We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In search of an "Icon"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
VIP Living Luxury Hotel Apartments
Ranked #145 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

We arrived at the tiny reception to be told like other reviewers that they didn't have a room for us despite our fully prepaid booking, and they'd have to transfer us elsewhere. They put us in a taxi, but the other hotel said the Icon had not made any arrangements with them and demanded 150 pounds per night from us. We had to pay for another taxi back to the Icon and wait there nearly six hours until luckily for us someone else checked out of a room (still not the end of our problems, as this was only free for one night and so we had to move again the day after). Someone has obviously spent a lot of money on these apartments, but they are badly let down as it is run by complete amateurs with no concept of customer care. A real shame.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bandluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2009

I agree with you Oubaai about the service. I looked forward top staying in a city apartment which reminded me of my single days living in a cosmopolitan flatland in Jhb (way back when). I was left to find my own parking bay (I was not advised that parking would be an extra charge) and to make my own way to the apartment. I was not told that through this or that door I would find superb coffee shops and a deli. It would have been nice to have a discount leaflet from the hairdresser/beauty salon, or some leafets about breakfast, which might have given me a clue that these services were in the building. There were two tea bags, two coffee sticks and a couple of sugar sticks - not no milk or creamer in the apartment. That was it and being there for just one night on business, I didn't want to go out to stock the place up. I had no clue how the phone worked to reach reception - no instructions to be found anywhere. Then I found out that the rates had been cut but I was not credited the difference. The reception looked like a post office and although the housekeeper was very sweet the next morning, the lack of a warm and informative welcome made the service levels of Icon very poor. Was there a pool? Was there a gym? Not that I knew about!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape Town Central hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I am staying at the Icon for an extended business trip. The hotel location is excellent. However, the this is a crap place for a business trip - no phones, no ironing boards are available and the wireless Internet charges are insane (150 Rand for 24 hours). The bedroom has no air conditioning. The TV in my room does not work.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We drove to the hotel from the airport after a 14 hour flight at night and the hotel was hard to find on Street level as there is no signage as such. Once checked in we were settled. The apartment had everything we wanted and was an easy walk to the V and A waterfront. The Jazz festival was on and at the end of the street so there were a few people around on the first few nights. On the weekend the streets around the hotel were empty and it was a little scary heading out. Great Pizza place "Col'Cacchio" just around the corner best food we had on the trip great pizza and fresh salads. Overall the apartment was roomy and suited our family of four, next time I will have to specify 2 twin beds in the 2nd room, as the kids had to sleep together. The gym had no equipment in it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

I stayed at the icon for two nights. You get an apartment bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and sitting area, beautifully designed. Lots of space.
The only hassle is that the airconditioning in the sitting area, getting the bedroom warm is hard.

  • Liked — the spacious apartment and the interior design
  • Disliked — the placement of the airconditioning unit
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thabomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbouredge Suites by Totalstay
Harbouredge Suites by Totalstay
#148 of 155 in Cape Town Central
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Icon Luxury Apartments
Icon Luxury Apartments
#13 of 125 in Cape Town Central
700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfont Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 109 in Cape Town Central
961 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Living Luxury Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Living Luxury Hotel Apartments

Property: VIP Living Luxury Hotel Apartments
Address: cnr Lower Long & Hans Strijdom | Foreshore, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — VIP Living Luxury Hotel Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VIP Living - Cosmopolitan Living in the heart of the Mother City. Located amongst city skyscrapers in Cape Town’s Foreshore, VIP Living is the modern, urban living experience in the heart of the Mother City. Our luxury hotel apartments range from studio apartments, fit for the discerning business traveler, to upmarket two and three bedroom apartments suitable for families or guests travelling with friends. For our VIP guests, only our spacious and luxurious penthouses will do. Guests are able to request their choice of floor out of the 19 floors available, with views of either Table Mountain/City or the Waterfront/City. Our friendly and efficient guest liaisons are available to assist you 24 hrs a day, seven days a week. The wireless internet means that you’ll be online at all times and our upcoming business centre will take care of any emergency business needs. With a range of retail stores within the same building, there’s opportunity to shop within close walking distance. The V&A Waterfront and Cape Town Convention Centre are a stone’s throw away, ideal for conferencing and retail therapy! VIP Living features all the creature comforts that you’d expect from luxury hotel apartments, review our facilities and room amenities for more reasons to experience VIP Living. VIP Living - welcome to the lifestyle brand in South African Hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your VIP Living Luxury Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VIP Living Luxury Hotel Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing