We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply delicious”
Review of Nelson's Eye

Nelson's Eye
Ranked #38 of 1,373 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a fantastic restaurant with delicious home cooking ... it’s a must try if you are in Capetown. We’ve been twice it’s that good. We are staying st the Belmond and the staff open
The back gate ... you cross the street and it’s right there. The restaurant staff open the gate to let you back into the Belmond. Our group had fish, seafood, steaks, veal and pasta. All amazingly delicious. Good portions, great service and a home cooking flavour. Can’t wait to go again. You won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank J3830OOkimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,323 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the place for steaks and wine. Our waiter was Franz who was fun, knowledgable and patient, we took his recommendation for the wine and thoroughly enjoyed our meal, My partner had the first t bone steak he had eaten since the British ban and I had the pepper flambe which was absolutely superb. We took and uber to and from our hotel as it is just outside the centre which was definately worth it. If you want to have a great South African Steak, then this is the place to go.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outside of the city center, there was this nice multi room restaurant with heavy wood design that fits is main food - meat. We enjoyed the food. we were expecting more of the meat (the taste was great bur not as tender). the atmosphere is happy and the service was very good.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eyal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The steak was great. Went for the 600g sirloin which was just what I needed. However, we did not appreciate the fact that our waiter mentioned that a 10% gratuity is the usual policy in South Africa. A tip is at the discretion of the guest depending on the service experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 796johanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the 2nd or 3rd time we've been here during our visits to Cape Town. We sepcifically stayed in the area overnight so we can walk/drive to this iconic restaurant.

Wait staff are helpful. Food is fabulous and done with care. One time we found our steak overdone and they took it back and gave us a new steak - no question asked, no discussions.

The only thing we could not understand is the minimum spend requirements on meals. we figured we spend more than the average table but we still had charges for a minimum sum on mains. Small matter, we still enjoyed ourselves.

We can recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VicLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nelson's Eye also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Nelson's Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing