We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #32 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
“Great Experience”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent and luxurious hotel, excellent service.
Located at a walking distance from the Waterfront, Stadium and Restaurants.
Great landscape towards the port and Table Mountain.
There is a surprise when the guest first come in the hotel, must go and discover by yourself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Fabio,

A Great Review followed by a Great Stay - Thank you kindly.
It is so good to read reviews like this, as we pride ourselves in exceptional service levels.

May I wish you a fabulous festive season and a superb 2013.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    331
    147
    42
    54
See reviews for
540
492
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durban
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I and our little boy just got back from a wonderful stay at The Cape Royale Hotel. I really wasnt put off by the Lord and Lady announcement, and think that some people are just very picky, why not just go with the flow and enjoy it! Its not really such a big deal. Before arrival we requested a room on the higher floors as suggested by other trip advisor reviewers. The Manager Terri Jabaar very kindly responded to my e-mails and we were given a lovely bright and spacious two-bedroomed suite with a full kitchen. The room was lovely and it was very handy throughout our stay to have a kitchen with microwave with a washer and dryer. This is my first holiday that on arriving home I dont have to rush and get the washing machine on. All the staff that we came into contact with were friendly and extremely helpful, to the fron desk to the porters, even those you just happened to meet walking around the hotel. The sky bar was open and you have some really outstanding views of Cape Town from the top.

I would highly recommend the room service from the 1800 Restaurant, my husband ordered steak and I had the slow roasted lamb shank, which was fabulous.Followed by Chocolate Bombe and Creme Brulee Totally worth it only 31 english pounds including Gratuity.

Some reviewers had complained about the noise, we were on the 6th floor and had a sea view, you did hear noise from the street and the disco, but it wasnt that bad. I was glad that we were high up though. I would have liked to see some information in the rooms. Some hotels have a leather bound brochure with details of the hotel, facilities times etc. I had to request a menu from the restaurant regarding room service, maybe it would be advisable to have this in the room, along with other information regarding Cape Town and trips etc. I am sure that reception would be happy to help with any enquiries but sometimes its nice to have these things in the room. I would also suggest some instructions regarding the washer/dryer, coffee maker, microwave to be available in the room itself.

All in all a lovely family holiday, and I will definately be back. Well done Cape Royale :-)

Room Tip: I would choose a higher floor due to noise from the street and the disco. Alternatively maybe a moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmadurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lady Emma and family,

Thank you for your comments, for the great feedback you have given us and also for your recommendations. It was a pleasure to assist you with your requests.
Please be advised that we do have a guest directory with instructions included in it for the washing machine etc aswell as a menu for In Room Dining, these should have been placed in your suite. My sincere apologies that this was not made available to you. I iwll indeed follow up with my team and check the suites.

Once again thank you for your comments and may I wish you a lovely festive season and a wonderful 2013.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Amazing hotel, could not find better.

My wife and I were in Cape Town in October 2012, The Cape Royale is fantastic. The staff were friendly, the food was out of this world and our room was first class.

I have traveled all over the world and could not remember a stay in such a professional, clean and friendly environment.

Special thanks to Sedick who organised all of our day adventures and tours, you are worth your weight in gold.

From the second you walk in and the "gong" sounds you know you have found the best place in Cape Town….rivals the best in the world

We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lord James,

What can I say but a huge THANK YOU.
This is a very special review you have given us. Your comments: professionalism, clean, friendly, the best in the world...these words just encourage us to keep doing what we do best -look after and service our very special guests to the best of our ability. From my team, Sedick and myself, thank you kindly.

Have a wonderful festive season and a fabulous 2013.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Cape Royale. It has wonderfully large rooms with kitchenette. The service is great although I am not a fan of the "Lord and Lady" announcements or designation.) The hotel is very accommodating and helpful - from the room service, housekeeping, to concierge, porters and check in. Breakfast is wonderful and the location is perfect. If your looking for a sophisticated hotel with a good fitness facility, this is not it. The gym is very under-equipped. I would recommend staying there as long as they gym is not a priority.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longtimetraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you for your great review. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Thanks also for your constructive comments regarding the Lord and Lady titles aswell as your comments regarding the gym.
Regarding the gym. we do have a limited space available at the gym, hence why we provide only the essential gym equipment. We can assist with access to a much karger gym should this service be required.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Cape Royale is an excellent hotel at an excellent location in Cape Town.it is within a walkable distance from the V&A wharf (more or less 8 blocks distance) and we enjoyed the hotel very much. We were upgraded to a front view apartment with 3 bedrooms (our daughters loved it) and kitchen + washing/drying machine which came in very handy.
I suggest you bring your own plug adaptor or buy one at V&A wharf as the hotel seemed short on them...

Room Tip: Even though it faces an important avenue, it is not noisy after 10pm. of course front apartments hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Royal Guests,

What an excellent review. Thank you kindly. It is great to receive such positive feedback especially that your whole family had such an enjoyable stay. We pride ourselves in the highest service levels.

Thanks for your comments regarding international adaptor plugs, please be assured I have triple check stock to ensure we have sufficent plugs available for all our guests.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location, clean, friendly staff and enough space in each suite to have a party. First class accommodations and when in Cape Town, we will stay there again. The morning brunch is fantastic with a great selection of fresh fruits, meats and made to order breakfast items.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank zek7717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Royal Guest,

'Home away from home' - that is great to hear. I am very pleased that you felt so comfortable and relaxed during your stay with us and that we helped you feel like you where at home.

We hope to wecome you back, one day soon :-).

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for one night, on 10 Nov; it was my first stay here; this is not a hotel; this is a home away from home, run by a TEAM; everyone was most welcoming and friendly, and we loved the fact that the gong and song and hand clapping announced our arrival. Smooth check in and valet parking. Unfortunately shortly after we arrived, we were involved in a car accident with another car, about 50 metres from the hotel; however, the hotel staff quickly came to assist us at the scene of the accident and escorted us back to the hotel, gave us refreshments, called the police and the car rental company, and dealt with the unpleasant bits. My 77 year old mother and 10 year old niece were particulary shaken, but the hotel and restaurant staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and treated us in true Cape Royale style. Fully equipped kitchen, efficient room service. Within easy walking distance to coffee bars, restaurants and shops. We were not here long enough to make use of the spa, sky bar, swimming pool or other facilities, so cannot comment, however the 360 degree view from the sky bar is amazing. Hopefully, we' ll be back soon, to visit the TEAM.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank laura a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lady Laura,

Thank you for your kind review and comments. These are greatly appreciated. I am so pleased that no-one was injured during the accident and that your mother and niece where assisted to by our team and we managed to help calm the situation.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Royale, hopefully in the not too distant future. Until then, may we wish you a fabulous festive season and all the very best for the New Year.

Royal Regards

Terri Mallett
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,736 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing