We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected standard in an inner oty hotel”
Review of Circa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Circa Hotel
Ranked #73 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2013

In February 2012 my husband had aconference in Cape Town and I (as ususal) had to find a place to stay that would be close to the ICC which meant inner city. I was quite stressed about having to find aplace inner city. I called RCI and explained my needs to them and I was told there is actually a Gold Status Hotel not far from the ICC and there are a number of upper clas restuarants within walking distance. So I thought - let's give it a try - we were both bowled over the standard is quite high - large room and large bed, large bathroom with a bath and separate shower and his double basins, a lounge with big flat screen and a visitor toilet. small study room was an added bonus. we are certainly going back when we next visit cape town! . The kitchen had a micro wave, stove and oven, kettle and coffee making machine, double sink, dish washer and a large fridge. We are certainly going back when we next visit cape town!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolunkcwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 263 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2013

It is a pretty central location in Cape Town, easy walking distance to Long Street, the Waterfront and a cab ride to most other attractions. The rooms are huge, clean and the staff is very helpful. The hotel is also very secure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Selim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Three weeks ago my wife and me spent three nights in this appartement hotel.
Lots of space and modern furniture. Great bed. Airco. Well equipped kitchenette. Nice bathroom with an extra toilet.
Helpfull and well approachable personnel.
Clean and well maintained.
A big screen LCD, with enough channels (I watched a championsleague match)
Circa on the square has no restaurant but there are already enough restaurants on the square, so that is not a problem.
I missed the shuttle possibility, although the website mentioned it. I got no answer on my emailed request.
So there is no room-service and no mini bar...but who cares.
There is wifi. Though a bit expensive, 70 ZAR for 24 hurs.
If you go to the waterfront you can check your email there for free!
The Circa on the square hotel is within walking distance from the convention center and the railway,metro and central busstation.
In fact it is within walking distance of everything you want to visit in CT.
Anytime you want to retreat, the appartment is closeby.

We felt the room was well decorated but to dark, there is also a very poor view from the big window. There is no balcony or a space where you can sit outside of your room.
Otherwise, it's perfect.

Fully recommended.

Room Tip: There are penthouse style rooms at the roof. Maybe they are nicer with a view and possibility to sit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afrikarsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Good:
We saw on TA that the rooms had a bathroom exposed to the bedroom. We inquired about this and were assured that 90% of the rooms had been modified to separate the bathroom and bedroom and that our room was so separated. An extra delight on checking in was to find that not only was that so but there was an additional separate toilet near the door.
The bathroom was spacious with double sinks (Transparent plastic), a bath and a delightful rain shower. The toiletaries were of a good quality.
The kitchen was great. Micro wave, full stove and oven, kettle and coffee making machine, double sink, dish washer, large fridge/ freezer, big bin and plenty of cupboards. The cutlery and crockery was adequate. There was a nice countertop between the lounge and the kitchen with barstools.
There were lots of plug points with the three prong and two point sockets. Something you rarely find in hotels - so computer and laptop charging was easy.
The bed was comfortable with reading lighting that you can read by. The bedroom was spacious with generous cupboards. There is a safe.
Reception was friendly and helpful.
Free wifi for the stay.

The Bad
The breakfast arrangement with the Hallows across the street is a rip off. R120 for the basics. bacon consistently was 3rd grade and sausages bearly cooked through. Not a pleasant dining experience.
Trying to get soap and toilet paper. There is obviously little supervision on the room servicing and much is to be desired - including on our first day getting them to clean the room by 5pm. "sorry we are extremely busy"!
Bedraggled curtains that we were reticent to open and close as they may fall off.
The TV choice - the cheap DSTV bouquet. Lots of sport, French news and not much else.
No TV in the bedroom (but for us that was no hardship).
No desk for working. The best is perched on the barstool on the kitchen countertop.

The Ugly
The lounge furniture. An assembly from the 2nd hand shop. An extremely uncomfortable sleeper couch, plastic lean back padded metal chairs, a big square ottoman that served no purpose other than to help pack and unpack the luggage. Hidious colours - puke yellow and white. The rag tail rug (once white when clean)must be a cespool of germs.

Room Tip: Room with separate bathroom - get one with 2 toilets. Facing the square. Higher up Floor 3 plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at Circa for 1 week in Dec 2010 with my 2 adult children. The apartment style setting worked out quite well for us, the convenience of the kitchen was great. Only down side was that the bathroom in the bedroom is completely open. However, location of the apartment is great. Restaurant downstairs is wonderful! Short taxi ride to Table Mountain, and front desk was always helpful whenever we needed transportation. In fact one of the taxi drivers became our personal driver for the remainder of our trip, taking us to the vineyards and all along the garden route.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfuller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Positive:
- location (in the heart of Cape Town)
- big rooms
- nice facilities
- kitchen
- price per room is really good
- basement garage

Negative:
- Floor was not very clean but the rest was clean
- Receptionist are not very friendly
- WLan is not free of charge

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JackyRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

If you're looking for a modern, spacious & well-appointed apartment that's centrally located in Cape Town’s foreshore area, then you’ll be hard-pressed to find a better value-for-money option than Circa On The Square.

Situation basically at the bottom end of Loop Street, you’ll be close enough to the Long Street party but far from the noisy hustle & bustle. The exit routes to Greenpoint and the V&A Waterfront are a mere block away, with easy access onto the freeway as well. There’s a Virgin Active gym across the street from the hotel, and restaurant options are plentiful in the surrounding pedestrian-only zone.

My buddy and I exchanged the “standard spec” king-sized bed for two single beds, which we both agreed were easily THE most comfortable hotel beds we’ve ever slept on. The apartment is truly equipped with everything – from a fully-spec’d kitchen right through to a huge-@ss flat screen tv with satellite channels. The art-deco couch turned out to be a sleeper couch as well, although a bit hard to sleep on if one’s sober. There’s no lack of space in the apartment (double volume bathroom plus guest loo) and it’s serviced daily.

Just be wary of the basement parking though – it’s super-tight driving down there, so you need to have your wits about you if you’re driving a medium-to-large sized large car.

TIP: Book directly via their official hotel website. Their rates are as good – and in some cases better – than comparative offerings on other “discount room rate” websites. Strange but true.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSD213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.0 mi away
Hollow On The Square Cape Town City Hotel
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#79 of 110 in Cape Town Central
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Tulbagh Hotel
The New Tulbagh Hotel
#97 of 110 in Cape Town Central
243 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Residence Cape Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Strand Tower Hotel
Strand Tower Hotel
#52 of 110 in Cape Town Central
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town North Wharf
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 110 in Cape Town Central
350 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fountains Hotel
Fountains Hotel
#88 of 110 in Cape Town Central
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa Hotel

Address: 14 Jetty Street | Roggebaai, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $93 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Circa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa on the Square provides stylish, modern living in spacious apartment style accommodation, is just 200 metres from the CTICC and 2 km from the V&A Waterfront and Greenpoint Stadium. Circa apartments include fully equipped kitchens, seating areas with plasma TVs and home theatre systems, as well as luxuriously furnished bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms open to city views and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Circa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing