We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Guest house with amazing staff...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cape Riviera
Ranked #33 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Guest house with amazing staff...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Cape Riviera was our first stop during our South African honeymoon. We spent 4 nights here and had a wonderful time from start to finish.

The rooms were very spacious and clean, breakfast was delicious and the location perfect for exploring Cape Town.

Our best memories of staying here will be the warm and friendly staff that went out of their way to make us feel at home. Lisa, the manager was fantastic, she helped us plan our time in Cape Town and made reservations in the most fantastic restaurants for us.

Thank you so much, we will definately return when we visit Cape Town in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daynesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    57
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
37
108
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon here - really made us feel special with rose petals on the bed and a bottle of champagne in our room. Reception staff were fantastic - went out of their way to recommend places to eat and things to see as well as booking trips and taxis for us. Room was big and bed comfortable. Only downside was the lack of a safe in the room - once we had left we realised some money had gone missing from my case.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa K, Manager at Cape Riviera, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Lucy B

We are so glad you had an enjoyable start to your honeymoon.I am deeply saddened by the fact that monies went missing during your travels. We do urge guests to make use of the safe in the office. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon. With warm regards Lisa and the team at Cape Riviera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Where do we even begin... Cape Riviera became our home away from home in the Western Cape and we will most certainly return. The staff were amazingly accommodating. We initially planned on staying two nights and instead we spent over a week at Riviera. We made Riviera the central focus of our Western Cape visit and ventured forth from here, coming and going.

The beautiful old french house is captivating, warm and feels like home. The sweeping views of Cape Town will capture anyone's attention and were excellent for a sundowner :) The rooms were immaculate, beds comfortable, showers brilliant. We even had our beds turned down and chocolates on our pillows when we returned from evening outs. The incredible breakfast spread will have you drooling before you hit the pillow the evening before... we just can't say enough about the place, location, staff and our stay. It's fair to say we developed a serious crush on Cape Riviera ;)

We'd like to thank Owen, Lisa and Miranda and all the rest of the staff for making our stay such an unforgettable experience. This is hospitality at its best and it comes completely naturally to the staff at Cape Riviera.

Don't let the opportunity pass you by - head to to the Cape and visit Riviera!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DustyTrail11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our honeymoon, we were greeted by the ever helpful Lisa who on our arrival showed us to our room (we had been upgraded from the standard to the luxury room) - our first lovely surprise!
The room was just perfect, Table Mountain the rear view, Cape town to the front, lovely bathroom and all the comforts you could need. We also had a lovely champagne surprise when we returned from our evening our which was another nice touch which made this a very memorable stay. Lisa and all of the staff here was just perfect, all were always helpful and on hand if you had a query, the recommendation of the Society restaurant was fantastic too. Thanks so much for a wonderful start to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

Lisa, Aimee and their colleagues provided outstanding and friendly service to us and our family. The quality of the rooms was superb, as was the beautiful setting just beneath Table Mountain and there was overall easy accessibility for pretty much anything in Cape Town. The kids also loved the pools.

Craig and Pernille Pouncey, Brussels

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craigBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We were staying 6 days with our family of 14, aged 6 - 70, and all of us had a wonderful time in Cape Town thanks to the excellent accomodation. Cape Riviera Guest house is a home away from home situated between the city and the Table Mountain and with several good restaurants in the neighborhood. The guest house has charming, spacious and very well furnished rooms, a good breakfast restaurant and a friendly and helpful staff. In terms of assistance and guidence, the management of the guest house is outstanding. An ungettable experience for all of us.
Kirsten og Jan Bahnson, Denmark

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

This is the second time that I've stayed here on holiday from GB in this last four years. The only matter, in my view, that stops this location from being recognised as a top hotel is the fact that they are unable to offer an evening meal and so by REGULATION they have to be "downgraded" from hotel status. Everything about this hotel is top class from the rooms to the early morning breakfast, that is freshly cooked, and the assistance from all the staff. I had problems with my flight boarding card and one of the staff spent the evening attempting to solve the matter only to discover that BA were the problem - how was that for service! The public rooms within the building were a delight to see never mind the rearward view from the hotel of Table Mountain. Will stay there again if the need arises.

Room Tip: Use the top four rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherandDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#24 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Rutland Lodge
#35 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Liberty Lodge
Liberty Lodge
#20 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Welgelegen
#8 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Tintagel Guesthouse
#15 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Riviera

Property: Cape Riviera
Address: 31 Belvedere Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cape Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Riviera Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Riviera
Cape Riviera Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing