We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel made all the better by the staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #45 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Cape Royale for 3 nights and were extremely impressed with the standard of this hotel. The rooms are very spacious, clean and well appointed, excellent breakfast and dinner in the restaurant, and very professional staff who show initiative to add that special touch (particular mention goes to one of the managers, Thomas!).
Being less than a 10 minute walk to the Waterfront, the Cape Royale was a perfect base for us, and staff go out of their way to assist with anything you need to ensure your stay is enjoyable. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to get the opportunity to return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CagsieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

642 - 648 of 1,543 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed at the Cape Royale for the second time and shared a beautifull two bedroom apartment with some friends. Apartment is very spacious and our bicycles fitted in the large lounge. Fully equipped Kitchen and lounge is ideal for socializing, having a drink. If you have bigger kids, this hotel is great as the kids have their own room.

The roof bar is fantastic, has a stunning view over the city and stadium, you can sit at a table, sun tan around the pool or on the large 'beds' while sipping on a cocktail.

Jack hammering from construction below was an issue during our stay, but is not permanent and overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josepino1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Appeciated this stay even more this time! House keeping (follow up) has considerably been improved, very happy about that! The staff and managers always very friendly, helpful and happy to see us again... Food, still excellent and "first class" at the 1800o Bistro. Will definitely be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-MauritiusIsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful hotel. Our one-bedroom suite was spacious, comfortable, well-prepared every day and entirely met our request for a quiet room (floor 7, at the back, looking towards Signal Hill). The breakfasts every day and the two dinners we had were also excellent.

But the most important factor in making our stay so memorable were the staff - all were so responsive, friendly and helpful. This included excellent recommendations for restaurants and using our time to best effect.

The only slight negative was the Sky Bar where service was poor, but this facility is contracted out and the hotel are aware and working to address it. This didn't detract from our stay.

We would definitely recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Most suites are with two bedrooms and very suitable for families or groups of friends. Suites with one bedroom are really smaller and has no view. That is why I booked a 2-room suite, even I was just with my girlfriend. Unfortunately they made a mistake with my booking and gave us a 1 bedroom suite. And a discount, but no view... The service was very good, especially from Bekkie, who is a master in making restaurant reservations. Valet service is good, but for breakfast I would go to another place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex46_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and for your positive comments.
My apologies for the issue regarding the change in room type. This was certainly never our intention to disrupt your stay. Please do contact me directly should you be returning to Cape Town and I will ensure a marked improvement is noted.

With Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We arrived after a long flight from Europe and were tired and just wanted to check in, but due to a fault with our reservation so there was a problem with the rooms we hade booked!
but the professional hotel staff solved everything and moore to 110% satisfaktion

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and for sharing this here publicly on Trip Advisor.
I am so pleased that the issue with your reservation was managed correctly and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Royal Regards
Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'm always a little wary of places and hotels I know nothing about and had seen mixed reviews on TripAdvisor. I needn't have worried. This hotel was fabulous. We were 3 women travelers and spent a week in room 504. It was a 2 bedroom suite with 1 double en suite and another with twin beds also ensuite. it had a lovely, fully fitted kitchen with a large sitting room and dining room. The balcony, although small, overlooked the beautiful stadium and the Waterfront was a 10 minute stroll away. The staff at this hotel are wonderful whichever department they are from, but if you go there, look out for James, one of the butlers!. We were on a bed and breakfast rate and couldn't fault it. You can eat whatever you want from the menu, which included eggs benedict, there was a good range of cereal, fresh juices,fruit etc., or you can have a delicious continental breakfast. The steak in this hotel is fabulous and I would recommend the sirloin for dinner. Good range of wine at very good prices. There is a travel desk within the foyer where they are more than happy to help for flight check ins or anything else you need. Wi fi was also excellent. I can't rate this hotel and it's staff highly enough and if I'm ever fortunate to go back to Cape Town, I'll be booking back in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

To our 3 special ladies :-)

Thank you kindly for this wonderful review and for having taken the time to share your feedback here on Trip Advisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and each and everyone of the staff enjoyed looking after you all. Thank you from all the staff.

Hoping we will see you again soon.

Until then,
Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,799 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,353 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $208 - $800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a rooftop Pool Bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing