We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”
Review of Cape Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Riviera
Ranked #36 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in Jan this year. The room was a very high standard and breakfast equally good. The manager there was very helpful in recommending resteraunts to us and he made lots of phone calls to book us taxi's etc. We got engaged while there and were surprised with a bottle of champagne in an ice bucket in our room. Very happy stay and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarethEdwards9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Cape Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 216 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights at the begining of December 2011. Having never visited Cape Town before, we had some doubts about staying in a hotel away from the Waterfront, but after taking some expert advice from our travel agent, 2by2 Holidays, we decided to stay here and we were so glad that we did. The hotel is situated in a quiet residential area, but not far from some really great restaurants. To be honest, we only went to the Waterfront on 2 occasions and I was not that impressed with it. It's really just a big shopping mall with chainstore-type shops and eating places. In my opinion, there are so many more interesting things to do and some amazing restaurants to try (Opal Lounge, Five Flies, Societi Bistro) elsewhere in the city. The main building of the hotel is beautifully decorated (colonial/art deco) as was our room, which had a balcony, a superb spacious bathroom, a very comfortable bed and views of both Table Mountain and the City. The breakfast was fantastic. They offer a buffet of cold items and a cooked breakfast, to order, too. All the staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful but the star of the show was Lisa. Her welcome was amazing and her recommendations for activities, restaurants and even her weather forecasts were always spot on. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I shall definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed four nights at the Cape Riviera, which is situated in the Oranjezicht neighbourhood, almost at the foot of Table Mountain. It’s away from all the bustle of the city, which wouldn’t suit everyone, but if you want peace and quiet in Cape Town then it’s great. The hotel can easily arrange a taxi to take you into town and the trip doesn’t take long. On the other hand, if you have your own car and want an early start for Table Mountain, or you want to head off down the Cape Peninsula, then the location is perfect.
We were impressed with the accommodation: behind the colonial style front is a very well appointed modern building. The communal rooms, including lounges and breakfast room are in the older part, and they are full of character. The bedrooms, in the modern part, are spacious and comfortable.
We found the management helpful and considerate in many ways.
We will certainly choose Cape Riviera again if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel completely at home, Christina, Lisa and Owen couldn't do enough for their guests and they have providing 'home from home' down to a fine art. The accommodation is boutique in style and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, clean and the power shower was a wrench to leave. The breakfasts were plentiful and tasty, with cooked breakfasts made to order. The hotel is in a lovely residential area up the slope of Table Mountain so that the front of the property overlooks Cape Town city whilst the back has views of the mountain. Cape Riveria had a lovely relaxed atmosphere and an honesty bar in the lounge. I couldn't have been happier staying here and I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to be comfortable, safe, well looked after and made to feel like they are staying with friends rather than being treated as a paying customer. Congratulations to Owen, Lisa and the team - you have it spot on!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chinbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here for a special birthday holiday and loved it. Christina, Lisa and Owen couldn't do enough for us and we felt completely at home here. A great start to our first South African holiday. The room upgrade was much appreciated as we got to stay in Room 1 which is huge and so beautifully appointed. The shower was the best I've had in SA and the bed was fabulous. Our car was safely garaged at night. Breakfast was fantastic and the location was great - ideal for table mountain, lovely and quiet at night but near enough to restaurants and the City Centre a short cab ride away. Great recommendation for Societi restaurant and it was the service that really elevated this gorgeous place to legendary status for us. Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: Room 1 has pole position at the front of the house and is huge.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatieDuncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Cape Riviera was our first stop during our South African honeymoon. We spent 4 nights here and had a wonderful time from start to finish.

The rooms were very spacious and clean, breakfast was delicious and the location perfect for exploring Cape Town.

Our best memories of staying here will be the warm and friendly staff that went out of their way to make us feel at home. Lisa, the manager was fantastic, she helped us plan our time in Cape Town and made reservations in the most fantastic restaurants for us.

Thank you so much, we will definately return when we visit Cape Town in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daynesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon here - really made us feel special with rose petals on the bed and a bottle of champagne in our room. Reception staff were fantastic - went out of their way to recommend places to eat and things to see as well as booking trips and taxis for us. Room was big and bed comfortable. Only downside was the lack of a safe in the room - once we had left we realised some money had gone missing from my case.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Cape Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Dear Lucy B

We are so glad you had an enjoyable start to your honeymoon.I am deeply saddened by the fact that monies went missing during your travels. We do urge guests to make use of the safe in the office. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. With warm regards Lisa and the team at Cape Riviera.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Rutland Lodge
#49 of 156 in Cape Town Central
209 reviews
City Bowl
Villa Lutzi
Villa Lutzi
#90 of 156 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
City Bowl
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
Redbourne Hilldrop Guesthouse
#33 of 156 in Cape Town Central
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse
#22 of 156 in Cape Town Central
435 reviews
Acorn House
#8 of 156 in Cape Town Central
489 reviews
5 Camp Street Guesthouse & Self-...
#29 of 156 in Cape Town Central
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Riviera

Address: 31 Belvedere Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $100 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cape Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Riviera Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Riviera
Cape Riviera Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing