We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #35 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

On our last night in visiting Cape Town we booked into the Cape Royale. We were made to feel very royal indeed by James and given our Lord and Lady title as we walked in. Check in was smooth and our room was massive - 2 bedrooms. The roof top pool was fantastic - very comy beds. The only downside.....we only stayed for one night and yes we will be back

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castigers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

What a 'perfect' review you have given us. A huge thank you from myself, the team and especially from James. It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us...especially our Sky Bar.

We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

916 - 922 of 1,528 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wow!!! The only words that come to mind when I think about it!! The welcome; unexpected and unique! We were announced in the entrance upon arrival as Lord and Lady Shinde...Definitely took us to another world there itself!! The room was amazingly furnished and comfortable and the views are amazing! The sun deck and pool on the 9th Floor is simply superb! The hotel staff (specially the travel desk) was very polite and helpful and the shuttle will take you to almost all the places you need to go and it is complementary and runs every hour on time! We had requested a shuttle to Table Mountain and were taken in the owners Jaguar which was again unexpected and amazing!! Overall I would love to come back and stay here again may be forever!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HrishiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

WOW, AMAZING AND WONDERFUL REVIEW. Thank you very much indeed for your valuable feedback. When we read comments like you have given us, we know we are doing something right...we take pride in providing the very best of service along with little the added treats when we can. Thank you.

We very much look forward to you coming back to stay with us. Until then....
Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar and the team at Cape Royale.
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

If you've ever wanted the 5 star treatment, without the 5 star price, this is the hotel for you. Arrived in the late evening around 8:30p. The hotel was lit like a palace with bellhops and footman waiting to wisk you inside. No long lines for reception. An intimate front desk clerk seated me and offered me bottled water. The suite was ahhh-mazing (US $108.00) with immaculate french doors to a Juliette balcony, two bdrms, two amazing baths, and a huge liv/din/kit. Totally unexpected. Visit the roof top bar and gossip about the latest celebrity visit. (Actor, Tommy lee Jones was a guest at the hotel while I visited.) Need a ride to an attraction? Call the hotel shuttle. It's gratis. Need breakfast? It was included. The staff hugged me after staying there a total of six days. It was the experience of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is not on the front for a quiter experience. Also 2/2 suites are just a fraction mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoeBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Royal Guest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From the very surprising grand welcome to the efficient caring reception staff and then to our suite, it was just what 2 weary travellers needed. The accommodation is beautiful and close to the waterfront, or if you don`t fancy the walk (about 10mins) the free hotel shuttle will take you there. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We were overlooking a car park, but still had a good view of Table Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

To Our Very Royal Guests,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review. It is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and these comments encouage us to keep on aiming to be the very best.

Once again, thank you.
Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is well located close to the VA Waterfront, with many good restaurants and a supermarket within walking distance. The rooms are very ample, with new furniture and appliances. A good kitchen with everything you need, even a laundry machine. The breakfast in the hotel is very expensive, so we opted to shop and do it ourselves. There is a pool on the top with a bar and they can park your car. When we were leaving the valet bumped the rear of my brother's car, but the manager promptly stated that they would pay for anything (we are waiting for the rental charges, hopefully it will not be much). The negative point is that my room was right over the hotel's night club, so it was very noisy during the weekend during the night, making it difficult to sleep. Despite that we had a great time there.

Room Tip: Ask for your room to be away from the night club entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diveraddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you kindly for this very valuable feedback that you have given us. It is greatly appreciated. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the suite and the location.

My apologies for the incident which occurred with your vehichle and I will ensure that we follow up on this. My apologies also for the issue with the noise levels at the weekend, we do try our very best to control this complaint and I will ensure to communicate your comments with ZAR.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel building is a truly impressive and beautiful one, even if the setting at a main road is not the greatest. However, it is within convenient walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, which makes it a good location for the Cape Town tourist. The lobby area is neat, service staff is efficient and friendly but not overwhelming; parking facilities are very good and reasonably priced.
All public areas of the hotel look luxurious and well-kept. The rooms are really spacious and well-equipped but the suite concept of the hotel doesn’t really spread the typical 5* hotel feeling but rather that of a very comfortable holiday flat. The furniture concept is not always on the highest level, some things in the room look really elegant and/or expensive, some just don’t. Generally, some furniture could be better maintained. Our bathroom had a bit of a dark ambiance, just as our bedroom had.
The rooftop pool offers magnificent views, but somehow I found it more inviting for lounging in the evening than for swimming or sunbathing.
Breakfast is served in a nice ambiance, quality of things on display is quite good but selection could be a bit better.
The spa area looks really neat and elegant and thus invites you to relax – the massage was not the best I ever had but was ok.
In a nutshell, quite a comfortable stay in a nice hotel but still some room for improvements in order to justify the 5* rating. I personally wouldn’t pay any price for staying here and would rather look for “bargains” if available.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLT20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for taking the time to write this review. I am pleased that in general you had a comfortable stay.
I have noted your comments where you feel we should offer a bit more and please be assured we will review this. We are graded through the Tourism Grading Council as a 5 star establishment and we do pride ourselvs in provding this high standard of service, however we do appreciate that there are always opportunities for us to improve.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is an imposing 9 story edifice on Main Rd CT. it is "close to" the Waterfront, but only as the crow flies. Walking will take you some time, but the hotel has a regular (free) shuttle, which will drop you around CT.

Hotel is officially 5 star rated and makes claim to be among the best in the world. Hm....

We had a large 8th floor suite - bedroom, big bathroom, lounge and kitchen. Decor is a strange mix - chandelier in lounge, with ultra modern chrome and white wood furniture. Dining chairs were stained and armchairs were truly disgusting - white cloth and horribly stained all over. I sat on one and fell straight through! Not an auspicious start. Curtains stained and in need of cleaning.

Suite was very clean otherwise, especially the beautiful fitted kitchen - freezer, cooker, fridge, toaster, kettle, dishwasher and washer drier. (Wish we had one of those later in our trip, when suitcases full of dirty clothes!). Kitchen had 2 plates, cereal bowels and mugs, plus 2 knifes, forks and spoons. Nothing else - no cooking utensils, etc. No wonder it was pristine! Good (real) coffee though, so all else forgiven!

We had two single beds, not the king/ queen ordered, plus a lengthy list of other faults, so I went to war, suggesting at one point that 806 was the hotel "ha ha" room (all hotels have one!). Mostly I was unhappy about our truly disgraceful soft furnishings. I have to say, the staff sprang into action.

When we got back from dinner, we had a change of furniture, a (small) queen bed and a complimentary bottle of wine and a serious cheeseplate. Some faults were unfixable, but they certainly tried. Mostly the problems are an hotel in need of some refurbishment, together with housekeeping supervision of a very, very low standard. (Are they not trained to spot flickering lights, disgusting upholstery and blown bulbs?). This is a 5 star hotel! Oh, BTW, the bed was not only small, but fairly uncomfortable - big minus, in my view, having come from a super large, super- comfortable, cheaper, Hilton bed.

We expected a lot from the rooftop pool. Nice photos! Unfortunately, it is accessed by unattractive service stairs and a smelly, smoked in elevator. When you get there, the view is spectacular. Sadly it is open to the general public and we were there over a weekend, when it was crowded and noisy (DJ, who played "mainstream", until he got bored and went "off piste", with music for twenty somethings). Pool is small and cold and, on the Sunday, full of noisy, smoking drunks. Loungers are fine. There is however no shade, unless you want to sit in a smoky bar. Unlike other good SA hotels, their smoking policy sucks! An aside: How can any swimming pool allow glass in the water? Can't imagine any decent hotel in Europe, the US or the rest of the world not using plastic. What do they do when, inevitably, a glass is broken? Drain the pool every time? Note: I am informed the pool/pool bar is not run by the hotel, but a separate company. So? It's in the brochure and it's not helping the hotel image.

In-room wifi should be good, with lots of access points. Unfortunately, my iPad did not like them, so I struggled.

So, to sum up. The hotel is in need of a minor refurbish. With these fabrics, hard, narrow beds and worn seating, luxurious it is not. Public rooms are fine. The staff, however, try very hard to make things work and the ones we dealt with were clearly upset by our early experience. The pool is a big let down - noisy (at weekends) and full of smoking, inebriated locals. Monday and Tuesday were much pleasanter however! We have experience of good hotels in many parts of the world and the Cape Royale would like to be (and indeed claims to be) one of these. Sadly, it misses. Pity, because it has the potential to be much better.

Room Tip: What can I say? Anything but 806.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for your constructive feedback. Obviously I am disappointed that we did not meet all your expectations and that you feel our service is not quite as it should be. We pride ourselves in providing only the very highest standards and therefore these comments are concerning.

Regarding your comments suggesting a small refurbishment...please be advised that we have been running at extremely high occupancies for over 9 months now with little or no time available to carry out a full preventative maintenance program. This is by no means an excuse, I would just like to share with you how busy we are and the demand that there is for people wanting to stay at Cape Royale. Rest assured that we have acknowledged your comments and have a plan in place to address the issues, some of which you have noted...flickering lights etc.

I do apologise for the shortfalls in service you noted. I am pleased that my management team, 'sprang' to assist :-). I would please ask that you contact me directly should you decide to return to Cape Town.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,763 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#12 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,648 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,565 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,782 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $201 - $590 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Luxurious All-Suite, 5-star hotel, is centrally located, within walking distance to the Cape Town stadium, V&A Waterfront and close to all popular beaches. It offers bright spacious Suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen and large living & entertainment areas. Guests have a choice between several dining options, Wellness Centre, Fitness Centre and a rooftop Pool Bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain. Ask the Cape Royale Luxury Hotel concierge team to offer suggestion on Cape Town and surround activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing