We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice evening at Aubergine”
Review of Aubergine

Aubergine
Ranked #70 of 1,155 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice evening at Aubergine”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

The restaurant is pretty small and we were seated in a small area passed the bar. At first, it seemed fine as there were no other guests. However, once other guests arrived it felt a little cramped and I would have preferred to sit in the main dining area. The service was good except for the bar tender who didn't seem friendly or wanting to serve us. The food was very good as well. Service is so much a part of the dining experience and for that reason, I prefer Bombay Brasserie to Aubergine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PKS215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    145
    81
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A True Fine Dining Experience”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

A well appointed restaurant tucked away below Gardens. There is lengthy of parking at night. The service is excellent and the staff are welcoming. We had a few problems obtaining the rose wine we ordered the first bottle was not available and the second choice warm. We were given a couple of complimentary glasses whilst our bottle was chilled. The menu has some interesting options including a set menu. The pricing was at a level associated with fine dining - over R100 for a starter and R230 a main. None of us felt hungry enough to have a starter in addition to the complimentary breads and tiny appetizer . We all ordered different meals : Angel fish with a squid sauce; ostrich; sirloin; and rack of lamb. The food was excellently presented , tasty and the portions typically fine dining small. Definitely a restaurant for foodies and not for hearty eaters. Well worth a visit if you consider yourself a foodie and want a real fine dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“v nice”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

been to aubergine many times and it never fails to live up to expectations
foood is well prepared , modern and thoughtful
service is professional and friendly
wine list is huge and the sommeliers are v knowledgable
i had the potato ravioli starter which was v good
the tomato and burrata as a main course was light and simple
the chocolate assiette was excellent
doesn't disappoint!
the service on our second visit of this vacation was slow however due to a large party

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whoopsidoneitagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, UK
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Vegetarian treat”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our last night in South Africa at the end of 3 weeks touring and restaurants every night, so we wanted something special.
We booked here for the 5 course tasting menu - one 'ordinary' with matched wine and one vegetarian. This gets a plus point to start as this is rarely offered. Before I get onto the food, the slight disappointment was the service. We were a little early for our table (although it was ready) and were offered to sit at the bar for a drink which we accepted. It then seemed we were forgotten and had to ask to be taken to the table. Things started well but we had far too long a wait between one of our courses and the wine always arrived far in advance of the food. Whilst waiting for the food of course the wine starts to disappear leaving less to enjoy when it appears. It was also obvious that some other tables were experiencing delays. It was a busy Thursday evening and difficult to tell if the problem was in the kitchen or front of house. Probably both as there was a lack of timing coordination and front of house seemed unaware of building issues.
The food.
Both the meaty and non were very good to excellent at each course with special mention for the springbok venison steak. The cheese was served well ie not straight from the fridge and the chocolate fondant perfect. Whilst the vegetarian dishes didn't wow me, they were all tasty, well presented and above all different to the normal veggie offerings. My credit to the chef for putting forward both meat and non menus.
The chef came out to talk to us as we waiting for our taxi which was appreciated and we hope he did well in big cycle event the next day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“very creative, excellent adress in cape twon”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

during our 3 month stay in CT we were regular guests in the aubergine. a very creative and weekly changing lunch menue card, was one of the reasons. i would rate the restaurant at 15 to 16 points (of 20) gault-millau and its for sure one of the top 3 in CT. very forcomming and friendly service. if you like chocolate, i was very surprised, where the chef got this high quality chocalote from to turn this into some excellent desserts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedrowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Aubergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing