We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in this excellent small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dysart Boutique Hotel
Ranked #16 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Oudenaarde, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in this excellent small hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 1 week vacation in Cape Town. We stayed seven nights in the Dysart Boutique hotel. From the moment of arrival, we immediately felt at home. Very nicely designed rooms, perfect personal service and a location in a quiet area with both Waterfront and city center within wlaking distance.
Personnel is very helpful with everything and extremely friendly. Thanks to all of them for this unforgettable stay. we will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Room Nr. 4 and Room Nr. 2 are the best ones!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    40
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
290
26
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Was very much looking forward to my stay in the Dysart and had booked it due to reviews on this site. We were extremely disappointed. Firstly we carried our own bags up the steep stairs, and down again on departure. Our room was ok, the bathroom was amazing, all was clean but our bed consisted of 2 singles pushed together with 2 single duvets. The tv was the size of a computer, the balcony had one chair on it which had to sit sideways as the balcony was tiny. There is a black out blind on the window however the sun rises in the other direction, comes through the bathroom windows and through the glass door into the bedroom so the blackout blind on the main window is totally pointless. On arrival we asked for an iron, we were told to ask again later, no idea why, when we asked later the manager had gone home and we were directed to the staff ironing Room in the basement! Breakfast was very basic, the chef/cook served us after she finished her phone call and came back from the laundry room, dirty dishes were not cleared away, orange juice was from a carton! The pool had dirt in the bottom, a large amount which I am assuming came from a plant pot close by, we stayed 3 nights and the pool was not cleaned during this time. This place is no 5 star boutique hotel, it is more of a 3 star bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful boutique hotel. From the welcoming staff we only had the best time here. A very nice room, with patio, beautiful bed and bathroom. Great breakfast, such pleasant people, really trying to make your stay a dream. Nice friendly, personal with humor. A very nice small swimmingpool, nice sunbeds, nice refreshments in the Lounge. Love to return here next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

By far the best hotel experience you could imagine, and it only gets better when you return for a second visit. It's like being welcomed back like a well-travelled family member. Thanks Lo and Peter (and Frank too) for creating such a wonderful experience. The rooms are immaculate and very well presented, the service is outstanding in every respect. Dysart's location in Green Point is within walking distance of the Waterfront and Sea Point. It's also right on the main route for the tour buses that ferry you through some of the most spectacular coastal scenery you will ever see. Dysart cannot be matched for quality of service and personal attention. If it can be, let me know and I will eat my own legs. Thanks to Denis and Aneefa for the special attention to our every need. Thanks to Martin and Alvin for taking care of things through the evenings. But a very special thanks to Zinny. You make the Dysart experience even more rewarding than it already is. We love you all and dearly wish to return again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Patio Rooms are at the rear of the hotel. They are spacious, light and comfortable and include a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenSmithJohnshaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our first-ever visit to SA, starting in Cape Town - what a city, and what a wonderful place the DysART is! Friendly, welcoming, a terrific room and outdoor area for breakfast, a swim and a chat after dinner with other guests.- and close enough for just a walk down to the V&A. Peter, Lo and Martin have just the best staff, and the lovely Zinny is worth the price alone! I don't know about 'Taxi Alex' not showing up at the airport for 'EllalnThe Sky', but he was there for us after the long flight from the UK, and then we had a brilliant day touring with him - what a great guy! I'm not normally prone to hyperbole, so let me just say that the DysART was A1A for us in every way, and if we're ever back in the Cape, the 'D' will be our first stop. Thank you all so much from June, Jess and me.

Room Tip: Not needed - only six rooms, and everybody we met juast loved what they had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have spent only one night at the Dysart hotel and we regretted not having stayed longer!
The hotel is to be fiound in a residential aera. They were meant to send us a taxi driver (Alex) to pick us up at the airport but Alex failed to show up. We took another taxi and he struggled a bit to find the hotel, as it is in a small side street. Nevertheless it is very well appointed; our room was huge and trendy, yet cozy. We liked the extremely comfortable big bed and the fancy shower gel in the big bathroom. We were greeted very warmly by Martin, and a little later, by Frank, one of the owner, with a glas of wonderful white wine. The staff is very knowledgeable and booked us an excellent restaurant 5 min away from the hotel, the Hussar Grill - a superbe place if you like a good piece of meat.
Will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The staff were wonderful and accommodating, the rooms were fantastic, the pool and outdoor area was beautiful. Amazing bathroom - complete with rain fall shower. Convenient location in a residential area about 1Km from the V&A Waterfront. There are only 6 rooms in the little treasure, but the quality is that of a 5 star hotel. My only issue with it was that we had asked if they had a twin room - they ended up putting us in a room with a double bed, and two single duvets. It also wasn't the same room that we had booked. Pricey enough but worth it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,407 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,833 reviews
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,032 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,719 reviews
One&Only Cape Town
#13 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dysart Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dysart Boutique Hotel

Property: Dysart Boutique Hotel
Address: 17 Dysart Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#16 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dysart Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Dysart Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dysart Hotel Cape Town Central
Dysart Cape Town
Dysart Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing