We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in a two room suite. Excellently appointed with all the modern trimmings including a fully functioning kitchen. Very good location and some good restaurants on either side of the property. More of a boutique hotel than a regular 5 star hotel. I would ask for the city view when making a reservation. Parking also on site at a very reasonable price.
Very helpful staff all round.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for this superb feedback. It is a pleasure to receive your positive comments.

I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in South Africa and your journey home was a safe one.

Royal Regards
Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    322
    145
    41
    51
See reviews for
526
486
36
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Ill
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I couldn't believe how lovely this hotel is and the level of hospitality. 2 of us had a 2 bed, 2 ensuite baths plus a living room, dining room and kitchen. The kitchen even had a combo clothes washer/dryer. I could fit my condo in this suite and still have space. The breakfasts are sumptuous and have many choices, including hot, made to order dishes. Dinner in the restaurant can be a bit pricey, but delicious. Wine is very reasonable. Calling guests "Lord" and "Lady" was a bit hokey, but this a country that once had a strong English influence. The location is great, near the Waterfront and the hotel has a shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 5km radius. My only complaint about that is you have to book it in advance and if it is full-you don't go.

Room Tip: A woman did not design this hotel. There are no electrical outlets in the bathroom and no mirror in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikinggirlchicago721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for this fabulous review and for sharing your comments with us.
May I explain our Lord and Lady tiltes that we give to all our guests. This relates to our name 'The Cape Royale'....where you come to experience the 'Royal Touch'. It is an experience different to the normal everyday mr and mrs.

Thank you so much for the tips, we have implemented a project to address the comments you have given us in order to make the mirrors/plugs/hairdryers more user friendly.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is hands down the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Every room is a suite going from a one bedroom suite to a four bedroom suite. The rooms are incredibly nice and everything is top of the line. The staff, from the concierge to the porters, are all extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in several hotels around South Africa on this trip and this hotel was the only one that offered free Wi-Fi along with computer and printer access as well. It's right near the V&A Waterfront (walkable) and has Table Mountain as a backdrop. Overall I would highly recommend staying at this hotel if you're in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Literally every room was a good room. We were facing the main street however we did not hear any no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

What a fabulous review you have given us. Thank you very much. That is our aim at all times - to be the very best. We take pride in what we do, we love to go that extra mile to ensure we exceed our guest expectations...and it seems we managed to do this with you.
Thank you very much.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was very disappointed with this hotel, which for me was totally over priced for what you actually get. The rooms/suites were actually very average and what was really astounding was the almost "empty" kitchen. Apparently one is supposed to request cooking utensils etc. but I found no advice to this effect anywhere in the suite. Regardless, why would a person pay so much and then have to ask for basic equipement? It seemed to me this was a strategy to "encourage" guests to use the restuarant for breakfast/dinner etc. The service from the reception staff was excellent, but room service totally wanting. I phoned for food one evening only to be told they would call me back. I am still waiting for that call. What really drove me totally insane was this ridiculous and embarrassing policy of calling the female guests "Lady ...." and banging this huge gong on arrival. I concede that perhaps some individuals love this attention. I thought it was totally pretentious and over the top. Oh, and also visited their spa for a massage. More like a back rub really - a very expensive back rub.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glengors12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I do believe that my Rooms Division Manager spoke to you on the telephone after receiving your email comment card and explained the majority of the feedback you have posted here. Please allow me to re-explain some of the concerns you have raised again here on Trip Advisor.

The rate you booked though booking.com we consider to be a very reasonable rate. We consider ourselves to be very competitive in comparison to other luxury hotels in Cape Town by offering the Best Available Rate.

Cape Royale is a Luxury Hotel which offers large suites, each fully fitted with ensuite bathrooms, kitchenette and separate lounge. We are not a self-catering establishment. The majority of our guests enjoy the Food and Beverage outlets during their stay. However, should you wish to cook for yourself in the suite we can assist with this request. There is a notice in the kitchen drawer in all the suites which advises you what to do should you wish to request the additional utensils required to cook in the suite. We also offer a personal butler service who can come and cook in the suite on your behalf.

Please allow me to re-explain the Lord and Lady title that we give to all our guests. This relates to our name 'Cape Royale' and we invite our guests to experience the 'Royal Touch' service that we offer, something different from the normal Mr & Mrs, with a few ‘experiences’ here and there. The titles are certainly not meant to offend, apologies if you felt this way. The majority of our guests do love it and those that do not, we refrain from using. Should you have brought this to our attention during your stay we would have stopped referring you as Lady immediately.

Thank you for your comments regarding Room Service, please be assured that this was investigated in full and discussed after your telephone call with our Rooms Division Manager. Measures since then have been put in place to avoid a repeat.

It is disheartening to receive your comments regarding the Back Massage in Equinox Spa. This is certainly a first negative review for the Spa. Our guest satisfaction report in this department is currently at 98%. We will investigate to try to understand what went wrong.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Being announced on arrival with a gong and introduction to the reception staff was a great experience which continued throughout our staff of 4 nights. The staff were always on hand and assisted with any request and management presence was professional and courteous at all times. The rooms were large and well appointed with housekeeping tentative and friendly. Breakfast was top notch with nice touches such as smoothies and any item on order not presented on the buffet which was extensive, fresh and well presented. The hotel is centrally located to all attractions and a definite must stay.

Room Tip: East facing rooms have nice view over the stadium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willem_vheerden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Willem,

Thank you kindly for this review and for the positive feedback.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I will ensure it is communicated to the whole team.

Look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

From the beginning gong as you enter the hotel, you are thoroughly welcomed in the Cape Royale Hotel! It is a beautiful, luxurious lobby and a joy to pass through each day. The rooms are all suites and are quite large, modern, and tastefully designed. A bountiful and delicious breakfast was included in our room price.


The staff is very pleasant and professional. The hotel management was particularly helpful and caring. The ability to have complimentary local car service at your disposal was quite a benefit, despite the fact we'd already rented a car. It was nice not to worry about parking! We were within a 15min walk to the V&A waterfront, but still enjoyed their pickup service.


We were a bit disappointed that the roof deck and pool were closed for renovation during our stay. The gym facility was also quite limited in the equipment, though had great views of the city.

The concierges were quite friendly and willing to assist, but somewhat limited in their knowledge of what I might reference in 2 key areas: Table Mt hiking and good African restaurants.

Overall, it was a lovely hotel and great value for the price!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of Table Mountain - glorious to wake up to in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Thank you SO much for this lovely review you have given us. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and that you liked our 'Royal Touch'.

My sincere apologies that the Sky Bar was closed for renovations during your stay and for the inconvenience this may have caused you. This essential work had to be carried out in order to get the venue up and running with a new fresh feel. It re-opens on the 1st October. Perhaps you would consider coming back to enoy this area and give us your opinion?....I do hope so.

Thank you for the comments raegarding our concierge, I will investigate this in full.

Royal Regards and thank you once again,

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

At first I was starstruck by this hotel. The reception is extremely luxurious and the rooms are spacious. However a couple of days after this hotel feels somewhat like a show and more of an experience than a true luxury hotel. However, really friendly staff, ok location and nice rooms!

Overall it was a great visit and you can realy feel the luxuriousness but in a sense it feels as if they are trying a little too hard!

The beds are nice but you may get disturbed by the thin walls and the easilly travelling noices from the hallways!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerriJabaar, Manager at Cape Royale Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for these comments you have given us here on Trip Advisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and please be assured that we do appreciate your constuctive comments. I will certianly investigate the noise complaints and your comments regarding the walls.
Please accept my apologies that you felt we where trying to hard, we will ensure to review the service we offer. Our staff love their jobs, they do try hard, but perhaps it does not work for all.

Thank you once again.

Royal Regards

Terri Jabaar
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#14 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#21 of 106 in Cape Town Central
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing