We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment”
Review of De Waterkant House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
De Waterkant House
Ranked #98 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I made this booking from the website of Village and Life. An organisation that as far as I could see was a large player in luxury accommodation in Cape Town. I reserved a Superior Suite..gulp.. the Loader Suite to be precise. Well, if that is a suite then I am a banana. The whole building was very knackered on the exteriors, there was a half way decent lounge and the much heralded infinity pool actually looked straight out on to the street. The whole place was scuffed and resembled student accommodation. The "suite" or Room that I will call it from now on, was similar to a down market 1950's boarding house on the wrong side of the Isle of White. There was no Suite space at all. The furniture was an awkward cross of MFI and post war junk. The windows were rotten, the shutters didnt shut so the whole street could see in and even though there was a door, it was firmly boarded up so you were basically in a cell. Piece de resistance was the bathroom which enjoyed an entire cloud of rank mould as a ceiling. The plumbing was erratic and it took 40 mins to run a bath. Doubtless to say, I asked to move out. They then gave me an upgrade to an apartment at a different property..4b Loader street. This was better in terms of space and general ambience even though again the interiors and fittings were very archaic. Still same plumbing issues, with shower taps coming off in my hand. Above all, the whole management seemed incredibly mean. No international adaptors, "go and buy one", but quite happy to charge international prices. The breakfast cafe for which you get a voucher for strictly 60 rand and the parking bay ( at an additional 80 rand per day) were the highlights of this product. By the way, no Wifi was available in the rooms of either establishment. There was only a rather grumpy connection in the lounge area of the first establishment. I think what irked me above all, was that this organisation insists on 100% UPFRONT payment. So you are tied to their rubbish accommodation whether you like it or not as you will not get your money back. There were very many other better companies in the Waterkaant to rent from and many better hotels. De Waterkant cottages, SugarBabe house, Soho House. So don't part with your money too soon with Village and Life. You might well regret it. Ps .. they had the cheek to ask me if I was interested in investing in one of their properties..me thinks not. Sorry, if you look at my other reviews they are always positive but I was so incensed about this product, I felt I had to be honest.

Room Tip: What can I say ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edwardgounie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant House, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

We do try and keep our website very specific as to what De Waterkant House has to offer and at no stage do we intend to create the expectation that De Waterkant House is a modern guesthouse. De Waterkant is a heritage area and although we plan on some maintenance work for this winter, the character of the house will remain as is.

I am glad to hear that our staff assisted you with an upgrade to one of our apartments as although your comments regarding Village & Life is quite harsh, we do always try and satisfy our guests needs first. I would also like to point out, that we did at the time of your booking require a 100% deposit, but we also do offer guests a cancellation policy and as mentioned are always on-hand to assist guests with alternative accommodation when possible.

We hope that despite this experience, you will still visit the wonderful area of De Waterkant in the future.

Kind Regards,
Ian Reed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

De Waterkant House is located (funnily enough) in the Waterkant area of the city. It is 15 minutes to the V&A Waterfront and 15 minutes to Long Street for multiple food and drink offerings.

The hotel comes with a small plunge pool - great for cooling off at the end of the day - a braai (for which there is an additional charge), and a communal kitchen if you feel like cooking. Not that we saw anyone use it. There is also a good lounge area - nicely appointed - which I am sure is cosy in the cooler months.

The room we stayed in (Napier) has a standard double bed, comfortable, decent sized bathroom (although could do with a bit more space to put toiletries out), bath with over shower. The room also has a safe, TV, DVD etc. It feels more like a home than a hotel - and certainly very un-chain like. All good from our point of view.

There is a pass code to get in the main gate, plus another for the door after hours, whilst there is also a patrolling security guard outside. Either way, we never felt as if it was a dangerous area or that any of that was needed, but that is what security is for. We also quite happily parked the hire car on the road (with the local residents and there was no evidence of tampering anywhere).

Breakfast is supplied at a small cafe just down the street. Portions are fine and the selection good (from oats and fruit to a 'cape breakfast') however the service is very surly. You kind of got the impression that you were really only liked if you were 'one of the mates' from the local area and the attitude was the same on both quiet and busy days so no excuses.

Another downside: the basic toiletries were not replaced each day (shower gel, hair shampoo) which was odd and there was a flat refusal to refill the mosquito device. There were mozzies buzzing about and it would have been good (and expected) for it to be replenished. The service at check in was also somewhat nonchalant but we did not come across this again until we checked out.

On balance, we would probably return if we stayed again. The location is very convenient but quiet and for us (who spend too much time in the big chain hotels) it was very much a welcome break.

Room Tip: Ask for one on the upstairs floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldtravellersPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to review your stay with us at De Waterkant House. We are glad that you have such positive views of De Waterkant and the surrounding area. Your experience of breakfast at The Village Café will be addressed with the owner to ensure all our guests receive their best service at all times!

In our Guest Houses, toiletries and mosquito repellent should be refilled as required. On behalf of the team at De Waterkant House, I sincerely apologise that this detail was over looked, however, refusing to replenish the repellent is inexcusable. This is not the standard of service we pride ourselves on and I hope that it will not deter you from returning to De Waterkant House in future.

We value your feedback and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This B&B is spread over a number of neighbouring buildings. The house we were in was lovely and spacious, the people friendly and helpful. It contained a great lounge, where me met other guests, a full kitchen in which we cooked a meal. Breakfast was a coupon to a cafe one block away. If you want to be outside Cape Town's mall-side tourist zone, this is an excellent choice. (Gay friendly.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rik214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to review your stay with us at De Waterkant House. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was for sure one of the best value for money hotel where I have been so far!

We found the room very cousy and big. The bathroom needed to be refurbished and it was a little small for the room size but it was always clean.

Furthemore we really enjoyed the amenities they gave us, the package was so original!

We just felt at home, friendly staff, that helped us a lot with our stay and gave us a lot of good information so we could enjoy Cape Town on the 5 days we spent there.

The neighborhood is one of the most interesting ones in Cape Town and you may find a lot of good restaurants and places to go on walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rititi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant House, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and experience with us at De Waterkant House. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and where able to make the most of your time in Cape Town.

We look forward to being your host again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Ian Reed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at De Waterkant House recently and was absolutely surprised at the excellent location, service and atmosphere of this most beautiful area of Cape Town. The views from our room (The Harbor view room) was amazing. The room was very clean and the staff friendly. The area is perfect for anybody that is visiting from overseas. Access to transport is not a problem via buses and taxis. The shopping in the local area took my breath away. There are many, many stores that sell the most interesting home-ware. The Spar at the Cape Quarter shopping center caters for just about anything you can imagine. (Including some overseas stuff). We were within walking distance of many little cafes and restaurants. Although parking can be a challenge everybody is very accommodating and there is excellent security 24/7. A walk to the Waterfront is only for the relatively fit but it is a nice 2.2km stroll if you have the time. The visit to the Waterfront and all the activities there is worth the while over and over.
We had breakfast at the Village Cafe just on the next corner from our guesthouse. The food was absolutely delicious and the atmosphere equally enjoyable! A must!
Wonderful stay and I will recommend it to anybody interested in architecture also. Beautiful picturesque homes!

Room Tip: There are shutters and it helps to close them at night to keep the little bit of city noise that the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheunsBlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWaterkantVillage, Manager at De Waterkant House, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear Valued Customer

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and have such positive views on the De Waterkant House and the surrounding area and attractions. Your feedback has been most valuable and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a wonderful time staying at the De Waterkant House, even though some areas are a bit dated, I feel that it fits in quite well with the dated area. The facilities are great and wonderful views over the Waterfront and Table Mountain. I stayed for 4 nights during a business trip and enjoyed walking to either the Waterfront or the CTICC as both are so close by. The various coffee shops and cafe's are just wonderful and in very close, I would recommend this quint guesthouse to anyone.

A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed for two nights at De Waterkant in March 2012. The location was excellent, although a bit of a walk from the waterfront (but not too expensive in a taxi) if that's what you want. Our room was basic but comfortable and clean, and the communal areas were lovely. We didn't have an included breakfast so we ate around at local places instead (which open quite late).

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
De Waterkant Village
#94 of 110 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
Loloho Lodge
#78 of 156 in Cape Town Central
91 reviews
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#63 of 156 in Cape Town Central
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Point B Guest House
#52 of 156 in Cape Town Central
113 reviews
The Charles
#108 of 156 in Cape Town Central
86 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Waterkant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Waterkant House

Address: 137 Waterkant Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $73 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Waterkant House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the historical De Waterkant Village, is De Waterkant House, elegant and discreet, with a relaxed European feel. This beautifully restored 9 – roomed, Cape Georgian Manor House, with terrace and pool, overlooks the village and accessible Table Bay harbour. De Waterkant House is centrally located, minutes from the Cape Quarter Shopping Centre, restaurants, bars and fashionable nightspots. With the emphasis on good living, guests can stroll down into the village where they can enjoy the atmosphere of the neighbourhood, indulge in a sweet treat or simply read the daily paper. Check-in and reception is situated at The Charles. De Waterkant House is situated at 35 Loader street, a short walk from The Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your De Waterkant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Waterkant House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing