We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 108 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Recently stayed at The Glen Hotel, Cape Town. Beautiful hotel, very clean, big rooms. No major downside apart from some roudy 'day visitors' who were loud, brash and very annoying. The pool area was superb!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    111
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
69
573
105
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great service exceeding my expectations, helpful and friendly team, spacious rooms, excellent choice of breakfast buffet and a la carte, the walk through the pool area to reach the annex fell like you are in oasis, what else can I say, definitely I will come again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGlont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

My favourite boutique hotel in Cape Tonw, received by the usual warm welcome by a incredible team, this is my third stay and counting, one of the best hotel breakfast I have encountered, stylish decorated rooms and great outdoor area a oasis in Sea Point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

From the moment I arrived I was made to feel very welcome. Staying here really felt like home from home, except a bit more luxurious! While the hotel is beautiful and spotless, the experience is made by the staff. Philip, Arnold and Clara and many others made me feel very welcome and were always thoughtful and helpful. Special mention for Bogdan who runs the pool bar. He is a great chef and cocktail maker and great company too. Thanks to everyone at the Glen for a lovely couple of days.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Fun hotel located in Seapoint with modern rooms, nice pool and sauna facilities. Room included ample space and very comfortable beds. The hotels provides a number of secure parking spaces along with an amazing buffet and cook to order breakfast. All of the staff are extremely welcoming and helpful. We would stay at the Glen again without hesitation. Good choice for LGBT Travelers to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SO T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 6 days and have nothing but positive things to say about the great staff and exceptional high levels of service. From our airport collection until the last day of our stay, tour hotel room was cleaned everyday and turndown service done if we were not in the room in the evening ( special note on the chocolates placed on the pillows). No request was too much and found that Phillip, Jean Paul, Rudi, Martinhaus, Bogdan and DD were great hosts for our stay. This has been one of the best hotels I have stayed in for service and the decor had that true boutique feel with each room having its own unique look and feel.

It was my first time in CPT and the Glen just took my trip to another level. If you are thinking about booking then I would suggest book fast and you will not de disappointed by the personal service offered by all of the staff and a great location from which to explore CPT.
PS: My wife and I got to meet the owner while we were there and he was a great host and truly exemplified the great service and excellent hotel layout and feel.

Room Tip: The deluxe room by the pool was excellent but the local birds are pretty loud in the mornings. So if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Breakfast was great, there was a good selection and good coffee. Staff we friendly and helpful. Our room was in the new section of the hotel, you had to walk through the pool area to get to it which I didn't like. Our room was clean and fitted with TV and sound system. But the tea and coffee making facilities were in the cupboard and there was no surface big enough to fit it on. When the room was cleaned, twice they didn't restock or clean the cups. They also did not change the bed once during our three night stay. The cushions were not great either and the bed was too short. They also started playing music right outside our room in the morning all the way through to 11pm. I am sure that if we had complained they would have addressed our issues in a positive way. Reading the reviews, this hotel was not what I expected and I was left dissapointed with my stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenBoutiqueHotel, General Manager at Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to make us aware of the issues raised, it is through such feedback that we are able to rectify, improve and maintain the standards we have set where we seek to exceed guests expectations.

Naturally we were very disappointed that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion.

Regarding the points that you raised. We pride ourselves on using sustainable and renewable energy, all of our hot water uses the latest solar technology to conserve water and electricity.

We change our sheets every third day unless the guest requests a change. All of our beds are king size or larger and are dressed with the highest quality Egyptian cotton.

We have a policy to turn off our background music at 9pm on the terraces and will make sure that this policy is adhered to in the future for the comfort of all of our guests.

Usually we address all complaints raised during the guests stay and as you mentioned, we would have done everything within our power to have addressed your disappointment and meet your expectations.

We would be more than willing to welcome you to return and experience a complimentary stay (6 nights) so that we might exceed your expectations on a future visit.

We trust you will enjoy a future stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Glen Boutique Hotel.

Warm Regards,

Phil Thurston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 108 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 108 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing