We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was excellent - dishonest staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Table Mountain Lodge
Ranked #129 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The hotel and service was lovely. What I learned on this trip is that you really should not bring any good jewlery. I left my jewlery in the safe when we went out to dinner and when I returned to put my jewlery away in the safe my jewlery wrap was missing. I lost about $3,000 worth of jewlery. Yes I learned do not bring nice jewlery on vacation. I reported this to management and security and they told me they could check everyone that entered my room during this time. They also told me they put these people on a Lie Detector test (yeah) and they passed. Also my husband went to an outside ATM during daylight hours and nearly got jumped by 2 nicely dressed large men in white shirts and ties. Our driver got out of the car when he saw something going on and scared them away. My advise to anyone going to Cape Town is to be extra street smart. Hotel service was quite good and location excellent, you would think you were in a good area. Just lots of crime there.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginnybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 61 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2010

A very nice place to stay. Beautiful, all differently decorated rooms with a touch of "old days". Very helpful staff, helped with road direction, booking of tickets etc.
The pool maybe was a bit of a dissapointment but we were anyway too busy to use it.
Nice breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnold45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Spacious rooms some with view of Table Mountain, excellent breakfasts, unfailingly helpful staff always ready to phone on our behalf to check times, book restaurants, etc.

If we have a criticism, it is that the small bar also seemed to serve as the duty manager's office and computer point for guests so that, although it served drinks, there was inadequate space to enjoy them.

Excellent restaurants nearby - Miller's Thumb best, Yindees very good Thai, Ocean Basket good value for money seafood (would be better without TV on!).

Few minutes' walk to efficient hop-on-hop-off tourist bus service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter-and-Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

A good central location in a safe area close to the restaurant district of Kloof Street and only a short, cheap taxi ride to all Cape Towns attractions. As with all SA hotels a swimming pool can as in this case mean a plunge pool. If you like a lie in then avoid rooms 1 and 2 as they are on the ground floor but overall a good choice with lovely staff and free WiFi internet access.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peirceworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in this lovely old house in a quiet part of town. We had a very large comfortable room with a well appointed bathroom. There was a substantial breakfast on offer that weather permitting you can take on the little veranda that looks towards Table Mountain. All the staff were very helpful and friendly especially Louise. The Lodge is situated within easy walking distance of Kloof Rd were there are plenty of restaurants. We ate at Beleza a Portuguese/Italian restaurant which is 2 minutes away from the Lodge on the corner of Burnside, as with the Lodge at Beleza the food was excellent and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley499522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

This is a house where we were guests. It's not a hotel - it's better, more charismatic and more fun than a hotel. Room was clean and spacious, bed was superb. Breakfast was just right, and everyone was flexible to our every need. Lots of great restaurants just 2 minutes safe walk away. Parking for our car was outside the house on the street - quite safe.
A place of quiet charm and convenience, and one we will certainly return to in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teakins568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

I spent a wonderful time in Cape Town at Table Mountain Lodge.
The room was beautiful and especially the Staff was very gentle and patient giving any kind of information and helping to make the most of our stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soleste08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#42 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,392 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,820 reviews
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Table Bay Hotel
#17 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,393 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#63 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,076 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#60 of 112 in Cape Town Central
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Table Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Table Mountain Lodge

Address: Table Mountain Lodge | 10A Tamboerskloof Road`, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $46 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Table Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Table Mountain Lodge, offering Bed and Breakfast accommodation in Cape Town, is a gracious homestead nestled on the slopes of Signal Hill with breathtaking views of Table Mountain. Originally a farmhouse built in 1885, the Cape Dutch homestead has been restored to its former elegance with timeless charm. Table Mountain Lodge has earned its reputation by providing warm hospitality, excellent service, sumptuous breakfasts and an abundance of fresh flower arrangements throughout the homestead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Table Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Table Mountain Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing