We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$119
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$121
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$756
$427
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$172
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$198
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$667
$646
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Cape Town City Centre(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$122
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)
$184
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$549
$429
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
67
34
16
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
34
16
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea pointnice stayclifton beachsmall pooljunior suitenice guesthousequiet streetnice breakfastlarge roomwalking distancesignal hillhome away from hometwo nightsevery morningtable mountainbridget2wifi
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 129 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This B&B is OK. Nothing more and nothing less. I expected a bit more of it but nevertheless I had a great time in Capetown and in South-Africa in general.
The breakfast was one of the best things in this B&B. Alot of variety, top!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlemishFreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear FlemishFreddy,

We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast on Tripadvisor, and we are glad that you enjoyed our combined full continental & English breakfast with home made goods.

Kind regards,
Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were very disappointed with our visit to this b&b. The decor was nice enough and the honesty bar a convenient option but we had 2 issues during our stay.

The most significant issue was the layout of the property and sound proofing. We had the room at the front of the property downstairs (called the courtyard). The first issue was the door, this was an old wood door with no sound proofing and a huge key hole from when it had an old lock. This therefore meant we could hear everything going on in the hallway which wouldn't have been too problematic had the hallway not been set up as the breakfast room. At 7 on both days the maid came in and immediately started clattering round with dishes and cutlery (all the more frustrating as we had booked room only via Expedia so weren't even eating breakfast). At 7.30 the stereo would then be turned on so they could listen to music. Breakfast didn't start until 8am and was available until 11 which seemed a little pointless given you were always awake at 7. From 8 staff and people staying at the b&b would sit talking at the table. We heard every word, it was like beng sat in the same room.

The 2nd issue is general staffing of the property. We arrived at about 2pm, we rang the door twice and got no answer. We then saw a sign saying to call, which as someone travelling from the uk is not ideal due to mobile phone costs. We called and a young girl popped over. She then tried the doorbell still getting no answer, then announcing she would have to go somewhere else to get a key. She left again and came back 5 minutes later and let us in. She scrabbled around for paperwork but couldn't seem to find what she wanted. In the end she let us in just before the maid wandered round from the kitchen who had clearly been there the whole time!

Btw, for some you may want to be aware there are no staff guaranteed in the property from 5pm until 7am. Clearly fine in busy season but not perhaps if you are the only people on site.

By far our worst stay during our south African trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Digger_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, General Manager at Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

We thank the traveler for her review and open critics and would like to take the opportunity to respond to it.

As the reviewer is right in her comment of the unusual layout of the property. The building of Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed &Breakfast was built more than 80 year ago and is considered by the Heritage Department of the City of Cape Town as Heritage and therefore we had obligations in regards to building plans and regulations. At the same time we focused on the original building structure and restored the wooden floors, Victorian wooden doors and features, which boost this old building and makes it unique and mirrors the characteristics of this house. Therefore we had to take reasonable compromises.

Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast offers in total 6 units, of which are 2 standard rooms (both on ground floor), 3 superior units (1 on ground floor, 1 on 1st floor & 1 situated at the pool in the garden). As the reviewer booked via Expedia a standard room and we took the liberty to upgrade her to a superior room, which is more spacious. Unfortunately we could not offer the superior room upstairs or the one at the pool, as we needed to make sure, bookings done for this specific rooms needs to be accommodated.

Our staff start’s their shift at 07H00 and at around 07h20 they prepare the breakfast table. All staff members are trained and are completely aware of the fact, that the guest’s are still asleep at this time and therefore they work accordingly. The breakfast is available for all guest’s and subject of a surcharge per person.

Our Sweet Lemon Boutique Bed & Breakfast, is as the name already states not a Hotel, it is a B&B. Therefore we consciously created the breakfast area right in the center of the house, in order to create a cozy atmosphere. The majority of our guest’s which stayed at Sweet Lemon commented positive on this as this offers the possibility to meet other travellers and exchange informations on what to do and see in Cape Town and surraoundings. The international traveller is aware of this and appreciates it.

We are terribly sorry to hear about the waiting period on arrival as well as the negative circumstances on her arrival. We would like to apologize for this. The young girl who popped up, is a new student of 19 years old and from Germany. She just started her practical internship with us, coming from a Tourism School in Germany and she simply forgot the keys to the property, which resulted in even a longer waiting period for the guest’s than intended.

We regret, that the reviewer never approached us with their concerns and dislikes, as it is our policy to accommodate all guest’s to our best and satisfied each request. Even with a fully booked Sweet Lemon Boutique B&B we would have upgraded the guest’s to our 4 Star Guesthouse for no further charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We booked Sweet Orange but had to move to Sweet Lemon, not sure of the reason. We
were given a cottage in the garden near the pool, sounds lovely but not so. It has a
spiral stair case that was very difficult to use without banging head or shoulder. Moved
the next day, to a better room, the problem with this, the toilet was behind a little divider.
All the staff where lovely and very helpful, and the position at Sea Point ideal. The breakfast
was overpriced and the cooked meats were on a large plate, unfortunately the cover was
smaller, so flies landed on the meats, the bread rolls were very good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTM700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Arriving @ the Sweet Lemon was a very pleasant experience..
This place looks and feels very cosy, everything is present (good breakfast, tiny pool, selfservice-fridge etc etc) and we felt at ease immediatly.. It is nicely situated @ Sea Point and if you've got a car you can get anywhere very easily. We had the Balcony room and I never had a nicer room somewhere I think. We had to move to the Ocean View Guest House for the last night which we were very curious about as well. Too bad they overbooked it (or something..(?)) and we were moved to Sweet Olive.. This was the only letdown; I felt they were too easy in not informing me and I had to stand up for my right before I accepted the other room with discount and a free breakfast.. I mean, when you book a certain room in a certain house, you should get it, right? Don't tell me 1 second before I'm about to leave..
All houses are very cosy and differ a bit in price but overall all houses feel good and pleasant (if you prefer colourfull cosyness over a luxuryous white standard hotelroom that is, which I do obviously..).
So yes, defenitly a place I would go back to and that I would advise to friends.
But I will be aware of getting what we had agreed on :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorrmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

This little place was adorable. Great location, great service, great experience. Staff was very helpful. Decorated super cute and cozy. The one downside to our room, (not sure if all the rooms are this way) was the bathroom. The room was one big room with the toilet just behind a little divider. A little awkward. But that said, I would absolutely stay here again, thats how cute it was.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skishalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews