We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall though a bit dead on the weekend”
Review of Circa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Circa Hotel
Ranked #69 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good overall though a bit dead on the weekend”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Comfortable, spacious, well-decorated suites at a very good price.

They don't serve breakfast, but there is a cafe just across the square that serves up the basics. Also adjacent is Bizerca restaurant, which is supposed to be one of the best in Cape Town. If you want to do the self-catering thing, the kitchen is reasonably well equipped.

Well located in one sense--easily walkable to CTICC as well as Long Street, and right across the street from a Virgin Active gym. But also located in a business neighborhood that is basically dead on the weekend--even the gym closes on Saturday and Sunday.

Avoid rooms on the first floor as they do not have full windows. Rooms on other floors are much lighter/brighter.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stmalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    98
    37
    18
    11
See reviews for
29
91
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We had a little bit of difficulty finding the place the first time round but once we understood how close it was to the Convention Centre, we had no trouble at all. It is a modern hotel with self catering apartments.
Checking in took less than 5 minutes and Tamara at the reception was more than helpful with sight seeing suggestions and restaurant reservations. She helped plan our days really well.
I fell in love with the room as soon as I stepped in. We had reserved a one-room apartment and it was everything we could have asked for and more! A beautifully furnished living room with comfortable seating and a huge TV screen. A very well equipped kitchen that was expected from such an establishment. I even took notes for my own kitchen back home! A small bedroom but with a very comfortable king bed. Two bathrooms - one with separate shower and tub and one smaller one for guests. At 1600 rand for 2 nights this place was a steal!
There are several thoughtful add ons provided - a delivery booklet with nearby restaurants and supermarkets, an on call taxi service and a very helpful front desk.

Would definitely recommend this place to people travelling to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegRathee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed there for three nights. Centrally located and walking distance from the CTICC. As one of the reviewers mentioned, the bathroom and bedroom were open on each other. The staff were friendly.
I found the rooms to be poorly equipped for a hotel apartment, for example: no iron and ironing board and no hair dryer. They do not even provide complimentary water.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shoal bay
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed in the Penthouse Suite for 3 nights in July this year and were amazed by the size of the suite and the quality of the inclusions.
Everything was spick-n-span, the vews were great, and the staff were extremely helpful (even when we were followed into the foyer by an annoying beggar!).
Within easy walking distance of the V&A Waterfront and the CBD.
We really hope we can rebook for the same time next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights while attending a conference!The staff are very helpful and accomodating and we were pleasantly surprised at finding such a modern hotel with quality equipment for self catering plus a great bathroom at such a reasonable price.!!
It is within easy walking distance to the convention centre and if you wish to go to the waterfront it is only a short (and cheap)cab ride.We had a fabulous dinner at Bizerca on the ground floor -definitely worth a visit!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attunga_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here on Nov 12th for one night since we had an early flight home on Nov 13th and therefore needed to be close to the N2. The rooms are very large and well-done. The only complaints would be the staff forgetting to include loo paper and some stains on the sofas. It would also be good if they included some milk, washing up liquid and perhaps some clothes to clean dishes, etc, but no big deal since there's a Pick n Pay not far. Overall, very good value for money and modern! We needed to leave at 5am to catch our flight and the night staff couldn't be friendlier and more accommodating.

Room Tip: Head up the street for bars/restaurants on Long Street, especially Mama Africa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here a few days ago for one night only, thank goodness.
The toilet which was beside the bed was completely open to the room.
Unbelievable!
Why has no one else mentioned it?

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
AHA Harbour Bridge Hotel & Suite...
#64 of 109 in Cape Town Central
360 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
808 reviews
Hollow On The Square Cape Town C...
#75 of 109 in Cape Town Central
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strand Tower Hotel
#51 of 109 in Cape Town Central
656 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
333 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circa Hotel

Property: Circa Hotel
Address: 14 Jetty Street | Roggebaai, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Circa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa on the Square provides stylish, modern living in spacious apartment style accommodation, is just 200 metres from the CTICC and 2 km from the V&A Waterfront and Greenpoint Stadium. Circa apartments include fully equipped kitchens, seating areas with plasma TVs and home theatre systems, as well as luxuriously furnished bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms. Some rooms open to city views and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Circa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Circa Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing