We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I stayed here for work, and really didn't have any special expectations, apart from business functionality. But this was SO much more! Actually, I can't fault the place for anything.
It's pretty with great attention having been paid to every detail. And as opposed to most places, the sleek design is not accompanied with a coolness in the service - the welcome was warm, forthcoming and throughout the stay consistently offering a little bit more than expected.
Room: nice, pretty, comfy bed, good quality bed linnen, nice duvets, etc.
Wifi is complementary, which I've found is not always the case in SA.
And then, when I was already totally in favour of the place, there comes the breakfast of breakfasts.

My only regret is that I was there for work and not for a romantic weekend. And that I was only there for one night. Because it's not a place you want to leave!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adfresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    109
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
67
564
105
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Just back from our stay at The Glen!!! We have been together for 16 years and this holiday was our best ever. We were in CT 8 years ago and we loved it then, this time we fell in love all over again! Cape Town has lots of offer, GREAT food, FABULOUS wine, AMAZING service and BEAUTIFUL people all of which made our holiday memorable. A huge part of this holiday being so special was down to this hotel. Which offered everything. Words simply can't do our experience justice. The hotel is stunning, the staff friendly, discrete and welcoming, the facilities are top class, the rooms are an excellent size, clean, well decorated and luxurious. The attention to details is outstanding! The guest are happy to chat with you and with locals being welcomed to use the facilities, you get a nice mix of people to hang by the pool. My personal favourite was one sat night, talking two Lize-Marie and Chris who ended up having dinner with us (still friends)... I especially loved the cocktails, the margaritas by the pool - they were the best I ever had! The staff have become friends and we felt like part of a family on leaving. Thank you guys for everything! We will be back in October! ;-) Sham & James xx

Room Tip: Just book it! You WILL not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_shambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights on our first visit to Cape Town, Location is brilliant, Sea Point is somewhat a silent place but still close to down town,
The hotel is close to the main road within 5 mins waik which has lots of nice restaurants, La Bohome was the one where we had dinner twice.
Breakfast buffet is perfect and delicious with a wide range of choice.
Hotel staff are great, friendly and smiley, Mark and his teams are professional, expecially Ferdrich, who helped us to arrange almost all the local tours booking and transport, abseiling, skydiving, biking, all are wonderful and amazing! Super thanks to Fredrich! there is no doubt that
the Glem's team give their great effort to make the hotel the best!
I would highly recommend this hotel to others! Next time must stay longer, enjoy the swimming pool and sunshine!

Raymond and Lucina
Hong Kong

Room Tip: we lived in Room 20, after parked your car in the garage, just take the lift to your room directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuluguluRaymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We heard about The Glen from a friend. We stayed there for 4 nights and also hired a car from them (which was the best decision we made on our trip!). If SeaPoint is the heart of Cape Town then The Glen is surely the heartbeat. From booking to our last day of stay the Glen team was absolutely helpful, friendly and have done everything to make our stay a nice one. Phil, Marc, Fredrich, Siya, Doudou and all the others that I could not remember the name have always come forward to know what we want to do, whats our plan and then gave us the best suggestion.

The rooms are very clean and cozy, the atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. The place is close to (max 5 mins walk) the main road which has lots of nice eateries/cafes to meet all kinds of taste. Its also close to a MyCiti bus stop if anyone needs it. We felt the area is very safe and we walked around late in the night. Last but not the least, the foods in the Glen (both breakfasts and dinner) were absolutely delicious, it was very clear that they have given their effort to make it the best!

Abu Bakar is the guide who picked us from airport and also took us to the wine tour. He is a nice guy with a very good sense of humour. It was fun to have him drive us around and give us the stories of the place.

Finally thanks to entire Glen team and we will surely come back to stay with you. We highly recommend this to others too.

Room Tip: Tell the glen team what you want and leave it to them to suggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rofiqul_Rana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The Glen Boutique Hotel possesses a warm and comforting ambience that was felt the moment I stepped in. My friends and I were charmingly welcomed by each member of the staff - exuding an excellent level of effortless customer service. The hotel owner personally engaged with each of his guests and projected an open and friendly demeanour. Our expectations were continually surpassed. When entering our lavish yet peaceful rooms - nothing was short of supply - and if we required an additional service the staff eagerly tended to our needs. Not forgetting to mention the free upgrade as well as complimentary dinner vouchers for a three course meal we received upon our departure. The rates was at reasonable cost - but the service proved this to be a bargain. To Mark and his team - well done in creating such a magnificent and soothing environment. Mark, your support and understanding of each staff member is a winning formula! This hotel is highly recommended - as an overnight or longer vacation stay.

Rufqah & Yaseen

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are more spacious and private Special request for using the jacuzzi after hours should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rufqah_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 13 nights towards the end of March, officially in Cape Town for a wedding but also making it a first time trip to South Africa as well.

We chose the Glen from recommendations from lots of people and the amazing reviews predominantly from tripadvisor. The hotel certainly lived up to its expectations and can highly recommend it.

We were given room 16 which was directly onto the pool, this has it's advantages and disadvantages. Can suffer from noise pollution when the kitchen starts clanging about from around 5am which is next door, and the emptying/filling of the jacuzzi. However if you want to be in the thick of things going on in the hotel then it's perfect which is what we wanted really. Be warned, room 16 has sun shining on it most of the day and you will find other guests have pitched up with their towels from early morning almost blocking access to your rooms at times. This may be negated if you get there first and guard the sun beds with your life. The rooms were beautifully decorated, light and airy, air con very quiet, luxury shower gels and shampoo etc, I could go on and on! We had a massive issue with wifi, in essence there was no wifi which was hugely inconvenient as I was trying to make contact with family back home urgently (apparently the wifi was down but would be back up and running which was true, it worked for 1 day and then the following day it went again. Several attempts to reception to resolve the matter was made along with several different ways of trying to get it to work but to no avail). For me, if you advertise your hotel as having wifi, there really should be wifi. Needless to say we had to go and pay for SA SIM cards and data etc just so we could make contact with family back home which I needed to do unfortunately.

Breakfast was amazing in the sunshine everyday. Lovely staff serving you and they never looked too cross when we just about made it to breakfast before the buffet/hot breakfast stopped serving! Although the choice and quality was amazing, I did find the hot breakfast portions on the small side (don't get me wrong, there's lots more choice to fill you up) but we did eat out for breakfast on a few occasions and you notice the difference. However, very enjoyable all the same.

The spa would have been a welcome relief during days of bad weather but it only seems to be in operation after 6pm until 11pm (approx) which were times when we were always out for dinner or drinks etc so never got to enjoy it. We did try around 8pm one evening but the sauna and steam room were barely warm and the jacuzzi only half filled up. We did report it immediately but not sure of the outcome.

We were very lucky indeed to have an upgrade on the hotel's hire car. We used the Megane for the whole 13 days and it was so easy to drive and comfortable it was a shame to give it back. There are other cars to choose from but parking seemed to be a little tight in the car park during our stay, but parking in the street was fine for us.

The hotel is based in Seapoint which has some great restaurants and is easy to get to the V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay etc. The hotel had just launched their own restaurant which we never got to try out unfortunately.

We did check our invoice upon departure and there were several errors for some fairly lager amounts please do check this - although I'm sure they were genuine mistakes and were dealt with very quickly.

All in all, a great hotel and lovely staff. We were comfortable the whole time and having the boutique feel to the place really does give the place that special touch. I would give The Glen the full 5 stars but the spa being slightly disappointing and no wifi for 12 days out of the 13 days we stayed I can't give it my full marks.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeScottRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed in the Glen for 3 nights in March and it really was the best I've ever experienced in Cape Town. The staff were excellent without being intrusive, bar was well stocked. Rooms were cleaned to the highest standard. I would 200% recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kornaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing