We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to eat”
Review of Fork Restaurant

Fork Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you enjoy a fun place this is it. The waiters /waitresses are funny, friendly and extremely efficient. Part of this is because the owner is welcoming the guests and he knows what every one of his staff is or is not doing. Just watching his expertise makes going here an adventure you won't forget. What really impressed me is that he had a special lactose free menu as well as a gluten free menu --- how progressive and considerate of people's needs. I tip my hat to this gentleman and his staff!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGlenn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    399
    74
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
111 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tapas, wine and a beautiful venue - great combo”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you love tapas, then don't miss out on this place, truly amazing food, great service and great wines (even though I usually just have a juice). Love the atmosphere, classy yet hip. I was there for a networking business function. Loved the vibe. Mature crowd (30 and up) of elegant professionals.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mademoiselle_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small Plates, Big Flavors”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is one restaurant of high acclaim that lives up to its reviews. It accomplishes what it sets out to in a space with simple decor and atmosphere. Good, informed service is obvious from the start. Clear descriptions of the various dishes running from seafood to game, and grouped by price not content made our selection easier. No effort was made to push more food or drink. The dishes were often complex but always flavorable and most importantly easy to share. Our party of four had ten dishes plus a shared dessert and not one failed to live up to expectations. Not a real large space, so you may want to make advanced reservations.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Funky and Classy all at Once”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

An interesting twist on Tapas. The wait staff is beautiful, the room is lovely and the setting is perfect. For a classy night out without the complications of most fancy places.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank HistoPresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Sorry, this one was supposed to be a great restaurant, incredible food, etc. We made reservations, arrived early and were given a table next to the kitchen, sort of the last resort table. That wouldn't have been the worst thing except that we were also given the new waitress who didn't know the details on the food. That's still not the worst thing in the world, she was very nice and tried to help. But there was a couple there who appeared to be the owners (?) that constantly hovered over her, us, the food... everything. The food took a long time, wine took a long time, and food was okay but nothing special. The owner kept appearing at the table asking if everything was okay. I'm not sure if it's simply considered rude to ask if we would like our check but it was a painfully long time, sitting with empty glasses and our plates cleared, ready to pay and get going, before we had to ask for our bill. With so many great places in town to eat, this place will go on back on the list as a possibility but I'm in no rush.

Helpful?
1 Thank trudyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fork Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Fork Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing