We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Hotel with Great Food and Great Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I traveled to Cape Town and stayed at the Cape Royale Hotel from October 3-13th. The stay was just as the name indicates...it was a royal experience! Upon exiting the taxi, I stepped onto a red carpet leading to the doors of the hotel. There I was met by a doorman wearing a top hat who greeted me as if I were a Royal. Upon entering the hotel, my arrival was noted by the striking a gong and the announcement that Lady W had arrived. Everyone in the lobby gave applause. I was totally surprised to say the least. There I found the staff to be very accommodating, the rooms were very well laid out and clean (I had a one bedroom suite that was like an apartment; kitchen included), taxi service was always available and personal shuttle service as well, if requested. The restaurant's menu is limited but the food is great and live entertainment is offered on the weekend. The Sky Bar is also another nice option (especially at night), as it overlooks the entire City. The hotel is situated in one of the best areas of Cape Town and is just a 5 minute drive to the Waterfront and its shops and restaurants. This place added so much to my stay in Cape Town. I'd definitely stay there again!! P.S. Be sure to take the Red Bus sightseeing tour. It's economical and takes you to most places that you'd like to visit. You can go to several venues for what a taxi would cost to go to just one of the sights. It's cheaper than round trip taxi fare to one stop and back to the hotel!!!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLAUDIA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel was great for us! We were travelling with our 3 month old daughter and our one bedroom suite had enough room for all of us and our stuff. The staff are friendly and helpful. The restaurant was delicious! We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErinRebelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with my husband and 2 daughters for 4 nights. Spacious, immaculately clean rooms, great restaurant food and service (ate breakfast 4 times, dinner once) and an overall really good experience. The location was great. 30 Rand in a taxi to the Waterfront, or a ten minute walk. The Sky bar was fab - wonderful atmosphere and stunning views. The niggles - the Sky bar being closed for a private party without any notice. Having to ask 3 times for a kettle to be replaced and used facecloths being taken for laundry but not replaced. Niggles, nothing major.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda7645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Spent one night here, we had a two bedroom apartment for my girlfriend and I. It was massive.

Service at the front desk was efficient, but saying that it wasn't really welcoming and friendly.

Our room was also disappointing, overlooking a building being refurbished, with painters and workmen looking right into our room. Our air conditioning also went up to 26 degrees during the night, but when we rang in the morning, we were told that someone would come up, but no-one ever arrived.

We went for a swim and a lie by the pool and while lying there some workmen started erecting a tarpaulin, and then some hotel staff began discussing and arranging a function. We found it a bit rude as we were actually paying guests but weren't really considered during all the going-ons

The hotel looks very luxurious. The location is ok but didn't feel too safe walking to the Waterfront after dark (about a 15 minute walk), so I would recommend you get a taxi, as there are plenty outside.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwi_Dave10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We just spent 5 days in the two bedroom suite, which was quite nice and clean, the location of the hotel was good for us, but that is considering we had a guide taking us around each day so we didn’t really have to worry about how to get around, although taxis were readily available outside the hotel.

A few weeks prior we contacted the hotel to book some restaurants for us and they were very helpful in that.

Living in Dubai, we are quite familiar with what a 5 star hotel should be and unfortunately the Cape Royale did not live up to expectation.

Upon check-in we asked for wireless internet and were only given one code for up to four devices with a maximum of 1 GB, we told them that we are two couples, had we booked two rooms and not one, we would have received two codes, only after asking the manager to intervene did we get two codes.

Over the 5 days we stayed there our towels were not changed one, despite putting them on floor we would come back and find them rolled up in the original place, thinking they were new we used them, until I noticed make up stains on them! Our toiletries were not changed once, despite clearly leaving them with the cap off and on the side to indicate they were empty. We just about had it by the fourth day, and after making a fuss we received fresh towels and refill of toiletries in addition to a bottle of wine.

Overall the hotel was good, not bad, but it is a stretched 4 star at the most.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I just returned from a great stay at the Cape Royale.
I cannot say enough about this place.
The room was HUGE! And so nice.
Add to that an EXCELLENT staff from Grace in the 1800 restaurant, to the woman who helped us with dinner reservations, to the nice valet out front.
I will definitely come back again.
What a great place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MBBMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this great review, especially your comments about Grace and the all of our staff. It is so good to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you for your support.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through British Airways along with flights from Johannesburg and car rental. We stayed here for 3 nights in a two bedroom suite. From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel extremely welcome and were very attentive. They even walked three blocks to go and collect my car and park it for me. The apartment was very large and very clean with modern finishings. There wasn't much in the line of cooking utensils but it seemed liked this could be requested from housekeeping. The roof top bar was a highlight for us and we spent a couple of evenings enjoying the view from up there. We would definitely return as it was fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cellomedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this superb review. It is so good to read your comments and share these with our team. This encourages us to keep on aiming to provide the very best of service in Cape Town.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another excellent stay.
Until then...Keep well and Royal Regards from all of the team at Cape Royale.

Terri Jabaar
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,796 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,813 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,347 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,371 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $221 - $749 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a rooftop Pool Bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing