We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terribly slow internet, lying website” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Circa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Circa Hotel
Ranked #65 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terribly slow internet, lying website”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

When i travel, two things stand out as important - internet aces and gym access. This hotel is flawed in both regards.

First, their 'high speed' internet is anything but. You'll pay 70 Rand a day to access the wifi internet here. But don't bother. It is possibly the slowest internet I've used in South Africa, and that's saying something. Plus, the code they give you can only be used on one device. So if you want to connect both your phone and laptop, forget it, you'll need to buy a second way overpriced code.

Next up, is gym access. On their website, they clearly state that they offer a discount for guests who wish to attend the nearby (across the road) gym. They don't have a gym, so offer access at a discount to another. Fair enough. But upon arrival, I asked the desk about it, and was told they don't do that anymore. So how much does the gym charge? They don't know. Why is it still on their website? They don't know. There was nothing they could do. They just didn't care.

Any company, especially one like a hotel, that misleads it's customers, even f that means by simply not updating their website, doesn't deserve any customers.

Apart from that, when i checked in to my room, it still smelled of cleaning fluids (house keeping had just left), surfaces were stained with cup circles, furniture dirty and just an overall feel of disrepair.

Add to that the fact that the hotel as nothing resembling a restaurant or coffee shop (so no breakfast, but they don't advertise as having one, either) and I would say this is a terribly choice of hotel for any travelling business person.

I don't intend to stay here even tonight, but wanted to make use of the internet I paid for, just to warm people off using this lying excuse for a "space, luxury, style and comfort" hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrit D, Manager at Circa Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. We value any constructive feedback.
We will change the wording on our website regarding the Gym accordingly. We do not intend to mislead guests and we would have assisted in arranging a voucher directly with the gym if you decided to stay with us.
Regarding the internet service thank you for the idea to have more devices to access the system, we do however currently allow two devices and will investigate the need for more with our guests. With regards to the internet experience we do apologize as our internet service provider’s speed was not good enough. We received a letter of apology from them yesterday.
Due to your early arrival the room has not been checked by management, thus we apologize and we should have kept your luggage until your room was confirmed ready.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    96
    33
    17
    10
See reviews for
28
87
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great, spacious hotel, excellent service booking tours and taxi's for us, amazing stay overall.

Only major problem, internet costs 70 rand extra per day and is barely functional, with most pages refusing to load. Most of the time I had to resort to my 3g phone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RangaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

excellent location for business and tourist ,clean rooms, looks the same as seen in photos value for money hotel stayed for 4 days but its was less anything you need is just walking distance from the hotel

Room Tip: location and rooms very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keyurfotariya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel apartment was great with excellent location, friendly staff and neat and tidy rooms. We were given a one bedroom hall apartment and the sofa in the hall was converted to a bed, so my daughter had a desperate bed to herself. It is absolute value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alnetcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stay here for 17 days and the staff were fantastic the appartment we had which was the penhouse 603 was fantastic. Its exactly what the photos look like and its nice and central to town.
Its only a 8 min taxi ride costing 38 rand to the A & V waterfront and one street from the Convention centre very close. We walked to the Waterfront most mornings for exercise.
There was a little cafe just next to Circa and they made the best bread and the best carrot cake I have ever tasted.
The circa staff were very very help and knowlegable we would deffinatley stay her again it was great. Very clean and save and nice and big lounge and kitchen and bedroom. Fantastic

Room Tip: We had the top floor room 603 and it was awesome and the photos on the web are what the rooms look l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

I spent 3 nights here while on business. I must I was a bit sceptical of what I would find after seeing the pics on the website.However I was pleasantly surprised. What a lovely hotel. A big woow! very spacious, full bathroom, big living area with a full kitchen with a dishwasher. very clean. walking distance to convention center. very close to V&A Waterfront. And their internet rates are unbelievable. I enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back. The staff is pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast is served at a hotel across the path and its a full breakfast. Must say my colleagues and I (whom I recommended the hotel to) we very pleased and had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mantsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days and would like to say that it's definitely worth every cent. Definitely value for money with a spacious room and quite luxurious feeling in the middle of Cape Town. The staff is also helpful there.

Room Tip: We had a penthouse and would like to recommend it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Foreshore
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#60 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suites
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#74 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel on St Georges
Hotel on St Georges
#71 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Icon Luxury Apartments
Icon Luxury Apartments
#13 of 130 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa Hotel

Property: Circa Hotel
Address: 14 Jetty Street | Roggebaai, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Circa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa on the Square provides stylish, modern living in spacious apartment style accommodation, is just 200 metres from the CTICC and 2 km from the V&A Waterfront and Greenpoint Stadium. Circa apartments include fully equipped kitchens, seating areas with plasma TVs and home theatre systems, as well as luxuriously furnished bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms open to city views and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Circa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing