We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Friendly, Extremely Cosy Boutique Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kingslyn Guesthouse
Ranked #20 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2010

From the Moment we arrived Birgit, the House Manageress, gave us a really warm welcome. Rooms are spacious, individually decorated. The Breakfast is wonderful. A cooked plate and a buffet with assorted meats, breads, fruit and cereals. There is an honesty bar in the lounge stocked with beers and top quality wines. The lounge also has a library of guidebooks and pamphlets to guide you through where to go and what to do. The Hotel has Free Wifi.

Location wise you are 10 minutes walk to Sea Point and 20 minutes to the V & A Waterfront. We stayed during the World Cup and it was a mere 10 minutes walk from Green Point Stadium. Car parking is on street but there is cctv cameras watching over the car park at the side of the property. Signal Hill towers above the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
There are newer reviews for Kingslyn Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 200 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed there for a weekend over which we got engaged. Had an amazing time. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and elegant, each with its own unique style. Indeed, they are even romantic as a lot of attention was paid to the lighting design. You can have the room as bright as you want or just illuminated trellises and bed. As the engagement was a surprise, the owner went out of his way to arrange a bouquet of flowers and wine in our room for after the big moment. The staff and owner were always friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.
The breakfast room is all glass and very bright and the breakfast itself is delicious as well. There is parking right next to the building and it seemed safe. The property itself is locked and secure so no worries there. The location is reasonably central and its about a 10 or 15 minute walk to the V&A waterfront.
It was a fantastic experience all around and incredible value for money. Thanks to all of you at Kingslyn for a wonderful engagement weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dumpling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

we stayed 5 nights at Kingslyn (over NYE) and enjoyed our stay very much.
The Guest House was recently renovated and is very lovely furnished.
Birgit gave a warm welcome to us after a long flight. Thanks to her hospitality and the nice interior we felt at home!
Would definitly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid_Le_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suíte com lounge é bastante ampla e agradável
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glaucia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ninona283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank C6036PKrodrigoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank arnjoem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachmarks, Owner at Kingslyn Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#27 of 156 in Cape Town Central
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Head South Lodge
Head South Lodge
#10 of 128 in Cape Town Central
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cheviot Place Guest House
Cheviot Place Guest House
#30 of 156 in Cape Town Central
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Point B Guest House
Point B Guest House
#53 of 156 in Cape Town Central
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingslyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslyn Guesthouse

Address: 8 Hill Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $72 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingslyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingslyn Boutique Guesthouse, a luxury 4 star bed and breakfast in Cape Town, the Mother City of South Africa. Close to V&A Waterfront, CTICC (Cape Town International Convention Center) and the city itself. This Boutique Guesthouse is located in the suburb of Green point on the Atlantic Seaboard. No matter what your accommodation requirements - be it a family holiday, business travel or honeymoon stay - we at Kingslyn are sure your stay with us will be comfortable and memorable. The Guesthouse a gracious manor house from the turn of the 19th century offers you the charm, elegance and glamour of days gone by. Combined with the highest standard of modern luxury and hospitality. We purchased Kingslyn in 2009 where we undertook to completely renovate and refurbish this beautiful building making certain to keep its elegant charm but ensuring it was kept up to date with the highest standards of modern luxury and hospitality. The combination of South African and British ownership and management has ensured our guests get the best of local knowledge and hospitality with the added benefit of European innovation and professionalism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Kingslyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingslyn Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing