We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #8 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So much potential”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I've stayed at the Glen Boutique Hotel on a few occasions now and really like the property. I do however feel that they have recently let themselves down in numerous areas.

The product as a whole is very good, the let downs are mainly down to the inconstancies in the execution of services offered.

Breakfast is included in the room rates, with a good selection of continental fare, and the choice of ordering a hot breakfast. During my stay I ordered same hot breakfast every day. Not once over seven days did I receive the same breakfast. In broad terms it was fine, but streaky bacon the one day, back bacon the next. Sometimes with toast, sometimes without. sometimes the bacon was crispy, sometimes it was hardly cooked.

From the bar it wasn't much better. No consistency in presentation of drink, different glasses, sometimes with ice, sometimes without. sometimes with garnish, sometimes without.

Adjoining the pool is a jacuzzi that is emptied every night, but then only filled at various times the next morning. Sometimes at 8am, sometimes at 12 noon. Inevitable if it only happens at noon, it means who ever is on loungers adjoining the jacuzzi needs to move. In itself, moving is not an issue, but surely things like this should be done at a time when it does not impact your guests.

During my stay the hotel was also used for a wedding. In my opinion, a hotel of this should not host wedding receptions unless the wedding party have booked the whole hotel. The whole of the patio area was used for the wedding party on a Saturday afternoon. Not ideal if you want to spend a relaxing afternoon at your hotels pool. The wedding also seriously effected speed of service from the bar and the kitchen.

The following Saturday, the hotel hosted an annual pre-pride pool party. Great idea, lots of locals in attendance, DJ playing, drinks special, food specials, etc. Unfortunately the bar did not seem prepared for the volume of people. At times there was a 20 minute wait at the bar for drinks. Casual staff, brought in for the day not knowing how to make specific drinks(that were on promotion), the list goes on. Once again, a good idea, with poor execution.

This hotel has the potential to be great, but some serious training needs to be done across all areas of front of house.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TristanI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    113
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
74
583
106
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Glen Hotel as a mini break within a week's holiday to Cape Town. Right from the start, the service was impeccable, with e-mails asking if we wanted pick-up from the airport. On our arrival, we were given welcome drinks and the staff were extremely friendly, despite us rushing to get to Kirstenbosch for the Open Air cinema.

The rooms are clean and a good size, the walk-in shower fantastic and the breakfast was excellent - both continental and cooked (included in booking).

The hotel staff bend over backwards to make sure you have a great stay. From the reception staff to the barman (who makes a mean Negroni despite never having made one before), everyone was very friendly. Special mention has to go to Phil, the manager, who drove us all the way across town to make our dinner reservations as the taxi was delayed. He was personable and friendly, a perfect host.

Overall, a great stay in a lovely boutique hotel. Can't wait to be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
138 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Previously the nicest primarily Gay Hotel I stayed in was the Axel in Barcelona. I have to say that this gay friendly hotel beats even the the Axel. Everything is done first class in terms of the rooms, the friendliness of the staff, the fine made-to-order breakfast (included), and the atmosphere of hotel. The hotel guests were mixed as both m/f and m/m guests, but I would say about 80% were gay during our stay. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone staying in
Cape Town. There is also a spa facility with jacuzzi , steam , sauna and massages that can be boooked. Their staff is also very knowledgeable of making travel arrangements and day tours in and around Cape Town.

Room Tip: There are different grades of rooms. Personally I think the best value is the duluxe where is not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had stayed here a few years ago and were looking forward to our stay here again. Overall we had another enjoyable stay, but felt some of the standards were starting to slip.

We were given a room in the old section, and thankfully all the rooms have been refurbished. So it doesn't make much difference whether you are in the new or old wing. The design of the room was tasteful with thoughtful touches.

The new pool area looks great and perfect for cooling down after a hot day in the sun. Breakfast is delcious with a great selection of pastries, cereals, yoghurt, as well as a cooked breakfast to order.

There does seem to have been a change in some management over the last year and the staff are not as attentive as before. Previously when you sat down at the pool, someone would immediately come out and bring you a fresh towel and offer you a drink, but it seems like you really need to get the attention of staff these days. Also while most of the staff were friendly and helpful, one particular guy seemed like he didn't want to be there. Something that was a bit concerning was that the water in the pool was generally cloudy and also turned green on a couple of the days we were there. Not confident the pool was 100% clean!

Hopefully The Glen can keep up its standards as it's a great property and mostly excellent service!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sxjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

As a solo female traveller, I found this hotel to be incredibly friendly and welcoming. The staff work hard to provide a good service and make sure that everyone is relaxed and comfortable. There is a real personal touch here and a great attention to detail. Even the food (which was excellent) was served in a stylish and charming way which matches the rest of the hotel. It was also refreshing to be away from the hubbub of the V&A Waterfront and closer to Camps Bay which is only about 10 minutes by car. I have recommended this hotel to all of my friends and it is unlikely that I would want to stay anywhere else on a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at The Glen for three nights in January 2013 at the end of our fairly hectic trip to South Africa. I'd had a number of recommendations to stay here and we were blown away with what a stylish, friendly and comfortable place it was.

Our room was beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable, we loved it. The staff and owner were absolutely lovely, we were really made to feel welcome. They were (of course) very knowledgeable about where to go out in Cape Town and gave us some great recommendations.

At the end of the trip, all we really wanted to do was lay in the sun and chill out. The pool area of the Glen is fantastic, superbly designed with plenty of space in the sun and the shade and a really great place to hangout. The hotel also has a great bar area and it is all to easy to sink a bottle of Savvy B (or two) in the sun.

It felt that everyone staying there was really friendly, so a nice vibe when you were at breakfast or by the pool.

Next time we're in Cape Town, this is where we'll be staying, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyOhBoyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

From reservation through to departure, you are cared for as if you are the only guest in the world.

The grounds themselves are immaculately maintained as are the staff in their attentiveness.

You can lounge by the pools (there are 3 separate pools), lounge in other quieter areas, enjoy either of the bar areas, order small and large snacks, linger over breakfast with the day's newspaper, browse the internet either in room (WiFi) or at the central computer, or go for a steam, or simply enjoy your own very well equipped room.

We loved our stay here and will definitely put this at the top of the list when returning to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlendonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,393 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,815 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,998 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
640 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 3 The Glen Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#9 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Sea Point, Cape Town, The Glen Boutique Hotel offers luxurious accommodation in a breathtaking setting. As a non-discriminatory hotel we warmly welcome both straight and gay guests from all over the world. In addition to free WiFi and satellite TV the hotel also offers guests a spa and outdoor pool. The spa includes a spacious steam room, a traditional Swedish sauna and a Jacuzzi. We offer a selection of rooms with different views; some rooms either face the ocean or the mountain, while some open directly onto the pool area. Many of the rooms have their own private balcony. The hotel also offers a luxurious penthouse apartment, which includes restricted elevator access, breathtaking views, a private living and dining room and a double volume bathroom. Guests can enjoy continental or full English breakfasts on the terrace overlooking the pool or at the restaurant, and the a la carte menu provides for round-the-clock informal dining. Fresh juices, teas and coffees are available throughout the day. Easy to find, the Hotel is only 12 miles from Cape Town International Airport with on-site parking as well as an airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Glen Boutique
Glen Boutique Cape Town
Glen Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing