - flat screen tv's in every bedroom - all you could wish for. The master suite is to die for, one ensuite bedroom is a separate annex (above the garage), the other 2 doubles are small on the ground floor and share a shower room.
Not really toddler friendly (open stairs, no net for the pool) - but we had one and we coped.
Only gripe was that although a (small) sellection of tea/coffee/crisps were provided for immediate use there were no other 'basics' provided. Not a big problem as there is a FANTASTIC Spar supermarket in the new Cape Quarter only 5 minutes away - but when you are only there for 4 nights you dont really want to buy a whole box of washing powder/kitchen roll/cooking oil etc etc. In the UK I would expect this to be provided in this std of property - perhaps this is normal in SA though.
There was also confusion as to whether we could have a BBQ at the property. I had asked in advance and had been told 'that there was room on the deck', however on arrival we were told 'no - due to fire hazards'. However we later found a large kettle drum BBQ in the garage - but didnt use it as it was so far away from the deck.
De Waterkant is a great area - lovely bars and restaurants in the Cape Quarter or its only a 10 mins walk to the V&A. Felt totally safe - its very pretty and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant Village
De Waterkant Village
#88 of 109 in Cape Town Central
203 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.0 mi away
African Elite Properties
African Elite Properties
#37 of 127 in Cape Town Central
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Man And Tree House
Man And Tree House
#40 of 127 in Cape Town Central
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Waterkant House
De Waterkant House
#97 of 155 in Cape Town Central
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Grey Hotel
The Grey Hotel
#454 of 943 in Cape Town
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Elite de Waterkant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Elite de Waterkant

Property: African Elite de Waterkant
Address: 47 Napier Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your African Elite de Waterkant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Elite De Waterkant Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing