We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful guest house in Capetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cheviot Place Guest House
Ranked #30 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Most beautiful guest house in Capetown”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Cheviot Place Guest House is THE perfect Bed & Breakfast in Capetown. Don't look anywhere else !! An adorable Victorian house located in Greenpoint, walking distance to the V & A Waterfront, Signal Hill and multiple restaurants. James, the owner of this beautiful place, makes you feel at home from the very first moment. He is an amazing host who goes above and beyond with personalized tips and recommendations. Anything goes - from beach towels to fully equipped picknick hamper and blanket, restaurant reservations etc. ....not to mention the super-delicious breakfasts and wonderful rooms. Thanks again James - I simply love your place !

Room Tip: All rooms are beautifully decorated. The Sea Loft certainly has the best view and even its own littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
84
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wheathampstead,
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is an really good stay, the proprietor, James, goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.
Within easy reach of the Victoria and Alfred waterfront and restaurants it is ideal.
Need information, just ask James, his restaurant recommendations were first class, he even booked them for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jomar70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

What a great place!
Perfect located near in Green Point near the Football Stadium of the World Cup 2010. A beautiful renovated victorian house with a lovely atmosphere and James as perfect host. We got so many tips and help - unbelievable. Thanks a lot! The trip to the Cape of Good Hope with the "Tourist Radio" converter has been great with all these information. The house is perfectly clean and quite, Very good breakfast with five variations.
James has been with distance the most enthusiastic host on our trip and made the final days at Cap Town an absolut highlight. Cap Town at it's best!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joerg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

If you read this and the folowing reports, you will notice that the words "feeling at home" and "amazing host and hospitality" are mentioned by all. We spent 3 nights with 4 friends and adored this place. The owner is super caring and attentive, the place is lovely- perfect stay!!!! we recommand it without hesitation!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Four friends and I visited Cheviot a week ago and we loved it! We were very well looked after by the manager and his family and they made us feel right at home. The rooms were charming and clean and the breakfasts were delicious! We were advised on where to go and what to see as soon as we arrived and were treated to an ice cold beer! We were sad to leave and would definitely return if we decide to visit Cape Town again. Couldn't recommend this place any stronger!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Thank you james, steph and I loved your guest house, enthusiasm, recommendations and help with anything we needed during our stay.
We stayed for three weeks over christmas in the mountain loft room, had a seriously excellent breakfast every morning and could park directly on the street in front of the guest house. The room was very quiet at night, very modern fit out with a super comfortable bed.
James recommended fantastic restaurants, had a massive smile every morning and helped us find many places we otherwise would have missed exploring cape town.
Excellent guest house, excellent host, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a couple of nights on our arrival into Cape Town and felt at home straight away after a beer and chat with our host James who was friendly, knowledgable and helpful. Great location, lovely breakfast and comfy rooms. Definitely recommend!

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 155 in Cape Town Central
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#29 of 155 in Cape Town Central
270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kingslyn Guesthouse
Kingslyn Guesthouse
#25 of 155 in Cape Town Central
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#14 of 155 in Cape Town Central
572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cape Diem Lodge
Cape Diem Lodge
#37 of 155 in Cape Town Central
239 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rouge on Rose
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 155 in Cape Town Central
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheviot Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheviot Place Guest House

Property: Cheviot Place Guest House
Address: 18 Cheviot Place | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cheviot Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cheviot Place Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing