We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is easily the nicest hotel I have ever stayed it for such a great value. It has a perfect locale to the waterfront and other local locations. They offer a free shuttle around town, although we had our own vehicle. We did use the "shuttle" to go to dinner and were very surprised to see it was actually a Jaguar. The room seemed much more like an upscale fully furnished apartment. We received wonderful help from the concierge and felt like special guests at all times. Breakfast was included with our rate and was completely top-notch.
My only negative comment would be that our room was serviced despite the Do Not Disturb on the door.
As with most areas in South Africa, use caution when walking the streets at night, but with the free shuttle service, this is not an issue when staying at the Cape Royale.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    329
    147
    42
    53
See reviews for
535
489
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We usually prefer places that have a personal touch and are much smaller so the Cape Royale was a risky choice and yet we were extremely pleased and our kids loved it there. It is ideal if you start or finish off your trip there and combine a city tour with extremely spacious rooms and every comfort for the kids and yourselves. We stayed in a suite with two bedrooms. One had a view (over the new, beautiful stadium) while the smaller one had none (its window faced towards the big and well lit corridors). Both bedrooms had great bathrooms. The living room with a dining and a lounge area was extremely big - the kids could really run around there - and tastefully furnished. The kitchen was amazing with high quality facilities (everything from Siemens and brand-new). Although there was even a dish-washer, the room service regularly cleaned everything we had used. There was a washing-machine that included a drier and even the washing powder is provided.

We did not have breakfast at the hotel as it was much easier to make use of our private "dining hall" upstairs (not far from the hotel is a shopping mall). We tried the 1800 restaurant though in the evening; it was very good and they were very relaxed with the kids. The upstairs roof terrace/pool area is beautiful and has a great view. The hotel location is convenient, you can easily reach the V&A Waterfront (a two-minute drive with the hotel's complimentary shuttle service that leaves every 30 minutes and takes you to where you need to go around town. They are also prepared to pick you up in town if you call them - great service). The hotel offers parking in its garage for only R60/day or you can leave your car on a public car park (for free) opposite the hotel.

The one thing to criticize are the windows/balcony doors. Ours faced to the Main Rd that has a lot of traffic. The balcony doors (French balconies) do not shut tightly and thus the traffic noise can be heard in the bedroom facing the street. If this is something that can bother you, you should try and get a back room with mountain-view.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Beautiful and elegant rooms. Huge suites with top of the line equipment. A chic kitchen which would make most New Yorkers City dwellers envious. But what made this hotel stand out was my "personal butler" Thomas Van Bochove. I would run out of superlatives to describe his professionalism. He arranged my tours, answered questions almost before I knew to ask them, and went out of his way to make this hotel stay exceptional. Kudos!!

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I loved our stay at the Cape Royale Hotel in Cape Town. The Hotel is close to the V&A Waterfront and offer complimentary shuttle transfers in a 5km radius. The staff is very friendly and makes you feel at home from the moment you arrive. I especially love their attention to details and my daughter of 4 years loved the princess crown they left on the bed for her after turn-down. We stayed in the Penthouse Suite and had 3 bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a great view over the V&A. I think it is the perfect family hotel that offers 5 star service and great value for money. I would love to return soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Wanting to spoil ourselves after having a bereavement in Cape Town, we booked in for 4 nights.
Our suite was nice and roomy and the bed very comfortable. the first evening we had room service, trying to understand the butler with awful noise in the background we eventually got our food. My club sandwich was cold and the meat inedible!
The housekeeping was under niveau...not properly cleaned, wastebin in kitchen not emptied and when I complained they said it was a new maid and would send someone else the next time.
This was not such an improvement. The water in the shower still did not drain and the W.C kept running....no handyman there??
the staff is very friendly, but their training is poor. S.A pull your socks up if you want to make the 5 stars....we have lots of experience in S.A and wonder whether this is 5 star worthy.
Carol & Charles Netherlands

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I was there in November for 4 days for Business, and took my wife along. Downstairs is great, with a nice cocktail bar, and very friendly managers and staff. There's a lounging terrace out front, where you can also eat Breakfast (very nice, by the way). Parking under the hotel is excellent. Reception are very amenable, and the Concierge can quickly get you cars, arrange spa trips for the ladies etc. We asked for a car each evening to go to dinner, and we were taken in the hotel's Jaguar, which was great. We had a two bedroom suite; very nicely appointed, but the bedrooms had no windows and the noise from the atrium (spectacular, but a total echo chamber) was relentless at night. Our bed was a 4'6" small double, so one of us had to move into the other room or neither of us could sleep! Such a shame, because its a very stylish establishment, but if you can't sleep that sort of negates the purpose of an expensive hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hypnotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Location, staff, food, atmosphere, room.... everything was tip top

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#18 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing