We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Cape Town”
Review of Cape Diem Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Diem Lodge
Ranked #37 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location close to the V&A waterfront, beautiful décor, free Wifi, large and clean rooms, coffee machine in the room, great breakfast to start the day and the personal attention by Alexandra and her staff. Would recommend highly. Below the Table mountain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidColinMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you so much to both of you for your wonderful comments!

We are so happy that you had a wonderful time with us.

We certainly would like to see you again in the future and wish you lots of happiness and sunny days back home in Malta.

Warm regards from the Cape Diem Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 242 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our first 5 nights in Africa were spent at this charming hotel. Not only was it well placed just an easy walk from the Waterfront but it was a home away from home. Friendly staff, clean rooms, superb decor, excellent breakfast, tea and coffee anytime. We hired a car which we could park outside with ease.
Alexandra and Daniel were amazingly helpful and it was hard to say goodbye. Excellent value for money so we would recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms and the owners selected the last on the laft as you walk in. This was excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

To our Australian friends,

thank you very much for your review !

We really enjoyed your company and hope that you had a very special time with the guerrillas after your stay with us!

We would like to welcome you back any time.

Warm regards

The Cape Diem Lodge Management and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Good breakfast, very good location: a few minutes from the Waterfront and close to the Table Mountain! Very nice and helpful staff members! I would recommend this hotel for sure! Also free wifi!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBalbach, Owner at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your review!

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that in the future we can book your stay longer....

Kind regards

Your Cape Diem Lodge Team and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed at the Cape Diem Lodge for two nights and found it a lovely, quiet hotel in a very good location. 15 minutes walk got you to the Waterfront and an equally simple walk took you into the city centre. Parking was very easy opposite the hotel and although just off the main road there was very little noise. The interior of the hotel was well appointed and had a welcoming & homely atmosphere. The rooms were equally lovely with plenty of space and everything you'd need.
Breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of self serve options plus a choice of something cooked if required. The staff were attentive, friendly and chatty and made my stay very enjoyable. The garden and pool were kept immaculate which was a lovely outlook when having breakfast.
I would stay here again without hesitation :)

Room Tip: One or maybe two of the rooms overlook the garden and patio where breakfast is served. If you plan o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timcr005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have mixed feelings because while it is a very modern guest house in a decent area, I wasn't totally comfortable there. It is a converted house which is wonderful, but I didn't feel I had much privacy as sounds carried easily.

I had a good experience where I accidentally left something behind in my room and Daniel made sure it got delivered to me as soon as humanly possibly at one of my next stops. however, I had a bad experience as well.

The manager was to give me a ride to the airport for an 8 AM flight on the day I left. I mentioned several times both the night before and the morning of my departure to the manager and staff members that I had this flight as I was concerned about the manager not even arriving at work until between 7-7:15 AM and I was worried that I wouldn't have enough time. I even mentioned that here in the USA it is standard policy to be at the airport an hour before a domestic flight. Everyone said not to worry and that I would have plenty of time.

My worst fear was realized as we didn't even leave the guest house until 7:15 AM. I got to the airport to find they had closed the gate and I was too late to take my flight. After paying a change ticket fee, they found me a seat on a flight an hour and a half later. Fortunately the rest of my birthday worked out okay, but I was very upset because I had done my best to avoid missing my flight and still did so.

If I ever stay here again, I would make outside arrangements to ensure I get to the airport on time. The breakfast was nice with a great range of offerngs The option of bathtub or shower was nice also.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBalbach, Manager at Cape Diem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you for your review !

We apologize sincerely with regards to the missed flight .

We offer transfers to and from the airport and always make sure that our guests are picked up and dropped off timeously.

There was a big misunderstanding with your flight and we are truly sorry for you to have missed your flight on your birthday.

Should you come back to Cape Town and to Cape Diem Lodge, we will be 200% sure that you receive on-time, complementary transfers on us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This guest house is very well located because on the one hand it's in a quiet street and on the other hand close to the Waterfront and the City Center.
The staff is extraordinarily friendly and helpful in giving advise or recommendations.
The interior of the Lodge is very classy and you can definitely see that Daniel (owner) put a lot of effort in creating this house into a cosy and homey place!
I would definitely come back to this wonderful Lodge and recommend it without limitation!

Room Tip: Let them reserve a table for you at "Beluga restaurant" which is in walking distance. Grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Very modern and tidy rooms, bathroom and bedroom connected as one, DVD player with lots of movies to choose from!
Excellent service.
The pool is nice. The location is very good, close to restaurants, pubs, the lighthouse and the V&A waterfront. Small and quiet street with no disturbances. Close to the Green Point Park.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimiSegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
0.2 mi away
Sugar Hotel & Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa
#59 of 110 in Cape Town Central
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
The Tree House Boutique Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Dysart Boutique Hotel
#18 of 110 in Cape Town Central
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Colona Castle
Colona Castle
#1 of 1 in Lakeside
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
Villa Zest Boutique Hotel
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Diem Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diem Lodge

Address: 11 Vesperdene Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $145 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cape Diem Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don’t expect the ordinary…”better sleeping, better relaxing, better eating – better Cape Diem LODGE!” In our brand new and stylish Cape Diem LODGE you’ll find victorian charm, mixed with an award winning european interior design and all of that in the heart of vibrant Cape Town. Let us free you from the normal hotel stress. Our fresh, host and easy team wants to treat you like friends and as such, you will be sure to come. The house represents one of the first Farm Houses in Greenpoint, dating back to early 1875, equipped with the latest of modern interior, set in a beautifully landscaped garden with a sparkling pool and a Teak wood sundeck, where you’ll enjoy your rich english breakfast in the morning. It is gently attached to the lower slopes of Signal Hill, overlooking the Bay, Blouwberg Strand, Robben Island and the VA Waterfront and only minutes away from the cities major attractions.Our idea to “relaunche” and converte this victorian jewel from early 1900, in one of Cape Towns most thought after positions, into a luxurious meeting point for friends from around the world, came with a blink of an eye. The complete restoration in 2007/2008 was taking us several month and carried out with the greatest care to details. Influences of old and new, local and global, come together in playful harmony. Our motto: contemporary design in historical surroundings!In the heart of the house, you’ll be able to relax in our cosy and elegant lounge. Enjoy a book and a glas of exquisit south african wine or lay back in front of our open fire place during the winter.Our perfectly appointed rooms are offered in Classic or Superior. The interior is inspired by the new generation of young south african designers. Light and characterised by innumerable details, as well as kingsized beds, innovative bathrooms, state of the art self controled cooling & heating system, LCD Flatscreen TV’s & DVD’s and a fully loaded minibar including south african wines and champagne. Our complimentary wireless Lan internet connection does not only cater our friends on business, but may be enjoyed by everyone. Furthermore, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a CD sound experience, an Nespresso Coffee station, self dial telephones, digital safe, hair dryer, bathrobes + slippers, luxury bath ameneties, shower & bath and so much more… Why not trying out our pillow menu? Challenge us – what more can we get you?We also would like to offer you a personal, secure and hassle free pick-up in a luxury SUV from or to the Airport to the Cape Diem LODGE at a total of only R 450,- for 2 guests/per way. We only ask you for an early reservation and your exact flight details – leave the rest to us!We wish you already today the best possible trip to Cape Town and a very pleasant stay at your Cape Diem Lodge.Warm regards from Cape Town,Your Cape Diem LODGE Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Cape Diem Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Diem Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing