We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This a time share property pretending to be a 5 star hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
dorset
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This a time share property pretending to be a 5 star hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed over Christmas 2011 had the worst Xmas lunch ever, arranged for friends joining us to be collected from the airport, I confirmed with reception twice the day before the car did not arrive! We went to the pool on the 27dec building work going on, we were told by the customer services manager that it would be stopped it wasn't after being covered in brick dust we left and went to the beach.
5 star accommodation with 3 star service and 2 star food
Ross Long
UK

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosslong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    317
    144
    41
    49
See reviews for
522
483
36
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is true british ambience and charm. The restaurant has better food, better service and better value that any other in the Waterfront, it,s worth having dinner there and after go to V&A Waterfront for drinks, as you,ve the extravalue of hotel shuttle going to pick you up any time you ask! Breakfast buffet is delicious, and I strongly reccomend going to the pool for the ambience and the vues.
Staff is delighful, plenty of smiles any time of the day. Special mention of Guest Services Manager, Mr. Van Bochove, ready to solve any small or big problem you may have.
CapeTown is a wonderful city, plenty of places for sighseeing around,
I long to go back...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

This hotel, located on Main street, about a block from Victoria & Albert Waterfront, was spectacular. It's in a very safe area, I walked around with little worry for my well being.

Traveling with wife and mother in law, we stayed in a three bedroom, three bath suite, which was huge - about 1500 sq ft. Every bedroom had its own gorgeous bathroom.

The room was equipped with a complete kitchen with granite countertops, all appliances- fridge, micro, stove, washer/dryer. Two big HD tv's. There's a rooftop pool with a bar- which we didn't use.

Service was impeccable. Room service quick, affordable and edible. Rooms were cleaned often and without intrusion.

On Sunday, we asked for a recommendation for a local church - the concierge offered to supply to have someone drive us. When we stepped out front we found a Jaguar sedan waiting. The driver said he would be waiting for us when the service was finished, but sadly could not guarantee the car would be the same. It wasn't. we had to settle for a Mercedes SUV.

Everything about Cape Royale is 5 star. We have only the highest words of praise.

Unfortunately, I don't know exactly the price as it was part of a Friendly Planet tour of south africa. But, if you're looking for a wonderful place to stay, check it out.

Room Tip: Our suite had four balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

This Hotel is one of the properties build to suit the 2010 Soccer Championships - so the Hotel is almost next to the GreenPoint Stadium.
The Rooms are nice an Big - but Loud - Verify on Check-In where you Bedroom is located.
Houskeeping is extremly loud - and they start around 06:30.
The Doors a not soundsealed nor selflocking.
So you wake up every morning to the sound of throwing doors and vakuums.
Most rooms are equipped with kitchenette and washing maschine.

Be careful on checkout as they try to charge an additional day for Late-Checkouts (+1hr) or even charge you after your departure (happended to me :((

There are better places in CapeTown.

Room Tip: Sleeping room away from room door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAM99LosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the Cape Royale in January and thought it was perfect for our needs. The suites are huge and had full kitchen facilities which we did not use but which were a nice touch. The hotel is very clean and comfortable and the staff was as friendly as could be. We liked the fact that the hotel is near the waterfront, and an easy walk to it, but not right on it so you do not have the noise and crowds to contend with. Breakfasts were delicious as well. It's a great place to stay and we would return there happily next time we are in Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our suite couldn't have been more perfect. It was huge. The kitchen was great. The rooms were tastefully decorated. Sort of traditional/contemporary. We could walk to the waterfront. Reasonably safe. Helpful concierge. The hotel was decorated nicely for Christmas. Not over the top. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Without a doubt one of the best hotels I have ever been to. The service was excellent. The room was beautiful and specious. Their Spa was out of this world. Everything about the hotel was excellent.

We will definitely be staying there again soon.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the Club downstairs. Its gets a bit noisy in the early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tshepo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.3 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing