We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Royal Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Ranked #33 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Royal Experience”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hotel is most certainly, without doubt, the best hotel in the World! On arrival we were treated like royalty and throughout our stay everybody was accommodating and friendly. The suites are to die for and the staff give a little extra to make your stay as memorable as possible.

Room Tip: A room overlooking Table Mountain is the type of room you would not want to leave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    329
    147
    42
    53
See reviews for
535
488
38
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

What a fabulous experience. The staff are warm and friendly, hospitable and extremely helpful. From when you walk the red carpet to when you leave you feel like royalty!
Thank you for a truly memorable weekend.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Very well made rooms with ample space for sitting & dining. Located just a stones throw away from the famous shopping area the Victoria & Alfred waterfront. Close proximity to the beaches. Has housed a great night club. Very good spread of breakfast that being the only meal that I was having at the hotel cos for the rest was out. Courteous staff. Lil expensive but worth the money spent.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aashish-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

I have never stayed anywhere where all the staff seemed to know my name and address me by it though they did start off by calling me "Lady ....." which I thought was very weird and asked them not to do it! Oh and they don't need to wash all the towels every day or leave all the lights on - such a waste.

All the staff were wonderful especially Grace in the restaurant, Bush in the gym and James the doorman. The room was actually a two double bedroomed flat with fully equipped kitchen and lovely en-suite bath and shower rooms. The hotel is centrally situated in Cape Town within walking distance of the city centre and only 5 minutes from the Waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maplehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Suites only Cape royale is a luxurious hotel offering lage and very well appointed appartments over 6 floors (or 5 ?). It’s a big big grey building on Main street, opposite the Capetown world cup stadium and a 15 minute of slow walk to the V&A waterfront. Early november this year, their « one room suites », in fact the smallest units, cost more than 350 euro a night inclusive of all taxes and service.

We like :
-Luxuriously appointed room with everything, and more, most of travellers on a leisure or a business trip may need. Daily serviced, of course. Reliable wifi for as many laps as you want. Our room 414 looks to the back of the hotel, the front units surely offers front view over the stadium, but charge pretty more for this extra view.
-Soft and comfortable bed
-Nice but shower only bathroom. We’re no queens or kings, but at 350 euros over a night…
-The Cape Royal is away from the city center and its location is a plus, or not, depends on what people look for. Capetown is small enough one can walk to any part of the city with no problem. Beside, the Myciti bus stop is exactly in front of the hotel.
-Safe area at anytime, day or night.

Did not like :
-Ther is NO WAY to sleep in the dark as only the room has window blinds. But as it has no door, it is totally opened to the living room, where windows have no blinds. So lights comes with the day. It is wise to check if this is important to you.
-The SO AND TOTALLY STUPID classic drop your key when you go and beg for it when you’re back. Most of the time, the front desk promptly hands it to you, but at times, you can wait ages when a large group checks in.

This happened to us :
-The safe box protected all our belongings and gave only 3 chances to open it once closed. But ours did not open even with the right password. In fact it was out of order. So it took 1 hour for the maintenance to try to open it, at 11 PM over, and eventually failed. So they extracted (yes with a hammer) it from the wall and brought it away, then came back with our belongings. Conclusion : the safe is very safe and the staff is absolutely devoted to customers. But do they have a choice ? By the next day, the same looking safe box came back. But we did not use it again.
-Still don’t understand how the air conditioning works and how to turn totally the living room lights off.

Tips :
-Myciti bus stop STADIUM is in front of the hotel. It costs a mere 5 rands to reach any station of the line, the railway station included. And you can even reach the airport with a connection at the civic centre. Every 10 minutes during rush hours, 20 between and 30 early or late.
-Don’t forget to catch a local train to simon’s town, you’ll travel like you’d have in deep africa with true and smiling africans, and rolling along the coast, unforgettable to train lovers. 10 rands, first class.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEEPfromPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Staff are what make the Cape Royale wonderful. My wife and I stayed at the Cape Royale for 2 weeks. My Wife was there on Business and I was on Holiday. During that time we had an opportunity to experience the all of the amenities of the Hotel. Everything was was prefect. However, what sets this hotel apart from other very nice Hotels is the staff, all of the staff. The Concierge, Butler, Travel and Restaurant staff made our visit wonderful and responded in a friendly and efferent manner our every request. The Housekeeping staff were also excellent. After two week there we truly thought of the Cape Royal as our home. We can not wait to return. It was the perfect place to experience the beauty, grace and charm of Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed there last month, Rooms were very big, had all facilities..well located, they give free shuttle service for waterfront...only bad was breakfast...Wifi was working, all big shops are near, only drawback is that it is very far from airport and casino

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prakashjaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,704 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,506 reviews
0.2 mi away
One&Only Cape Town
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Table Bay Hotel
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Royale Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Royale Luxury Hotel

Property: Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Address: 47 Main Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#36 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Royale Luxury Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury 5-star hotel is located in central Green Point, just a 10-minute walk from Cape Town Stadium and the V&A Waterfront. It offers bright rooms with free capped Wi-Fi, a rooftop pool and gym. Cape Royale Luxury Hotel features spacious suites with a Juliet balcony and includes a well-equipped kitchen, large living and entertainment areas. All rooms have a flat-screen satellite TV, a CD and DVD Player. Guests of the luxury Cape Royale have a choice between 5 dining options including a pool bar offering views of Cape Town Harbour and Table Mountain, as well as a modern gym featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment. Cape Royale's concierge can offer suggestions on local activities and can arrange a complimentary shuttle service that can transport guests within a 5 km radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Royale Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Royale Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Royale
Hotel Cape Town
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing