We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff & Service!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff & Service!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I had an amazing staff at the Cape Royale! We enjoyed a huge 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite. It was spotless, modern and felt like a city condominium. Because we were staying for 5 nights and had previously been on safari, it was really nice to have a washer/dryer combination to do our laundry.

The best part about our stay was the staff. We have traveled a lot and stayed in a variety of hotels, but we have never experienced a staff like the Cape Royale's. The staff bent over backwards to accommodate us and to make sure that we enjoyed our stay fully. The concierge (Gershwyn) was very helpful in recommending restaurants and arranging a fabulous tour guide (thanks Harry Cooper!) who took us to the wine region for a day. Another concierge even ran across the street to the soccer stadium to purchase us tickets for a soccer game during our stay! We could go on and on about the staff and their hospitality!

The drinks and food in the restaurant were very good and we felt as though they were fairly priced. We were shocked by how good of a value this hotel provided. A hotel of this caliber in a major US city would've cost 3 or 4 times as much. If we make it back to Cape Town some day we will be staying at The Cape Royale!

Gail & Robert Schaudel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BreathingToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Royal Guests,

And amazing review, thank you for your lovely comments. It is so rewarding to read the great feedback you have given us and I have shared this with all of our team, especially Girschen and Harry.

Once again many thanks and should you be returning to Cape Town, please do contact us and we will gladly assist with your accommodation.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    326
    147
    41
    53
See reviews for
531
489
38
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a 3 night stay here at the start of our SA holiday. We had a family suite for 2 adults and 2 kids (8 and 9) which was lovely and spacious with a fantastic view of the stadium and down to the waterfront. The staff were all very pleasant to deal with and concierge very helpful. Thank you for hands on action getting us a taxi a couple of times! The breakfast buffet had a good choice and we had dinner there one night which we enjoyed - my son particularly recommended their ribs! There is also a good cocktail menu.
The hotel is max 10 mins walk to V&A waterfront. The rooftop pool is very small and too cold to use in March but we did have a drink up there one evening.
We would definitely consider staying there again if we go back to Cape Town

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you kindly for this great review. I am pleased that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay with us. I hope the remainder of your holiday in SA was just as wonderful.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Cape Royale, if you are returning to Cape Town.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked a family suite for 2 adults, 2 kids age 8 and 6. The staff were lovely and friendly. My kids loved being given the little plastic toys and wanted to chat to the staff all the time. The room was enormous and great to have a washing machine. The bathrooms were both large too and beds comfy. We didn't have a view of anything as we were at the side so could just see the building opposite. We walked to the waterfront everyday in daylight hours and didn't have any issues at all. Only beggar we encountered was just sitting by a tree. You walk past hotels and hospitals so it isn't deserted along the road. There is a Woolworths food shop a few yards away and a cashpoint so you can get food/drinks to have in the room. Breakfast was great. Only disappointment for the kids was that the pool wasn't heated and was freezing. It would have been perfect otherwise for us based on value for money too.

Room Tip: A room with a nice view would be preferable to the side view of a building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyhols66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to provide this valuable feedback.
I am pleased that all the family had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding the pool, which is normally a perfect temperature in the heat of summer, but in winter it does get a bit cooler.

I hope that if you return to Cape Town, you will come back to stay with us and we will ensure to allocate you a room with a view.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a spacious friendly hotel on Main Road which runs paralell to and is very close to the waterfront and only 20 minutes from the airport. We stayed in a family suite (my wife and I and two children aged 9 and 11) for five nights. Let them know if you have a car as they will reserve you a spot in the car park.
On the surface they are a prestigious high quality hotel.
Unfortunately they dont quite make the heights they are aspiring to. Silly little points that they just get wrong (no fresh flowers, greeting card from the manager, mini bar not stocked, sideboards not cleaned under, no waste bin, note pad and pen,directory of hotel services, menu etc.
Also they refer to you as 'Lord' and 'Lady' and call your children Prince and Princess (and present them with very tacky cheap tiara and sword on check in) which is slightly disconcerting at first and then just plain funny later. It is clear that a lot of the staff dont enjoy calling you 'My Lord' either.
Don't misunderstand this - the hotel was great and we were very welcome -however it is not quite there in terms of service and 'Je ne sais quoi' in comparison to 5 star hotels in the other cities and countries.
Use the concierge service for local knowledge - they are quite good and will do anything for you. Only down side is the distance walk to the waterfront means that you will be acosted by beggars both there and back. They are very persitent and upset / scared our little girl a couple of times you can get a lift from the hotel but it is just a pain to have to do so all the time.
It did not however spoil our enjoyment.
Overall, we had a very enjoyable stay - just slightly dissapointed at some of the tiny details at the outset.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your comments, the constructive feedback and the positive comments. Please be assured that the points you have noted regarding the attention to detail of the rooms has received the utmost attention as this is certainly not the norm.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I can assure you, we will get a complete understanding of the shortfalls you noted, in order to rectify for future.

Kindest Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
321 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was our last stop on our 18-day African trip and definitely was the icing on the cake. I don't care if you are a rich or poor, this hotel and staff treats you like a king or queen. The rooms, food, staff, hotel are all wonderful. I had no negative points about this hotel. Rooms are huge with not only your bedroom but a kitchen/living room area. The food is fabulous and the staff cannot do enough for everyone. They greet you everyday and make sure you even have a shuttle to get down to the wharf and other nearby areas. I was definitely a queen for at least my time at this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor but I believe all the floors would be just fine in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ntflady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

What a first class review you have given us. Thank you kindly.
It is so good to read your comments and hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, in all aspects of your stay. I am especially glad to hear that this was the icing on the cake at the end of your trip to Africa.
I hope your journey home was a safe and pleasant one and hopefully should you return to Cape Town we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Cape Royale.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar & the team at Cape Royale
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I holidayed for 2 weeks in Cape Royale. The suite was superb in every way. However, it was the management that impressed us the most, in particular Ms Terri Jabaar,the resident manager, front of house manager Mr Fanie Coetsee was most helpful in arranging our tours. Also the 1800 restaurant, Mr Philip Harris, banqueting and events manager gave excellent suggestions on our menu and wine selection in particular the Kingklip, ostrich and springbok was truely magnificent. Other members that were most friendly throughout our stay was Lizette, Thomas, Damien and all the porters. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Margaret4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for your lovely comments. These are so warmly received and have been shared with the whole team. Reading comments like you have given us helps us to measure our guest satisfaction and it is great to receive such feedback to confirm we are heading in the right direction. We will continue to strive to offer the very best service in Cape Town.

One again many thanks & Royal Regards from:
Terri, Fanie, Philip & the whole team at Cape Royale.

PS please do come back soon for a repeat visit :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,159 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,554 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing