We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Check-in: We were welcomed to the hotel with a gong and a round of applause by the hotel staff. And we were able to check-in early, always love that!

The Hotel: Cape Royale has a great location in Cape Town. It is in Green Point, very close to the Cape Town Stadium and the V & A Waterfront. Hotel highlights included a rooftop deck, with a pool and bar, as well as a fitness center and spa.

A two-bedroom suite was what we chose and it was absolutely perfect. It had a modern décor but was super comfortable and very clean. Very homely. I totally enjoyed my stay here though it was just three nights.

Room highlights included two separate bedrooms (each with their own bathroom) and a very large common space with a living room, a dining area and a full kitchen. We also had a small balcony off the living room and one of the bedrooms. (It was nice to step outside and check out the weather before exploring Cape Town.)

Overall: We had a nice stay at Cape Royale and loved our two-bedroom suite. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel location was a great base for exploring the Cape Town area. I am giving this hotel a 4 out of 5 star rating as I believe that the on-site restaurant and Wi-Fi offerings can be improved. I would recommend this hotel to friends any day.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nayoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this excellent review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the Royal Theme and the service from our staff. Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding the Wifi and Bistro 1800. Please be assured that we have begun a thorough investigation into improving the service in these areas.

Thank you for your recommendation and support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    324
    146
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
489
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Cape Royale and enjoyed it a lot.

Our room was a 2 bedroom apartment complete with kitchen and laundry facilities. It had great views of the Cape Town stadium and harbour.

The staff at the hotel were second to none, outstanding customer service. Being announced on arrival was also very memorable.

Music was a little loud at night from a nearby bar but was not too much of a problem.

Free shuttle available between the hotel and waterfront was very handy.

Definitely eat at the in house restaurant, amazing steaks!!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Excellent hotel in good location. The two bedroom suite concept works very well. I stayed in one with my business partner and we found it very convenient to have the lounge space to relax in as well as the bedrooms. I guess it would be even better for a family to use.
The hotel is a safe and short walk from the V and A and there are some very pleasant bars and pizza parlours very close to the hotel itself!
The staff were very pleasant and keen to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

First Impression the hotel is really luxurious, there is a welcoming announcement to welcome you to the hotel once you entered the lobby for check-in. We booked a suites with two rooms that can cater up to 4 person. The suites was clean with all cooking equipments available it was more like an apartment unit with two rooms.

The swimming pool is very small, thus I wont recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good swim. The restaurant serves very good breakfast. And the steakhouse also serves very good steak.

Location wise it was very close to the stadium. VA Waterfront is within the walking distance probably around 15mins walk, but the hotel provides a free shuttle from hotel to VA waterfront.

One downside was the wi-fi which was capped to a certain limit.

I happened to arrive in Cape town during the Carnival in March, it was really great to watch from the hotel balcony as the parade will march right in front of the hotel from around 7pm to 10pm. However, if you are driving, the road in front of the hotel will be closed for vehicle after lunchtime, therefore limiting your in and out movement. Nevertheless, the hotel provides a residence sticker that allows you to enter the front road up to around 3pm from small road next to the hotel. Make sure you have a GPS.

Room Tip: Room on top floor with front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rairliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kolkata
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed in 2 bedroom apartment, was big enough with well equipped kitchen, bedroom small with not so comfortable beds, breakfast does not have Indian items. not much for vegetarians. coach service not available always for drop at main market even not at designated time. Gave my credit card authorisation for my payment to courier company. but which was used fraudently by someone from their staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niraj_surana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel and facilities. However I am very concerned about your comment relating to credit card fraud. I hope you would agree on this forum that there is absolutely no proof whatsoever that this credit card fraud took place at our hotel. We took it upon ourselves to help you with this situation and our security manager has been in constant contact with you in order to assist in any way we can. We have carried out a full investigation; interviewing our staff, checking camera footage, we have been in contact with our bank etc and it was clear by the evidence provided that the incident occurred outside of Cape Town.

I do hope that with the assistance of your credit card provider you will get the incident resolved.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for 10 nights having booked through booking.com at a very good rate. The staff - especially the customer services manager Sedick and the general manager Thomas - were efficient and very approachable - which filterd all the way through the hotel staff - who all seemed genuinely interested that we were enjoying our stay. The kitchen faciities seemed over the top but was great for early morning tea/coffee, toast and chilled wine ! - better than most homes - and the room was cleaned and prepared in the evening to a very high standard.
The location and accessibility were great. If i were scoring out of 100 this would get 99 (some very small things needed attention but were all sorted quickly and with good grace)
Our room did not have full curtains in the living area which meant that daylight filtered into the bedroom early in the morning - not a problem if you don't need total darkness to sleep - but I have a feeling that if we'd mentioned it a solution would have been found. I haven't had such a good experience outside Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Located walking distance from the Waterfront this hotel
Is simply fantastic. Booked it on booking.com and stayed here for 4 nights.

Everyone working here are very friendly and helpful.

The suites are great. The free shuttle can get you to most places around Cape Town.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,466 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#15 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#19 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing