We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
967
360
161
49
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
360
161
49
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslord and ladybedroom suiteluxury hotelwasher dryerrooftop barfull kitchentravel deskgreen pointbeautiful hotelliving areashuttle serviceour honeymoonself cateringbreakfast was includedwaterfront areafour nightstable mountain
Filter
Updating list...
1,037 - 1,042 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel was fantastic but was let down by two things. The sky bar and pool were unavailable during our stay and we weren't even informed of this before arriving, which for a five star hotel is very poor, when I complained on arrival nothing was done, since then the manager has promised to oversee our next stay but that doesn't change our recent experience. The other thing was the gong on arrival, lots of people seem to like this, we however didn't, it was cheesy and hideous and not for us. Why would we want our arrival announcing to everyone, it was very TGI Fridays! Aside for these points the rooms were luxurious, staff were polite and friendly and overall we had a great stay, I think we were just unfortunate that our stay clashed with the pool renovations.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback. I am disappointed to learn that we did not meet all your expectations. My apologies for this.

The Sky Bar has now re-opened after a very much needed revamp. We did open the private villa's with pools during the revamp but I understand your frustations that this was not communicated clearly to everyone.

Your comments regarding the 'Gong' announcement on arrival have been noted for your future stay. We continue to announce all ou guests but for those who do not enjoy these little 'additives' we certainly do refrain. Thank you for your feedback.

Again apologies for the inconveniences and I do look forward to welcoming you back.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a girlfriend's trip to Cape Town and fell in love with Cape Royale. The staff took excellent care of us. We were in a 2 room suite. It was clean and comfortable. Our air conditioner wasn't working and they fixed it right away. We LOVED the shuttle service. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because our walls had some scuffs that took away from the "luxury" feel, there was one staff who was unfriendly and told us she would get us a second key and didn't do it, and the king bed was in the second bedroom while the smaller bed was in the master. In all honesty, these things were very minimal and we were VERY pleased with our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review, for the positve feedback and for your constructive criticisms.
Please be assured that we are in the process of 'tidying' all our rooms. Touching up paint work, maintenance checks etc. This would normally have been carried out during the winter season which is traditionally a quiet period for hotels. But we did not have the opportunity this time around as we have been extremely busy for the last 8 months consistenly.

My apologies for the unfriendly staff member you encountered, and also for the bed configuration, please be assured I will investigate these comments as it is certainly not the norm.

I look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our family of 8 stayed in 2 suites over 5 nights and couldn't have asked for better Cape Town accommodation. We were welcomed to the hotel with a gong ringing ceremony at the main entrance during which we were presented to the staff and guests in the lobby as the "best family in the world!" We all got a kick out of that and very much appreciate the warm welcome. During our stay, the staff were always attentive and friendly and our rooms, which were elegantly decorated, were always kept clean and made comfortable by the cleaning crew. Additionally, the location of the hotel (5 minutes from the V&A Waterfront) was perfect. The complementary shuttle down to the Waterfront was always on time and accommodating considering the size of our group. Overall, everyone was pleased with Cape Royale. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelologists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

First Class review :-)....thank you.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. Please be assured your comments are now proudly displayed troughtout the staff areas and noticeboards.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back...hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012. This is a beautiful hotel with very well-equipped suites, with a full kitchen. It was especially nice to have a washer-dryer in the room, since we had just spent 10 days in the bush with no laundry facilities. The staff is amazing. Nothing was too much to ask. For example, after we checked in, we called the front desk at least 4 times with various requests, and each time a cheerful staff member knocked on our door within minutes. The shuttle service was wonderful and convenient, and the breakfast buffet was huge and delicious. To top it all off, the restaurant, 1800, has top-notch gourmet food and wine at very reasonable prices. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWWLosGatos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review and the feedback.
I am pleased to note that we met all your expectations and that you had such an enjoyable stay with us.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here for just one night on my way to the Blue Train the next morning. They have a car service that will pick you up within a five mile radius and deliver you here as well as take you within a five mile radius of where you might have to go. Upon entering the hotel you are greeted with a bell and introduced to the reception area. A novel way of introducing you to this beautiful hotel. Reception then takes your details as you sit and off you go to your room. A full service room greets you and welcomes you to stay for awhile. This is a privately owned hotel with the owner living on the top floor. They have done things right here if you are planning a long stay with a full kitchen including a washer/dryer combo, dishwasher, fridge, stove, microwave, t.v. and coffee machine. Bedroom is separate with its own small t.v. and bathroom is lovely with nice sized shower (no tub), bathrobes and the coolest slippers - plush flip flop slippers!

Breakfast was all you could want and more...free internet too! I was told that the floor with the pool was being renovated and once done would be smashing. I believe that because the rest of the hotel was gorgeous with its marble and beautiful local artwork.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICanTravelPanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at The Cape Royale, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Royal Guest,

A beautiful review you have taken the time to give us, thank you.
Your positive comments are warmly recieved.

Indeed our Sky Bar has re-opened after the much needed revamp....it now has a fresh, vibrant, 'smashing' feel to it. We have had great feedabck so far. I hope you can return in the not too distant future and give us your feedback?!

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews