We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Heavenly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingslyn Guesthouse
Ranked #26 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pretty Heavenly!”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in March as part of our 10 year anniversary trip, and we couldn't have been happier with our stay! Our room was located on the first floor and was MASSIVE and so, so beautiful and comfortable! The four poster bed slept so well, the shower huge and well pressurized... the tub... ah, the tub! :)
We LOVED the remote air conditioning and the dimming lights. SO perfect.

The staff was WONDERFUL and gracious- always ready to help!! Always there to call a cab for us if we needed one.

Breakfast was wonderful each morning, and the laundry service that we used was great.... we also had a really easy time parking.

Location in Greenpoint is super convenient. 20ZAR taxi ride to the V&A Waterfront... about 30ZAR downtown. We loved this area!

The ONLY thing that we could complain about is that sometimes there was noise from the entrance way / staircase / breakfast dishes in the morning, and the wifi was not working while we were there... that was a little frustrating, but were able to use the data plan on our phones to make do w/ that.

That said, we'd stay here over and over.... In fact, when we came back to Cape Town a few days later and had a miserable experience somewhere else, we were REALLY wishing that the Kingslyn had room open still!!

Room Tip: I don't think that you could go wrong with a single room here! It's perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Superwoman07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    42
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
31
103
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Can't really add anyting to what has been already written. Stayed for 5 days over NYE period. The top features:
- very good location, close to Waterfront, downtown as well as to Clifton or Camps Bay,
- extremelly helpful manager and warm staff,
- cosy place in a great congition.

Just go and check :-)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mableton, Georgia
Level Contributor
264 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This is marvelous B&B that is in great location. My wife, daughter and I had the greatest time there. Our stay was for 5 days and 4 nights. The owner is extremely professional and quickly established a wonderful relationship with all of us. She provided daily suggestions for various spots to visit as well as tips on making our trip more memorable.
The staff, though small, were quite attentive and took care of all of our needs. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Capetown
---------@-------.---

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zablob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

From the Moment we arrived Birgit, the House Manageress, gave us a really warm welcome. Rooms are spacious, individually decorated. The Breakfast is wonderful. A cooked plate and a buffet with assorted meats, breads, fruit and cereals. There is an honesty bar in the lounge stocked with beers and top quality wines. The lounge also has a library of guidebooks and pamphlets to guide you through where to go and what to do. The Hotel has Free Wifi.

Location wise you are 10 minutes walk to Sea Point and 20 minutes to the V & A Waterfront. We stayed during the World Cup and it was a mere 10 minutes walk from Green Point Stadium. Car parking is on street but there is cctv cameras watching over the car park at the side of the property. Signal Hill towers above the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We stayed there for a weekend over which we got engaged. Had an amazing time. The rooms are spacious, beautiful and elegant, each with its own unique style. Indeed, they are even romantic as a lot of attention was paid to the lighting design. You can have the room as bright as you want or just illuminated trellises and bed. As the engagement was a surprise, the owner went out of his way to arrange a bouquet of flowers and wine in our room for after the big moment. The staff and owner were always friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed.
The breakfast room is all glass and very bright and the breakfast itself is delicious as well. There is parking right next to the building and it seemed safe. The property itself is locked and secure so no worries there. The location is reasonably central and its about a 10 or 15 minute walk to the V&A waterfront.
It was a fantastic experience all around and incredible value for money. Thanks to all of you at Kingslyn for a wonderful engagement weekend!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dumpling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2010

we stayed 5 nights at Kingslyn (over NYE) and enjoyed our stay very much.
The Guest House was recently renovated and is very lovely furnished.
Birgit gave a warm welcome to us after a long flight. Thanks to her hospitality and the nice interior we felt at home!
Would definitly recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid_Le_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Antrim Villa
Antrim Villa
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
The One 8 Hotel
The One 8 Hotel
#41 of 106 in Cape Town Central
244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wilton Manor Guest House
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cape Standard
Cape Standard
#16 of 156 in Cape Town Central
550 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town Central
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingslyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslyn Guesthouse

Property: Kingslyn Guesthouse
Address: 8 Hill Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingslyn Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingslyn Boutique Guesthouse, a luxury 4 star bed and breakfast in Cape Town, the Mother City of South Africa. Close to V&A Waterfront, CTICC (Cape Town International Convention Center) and the city itself. This Boutique Guesthouse is located in the suburb of Green point on the Atlantic Seaboard. No matter what your accommodation requirements - be it a family holiday, business travel or honeymoon stay - we at Kingslyn are sure your stay with us will be comfortable and memorable. The Guesthouse a gracious manor house from the turn of the 19th century offers you the charm, elegance and glamour of days gone by. Combined with the highest standard of modern luxury and hospitality. We purchased Kingslyn in 2009 where we undertook to completely renovate and refurbish this beautiful building making certain to keep its elegant charm but ensuring it was kept up to date with the highest standards of modern luxury and hospitality. The combination of South African and British ownership and management has ensured our guests get the best of local knowledge and hospitality with the added benefit of European innovation and professionalism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingslyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingslyn Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing