We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,608)
Filter reviews
1,608 results
Traveler rating
967
360
161
49
71
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
967
360
161
49
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslord and ladybedroom suiteluxury hotelwasher dryerrooftop barfull kitchentravel deskgreen pointbeautiful hotelcoffee machineliving areashuttle serviceour honeymoonself cateringbreakfast was includedwaterfront areafour nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,192 - 1,197 of 1,608 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Just 10 minutes walk from the heart of the Waterfront, this modern boutique hotel offers the intimacy of a smaller hotel yet has all the amentities of a larger one. The concierges were always available to offer assistance and a travel desk will assist you with booking plans while in South Africa. Especially loved our Suite! 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a complete kitchen with a compact washer/dryer. This hotel was patterned after a castle in France. Especially enjoyed the outdoor cafe and restaurant where we enjoyed a complete array of fresh baked breakfast goodies, omelets, fruits, etc. every morning. Our rooms were quiet with great internet access. Was able to use my Skype account to make call back to the USA with no problems. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

After a week here I can happily recommend the Cape Royale. It is located on the Fan Walk, walking distance to the Waterfront, and stadium. They provide a super free car service as well. I had a regular suite on the 7th floor towards to rear - no issues at all with noise. Comes with kitchette (stove top, microwave, toaster, fridge-freezer, washer dryer, coffe/tea makers). Nice large bathroom (shower, but no bath if that is important to you), and plenty of storage space. The rooms are spacious, but if you are looking for a classic bedroom suite with a separate door, check before booking - this one was not completely separate, but that posed no problems for us. Parking available. Free wi-fi - although it was a bit patchy at times.

High marks for reception and concierge staff who were always ready to help with recommendations, booking and general problems sorting. .

Room Tip: upper floor to avoid any noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susans_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Cape Royale was a hotel we stayed in after a week of Kruger and Shiduli Safari. It provided exactly what we needed: beautiful suite with full kitchen and laundry machine. Location is within walking distance to the Waterfront. We could walked there, but hotel provided free shuttle to take or pick you up from reastaurant ot pretty much any other place in town. Breakfast was included, restauirant moderately expensive, food was great!
Unfortunately we had a problem with a maid service, our suite was not well equipped with clean towels, bath rug, toilet paper, snacks. Every day it was repeteadly the same, we had to call to the front desk to get it fixed. When we moved in, AC was broken, it took 2 days to get a maintenence person to fix it. If not this I would rate it excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olenchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

I diffinitly recomend this hotel to everyone. The best Service ever which you can't get from a 7 stras hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff, spacious and clean rooms, best location 10 min walk to waterfront, free shuttle service to near by areas. we had a very pleasent & relaxing stay :)
Faysal

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faysal T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here as part of tour of South Africa and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The suite was fantastic and the service throughout the hotel was exceptional, from the doorman with his top hat to Grace in the dining room at breakfast. We also loved our fillets at the 1800 restaurant, one of the best ever. The view from the rooftop was gorgeous, by day or by night. Very close to the V&A waterfront, but appreciated the hotel's shuttle service. Would suggest to a previous reviewer who was robbed that perhaps it happened at the airport and not at the Cape Royale? Also to IschiahereIcome, so sorry we never got to say goodbye to you, so hope you read this!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njbeachbum56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews