We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be perfect if ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed 3 days at Cape Royale, the location is really convenient, easy access to the waterfront and any cool location, the staff is amazingly helpful and knowledgeable and our suite was great: very spacious, fully equipped with a nice view.

it will have been a perfect stay if we didn't have the nightclub under the room and 300 dollars stollen.
The hotel manager was very comprehensive but not surprise. He even told us that they put camera on the room if requested by customer to avoid any issue but this did not get our money back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel, staff and service.
However I am very concerned to read your review about the alleged theft from your suite. Comments like this we consider very seriously. I am also concerned regarding the comments of how this was dealt with. Please may I ask if you could contact me directly to ensure a full and thorough investigation is carried out. My email address is terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
There are newer reviews for Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Great spa, rooftop pool and facilities. Friendly staff but just lacked the final touches.... Couldn't check in early but only after a long wait in reception and prompting were we told we could go up and use pool etc. staff at pool bar friendly but not well trained and didn't know about wifi connection in hotel, very pleasant stay but just the final touches lacking. Great location to get to waterfront etc

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, the positive and the constructive comments that you have given us. Rest assured we will address the comments you have noted especially elated to the service in the sky bar and confusion over internet usage. This is certainly not the norm nor the standard we aim to achieve.

Once again many thanks and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to ensure a marked improvement is noted.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We selected a 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. It is billed as a luxury hotel. The pictures supported that classification. Upon arrival, the check-in process is fine. The employees were pleasant. The gong introduction is a bit cheesy, but it is their thing. We had very high hopes for the hotel. Unfortunately, the Cape Royale did fall short several times.

The rooms are gorgeous and spacious. We could not have asked for more space, closet/ drawer space. a nicer kitchen. Everything in the photos was spot on. The location was very close to the VA Waterfront. 10 minute walking distance. Parking is about 30rand per day. Not a lot in US dollars, but I wish I had known that earlier.

In my opinion, Luxury hotels distinguish themselves from the average joes by paying attention to detail. This was not the case in this hotel. The bathrooms were cleaned with inconsistent quality. The housekeepers would remove dirty towels or open toiletries and not replenish them. The coffee/ tea restocking never occured. A couple times the trash in the kitchen was removed and housekeeping did not put in a new trash bag. Calling down to reception to ask for a trash bag is a little annoying. A few times in both the kitchen and bathroom, housekeeping left the standing water in the sinks. I am not sure why they collected the water in the sink. I am doubly clueless as to why housekeeping did not drain the water out when they were done. It was a lot of water.

Repeated calls for service, supplies sometimes took 5 - 10 hours. We complained once and received the materials. However, the next day our room reeked of rotting food/ trash. We believe that it was in retaliation for complaining about the inconsistent service. We rarely ate in the room and did not have much trash. It was a terrible and offensive smell that came out of nowhere.

Lastly, on the last day we saw the ceiling at the entrance of our room had significant mold. Like I said...detail.

I would recommend the hotel to another patron if the cost were $100 - 150/ night. Check out the Icon Luxury Apartments. Similar apartments, but a much cheaper price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side of the hotel...Overlooking the Waterfront.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klgsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I wish we had the opportunity to discuss the points you have noted during your stay in order to rectify. This is certainly not the norm. Especially your comments relating to housekeeping and guest services. This is generally where we excel with our guests. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused.
Should you return to Cape Town, please do contact me directly. My email is: terri.jabaar@caperoyale.co.za and I assure a marked improvement will be noted.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I can't say enough good about this hotel. The staff was superb. The rooms spacious , clean, well equiped, large. Lucett the the manager was as friendly, kind and helpful as you could imagine. Sedick went overboard to make our stay the very best. He welcomed us everytime we entered the hotel. He made all arrangements for our activities while staying in Cape Town. The trip would not have been as enjoyable if it weren't for Sedick and Lucett. I have stayed all over the world in some very fine hotels but this one was the best. Thank you staff and management.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k_sedore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review and special thanks from Lizet and Sedick for your comments. It is a great pleasure to receive your positive review and this certainly encourages and motivates the team.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back for another wonderful stay with us.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel were you are introduced following the banging of a gong as "lord and lady...." - extremely pretentious and unfortunately they go down from there. The rooms are good, spacious and have good facilities and the concierge service is great. However restocking of tea, coffee etc. is not a forte and you have to remind them every time. Nice but there are better in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is the best solution if you come with your family to Cape Town. Rooms are huge and complete. Kitchen with all the appliances, living room with TV, music set, sofas, chairs, tables, lamps...you'll feel at home.
Excellent buffet breakfast.
Pool is small and acces through stairs doesn't fit the rest of the hotel, bad quality.
Dorms and bathrooms are big, clean and well maintained.
Personnel helpful although a bit to much, they are knocking at your door several times a day to ask if everything is ok and that is a little bit annoying, entering your room to replace water, to set the bathrobes, to set the bed, to count the towels....too much. They need to calm down.

Room Tip: If you don't mind noise pick one to the front but in a high floor. Otherwise lateral rooms are q...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MigueAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your review and for your comments, it is good to know that you consider us the best option in Cape Town for your family. Thank you.
Regarding the calls to your room to replenish water, place the bathrobes etc, this is our evening Turn Down Service. Our Guest Services team also do a telephone call in the evenings to confirm satisfaction with all of our guests.

I must correct your statement that we are not 5 star. We are accredited with 5 stars by Tourism Council of South Africa, this was renewed December 2012.

Please do contact me directly if you are planning a return visit to Cape Royale and I will ensure a personalized service for you and your family to avoid any unwanted disturbances and ensure you have a wonderful stay with us.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything great up to the minute we switched off the light and tried to sleep...how a such hotel can accept to have a night club with such loud music under their bedrooms .... First time and last time in Cape Royale hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

My sincere apologies for the noise issues you experienced and the inconvenience this caused. Please rest assured this complaint has received the utmost attention and has been addressed with ZAR management.
Generally speaking we do not have issues with noise from ZAR as we have restriction levels in place. However it seems on this occasion this was not adhered to and I apologise for that. I will ensure this is rectified immediately.

Again apologies for any inconvenience.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,632 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $184 - $624 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a rooftop Pool Bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing