We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian treat”
Review of Aubergine

Aubergine
Ranked #74 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Isle of Wight, UK
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Vegetarian treat”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Our last night in South Africa at the end of 3 weeks touring and restaurants every night, so we wanted something special.
We booked here for the 5 course tasting menu - one 'ordinary' with matched wine and one vegetarian. This gets a plus point to start as this is rarely offered. Before I get onto the food, the slight disappointment was the service. We were a little early for our table (although it was ready) and were offered to sit at the bar for a drink which we accepted. It then seemed we were forgotten and had to ask to be taken to the table. Things started well but we had far too long a wait between one of our courses and the wine always arrived far in advance of the food. Whilst waiting for the food of course the wine starts to disappear leaving less to enjoy when it appears. It was also obvious that some other tables were experiencing delays. It was a busy Thursday evening and difficult to tell if the problem was in the kitchen or front of house. Probably both as there was a lack of timing coordination and front of house seemed unaware of building issues.
The food.
Both the meaty and non were very good to excellent at each course with special mention for the springbok venison steak. The cheese was served well ie not straight from the fridge and the chocolate fondant perfect. Whilst the vegetarian dishes didn't wow me, they were all tasty, well presented and above all different to the normal veggie offerings. My credit to the chef for putting forward both meat and non menus.
The chef came out to talk to us as we waiting for our taxi which was appreciated and we hope he did well in big cycle event the next day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gardengel-IoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    146
    82
    51
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“very creative, excellent adress in cape twon”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

during our 3 month stay in CT we were regular guests in the aubergine. a very creative and weekly changing lunch menue card, was one of the reasons. i would rate the restaurant at 15 to 16 points (of 20) gault-millau and its for sure one of the top 3 in CT. very forcomming and friendly service. if you like chocolate, i was very surprised, where the chef got this high quality chocalote from to turn this into some excellent desserts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pedrowei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Charming and Tasty!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Aubergine is a charming restaurant with an interesting menu. Our hotel had reserved a table for us, and it was ready when we arrived. The dining area, comprising a total of perhaps 15 tables, is split between the main floor and an upper loggia. The decor is minimalistic yet interesting and chic. The service is professional and friendly. The appetizers, oysters, were tasty and fresh, but the potato ravioli a bit bland. The main courses were delicious; a wonderful pigeon prepared in a red wine sauce and served with a perfectly cooked risotto; and a seared tuna elegantly served with a wild rice egg roll. The waitstaff was very attentive to our needs. Unfortunately, we had no room left for desserts! I guess we'll have to return! A delightful evening.

Helpful?
Thank Henri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Can it be better than this? Hardly.”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We are really spoilt in South Africa with the abundance of excellent restaurants to choose from. Tonight we chose Aubergine because friends had recommended it to us. And we were not disappointed. German Chef Harald Bresselschmidt does and excellent job and surprised us with every course. The winelist is impressive and sommelier Khuselo Mputa's knowledge and taste equals the length and beauty of his exotic hairdo. Thanks to the both of them and the rest of the excellent Staff for an unforgettable evening.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Featherfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not to the expectaion”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Ambience was good. Service was very slow. First too courses got really late to come on the table probably because restaurant was busy. Food was nice but our expectations were a bit higher.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eema S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aubergine also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Aubergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing