We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this!! Especially if you're vegetarian!!”
Review of Royale Eatery

Royale Eatery
Ranked #26 of 1,146 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!! Especially if you're vegetarian!!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

WOW. I LOVED this place!
I have a friend that went to South Africa a few years ago, and he told me that this place had THE WORLD'S BEST MILKSHAKES!! I looked them up online, so I had an idea of what I was getting into - but they lived up to my expectations!!

Delicious and large salads, unbelievably yummy milkshakes, unique and delicious vegetarian burgers (and lots of meat/fish/chicken burgers for you meat eaters), great side dishes and quick service!

They can make any of their over 50 types of burgers with either a beef patty, chicken, fish, or vegetarian burger!! So many unique and delicious topping combinations - I had trouble deciding!

They also had over 20 flavours of milkshakes - so delicious!

Don't miss this!! Good price, great food, worth the trip!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennFromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    208
    45
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food but can someone please serve the waitresses an attitude adjustment?”
Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Seriously killer food, if you're vegetarian try the Veg Royale with Swiss Cheese, sweet potatoes fries rock and their milk shakes do bring the boys to the yard but it really is hit or miss with the service. You have to keep on them sometimes for everything and it's more like service with a hipster smirk than a smile. It's a shame because I've been enjoying that place for ages but recently it's just gotten a bit un-hospitable. Also they don't do bookings for the downstairs area, so be sure to bring your iPhone so you can write TripAdvisor reviews while you wait!

Helpful?
Thank Shawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Royale Eatery, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Hi Shawn,
Thanks for the kind words, regarding our food. I am so sorry that you were made to feel unwelcome by your waitresses. We strive for excellence in ALL areas of our restaurant, and hope that every single customer leaves happy and satisfied with their food and the service. I would like to personally address any issues you may have had. Please could you send an email to info@royaleeatery.com so that I can get hold of you, and resolve the issue.
Much Appreciated,
Hugo Berolsky - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“didn't try a burger but....”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

we had the most fantastic sweet potato chips and chocolate brownies!
We were looking for a late night snack along long street- and Royale was the perfect spot

The sweet potato chips were absolutely delish! They had such a wonderful flavour- better then normal potato chips any day. The chips came served with three dips- tomato sauce, sour cream and what tastes like Mc Donalds sweet and sour sauce. The sour cream is a little sour, and the sweet and sour is a little sweet- solution: mix them together!
This was our favourite combination and worked wonderfully with the sweet potato chips.

Next up was the Chocolate brownie (R30) for dessert. These were amaaaazing! The brownie was served warm and mushy. Sprinkled over the top is what I'm guessing to be oreo cookies! So divine!

I'm going to have to head back soon to try out the burgers!

For more information and pictures:
http://toomuchloveliness.blogspot.com/2012/07/royale-eatery.html

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toomuchloveliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Burger Quest 4”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

the best burger in Cape Town, no doubt! we sat at the window over looking the street, hearing and feeling the hustle and bustle of the mid week, Cape Town city lunch hour, we were very lucky to even get a table. i had the Uncle Morris, crispy bacon, cheese and beef, it was very tasty. good good good. i can't wait till the next time i visit Cape Town, i will be back!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seanvaderwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food - not so much space”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I tried booking a table two days in advance, it was fully booked.
They said we could walk in as they save some tables for that.
I also said we were to be 7 and they said it is fine.
We ended up being squeezed into a small booth.
The food was good but it was just not enough space for 7 people

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karla-Lilienne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royale Eatery also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Royale Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing