We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome awesome stay @ Cape Royale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sun City, South Africa
2 reviews
“Awesome awesome stay @ Cape Royale”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

What a beautiful hotel. The service was awesome and the hotel is most definitely worthy of a second visit. Service, staff attitude, quality of food and the overall experience makes for this hotel to be my hotel of choice when revisiting the Fair Cape. The rooms are simple breathtaking with all the mod-cons a traveler could wish for and a special mention needs to be made of the concierge, which will tend to your every need and request.

The hotel is located about a 5 minute walk form the V&A Waterfront and there is a number of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, but you need not go anywhere else but The 1800° Grill Room to experience the absolute best steak in Cape Town. A visit to the pool bar is an absolute must, offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain.

There is also a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art equipment and an superb spa with a range of treatment options. Thank you to the staff and management for creating amazing memories.

You all Rock!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Royal Guest,

Awesome awesome review - thank you very much indeed. I hope you had a wonderful festive season and may I take this opportunity to wish you a very happy, healthy and prosperous new year.

I notice you have stayed with us before. Thank you for coming back to stay with us time and time again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    329
    147
    42
    53
See reviews for
535
489
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

A great hotel where we enjoyed a fantastic stay until we were getting ready to leave and realised a significant about of money had been stolen from our room. Admittedly it transpires that the money was in the safe which had been left open but you still don't expect someone to come into your room and steal your belongings at a 5 star hotel. The hotel say they have reviewd the CCTV and no one unknown was seen entering the room which unfortunately suggests one of the cleaners stole the money. The safe was in a wardrobe so someone would have had to go looking, the feeling someone may have been through all our other belongings is hardly ideal either.

Our insurance won't cover us (money not stolen from our person) and unfortunately neither will the hotel which we very disappointed by. On reflection of the situation we were discouraged from contacting the South African police and went through the hotel security, something in hindsight we wished we hadn't. We hoped that the hotel may have shown some discretion and reimburse what we had stolen.

So a word of warning, a good hotel but be careful what you leave in your room. We were celebrating a delayed honeymoon and the theft ruined our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding having had a fantastic stay with us. However I would like to comment on the remainder of your review.
As you are aware we carried out a thorough and detailed investigation into the alleged theft from your suite. Our property manager was in regular contact with you regarding the investigations. I would like to reiterate the following:

We offered to call the SA police on your behalf which was declined. CCTV footage was reviewed. Polygraph tests were carried out with our staff. We also reviewed the necessary safe readings and this highlighted that your safe was left unlocked during your stay with us.
As with your insurance company, our insurance company will also not pay out as the money was left unsecurely locked and there is no evidence to prove that we were at fault in anyway. We do advise and encourage as a standard procedure, for all our guests to securely lock their valuables in the safes provided in the suites.

It was not our intention to ruin your stay by the alleged theft and we take incidents extremely seriously. We cannot reimburse as a good will gesture for an incident which has no evidence to state that we were at fault.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having visited the city before, I was keen to stay near the Waterfront. This hotel was about a 5 minute walk away and I felt comfortable walking to and from there. The rooms are very large and are similar to a one bed full equipped apartment that someone may rent on a permanent basis. Furnishings are modern with a few special touches. Breakfast was varied and good quality. The concierge were very helpful and could assist with transportation etc. Overall a good option for business or pleasure at less than you would expect to pay for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaSDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Lisa,

Thank you kindly for the feedback and your comments. I am please you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Cape Town.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a holiday in Cape Town and we started our holiday in Cape Royale. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and we were very pleased with our room. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggins L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

You have given us an incredible review :-). Thank you very much. It is so good to read such positive comments and I have shared your feedback with all the team.

Wishing you a wonderful festive season and a very happy 2013.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent location, beautiful architecture, great appartments, the welcome at the
front desk with the gong and announcement was quite unique and funny, welcome touch.
Staff very friedly and helpfull (sight seeing suggestions etc)
Close to the waterfront.We can highly recomment his property.

Only thing they have to change is the free shuttle ride within 5 km, and "scheduled" pick
up at the waterfront, timings did not work at all, they should publish a fixed routing.

Room Tip: If you sleep towards the main road it can be a little bit noisy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Claude,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, it is greatly appreciated. Especially your comments regarding our friendly staff. I am glad you enjoyed the 'Royal Touch'.
I will certainly review our shuttle service and discuss with the team.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My top choice for frequent trips to Cape Town - great location, great flats, excellent staff. Best secret feature - the roof pool deck and bar. The hotel is a excellent choice if you need to do some work in peace or if you don't like feeling crowded in standard hotel room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100NowWhereTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

What a Perfect Review you have given us - thank you kindly. Thanks for the excellent feedback and thanks for taking the time to write this review.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The Cape Royale is really well situated in easy reach of the V&A and if you want (as we did) a straightforward stroll to the Downtown area. It's a 15minute beautiful coastal drive along to Clifton and Camps Bay (as an alternative to the route up and over the mountain).

Like other reviewers we received the 'special' welcome. It was a nice touch, though I'm glad it did happen every time we walked through reception! We had a two-bed two bath suite. It was super spacious and well equipped. We slept in the smaller of the two rooms which backed onto the atrium and our nephew took the larger room with balcony. As other reviewers have noted the rear rooms can get a bit echoey overnight, but it was never a major issue for us. That is my one criticism of the room. We were on the third floor and faced out over towards the Cape Town stadium. It was quiet despite the hustle and bustle outside.

In terms of the staff they were all great though we do really want to single out Tina and Seddick. Tina was great and nothing was too much trouble at any time we went to reception - she even sorted a penthouse for the day so we had a private pool. Seddick, the Asst Guest Service Manager, was just brilliant. He arranged tours, boats, a helicopter ride for our nephew, suggested bars, checked us in for the flight home – he just went above and beyond. So a huge thanks Seddick.

I have to take issue with some of the other comments re facilities. If you compare prices to the other 5 star hotels in Cape Town, the Cape Royale is very significantly less. It’s probably a bit naive to expect a like-for-like comparison with the others. The Cape Royale has a great spot, great rooms, good food and great service. Overall it was superb value, and put money in the kitty to enjoy the many other things in the City and beyond, without compromising on having a fantastic base to stay.

Room Tip: The higher the better and at the rear for a great view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent_Dane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Superb Review, thank you very much.I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed the 'special welcome' aswell as many other aspects of our service which we pride ourselves in.

Please be assured that I have shared your lovely comments about our staff with them all, especially Sedick and Tina, who are great ambassadors for Cape Royale and indeed the hospitality industry.

I wish you a wonderful festive season and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing