We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FIND!”
Review of Dom Pedros - CLOSED

Dom Pedros
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
south africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GREAT FIND!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This small restaurant has a wow factor. The food is excellent & all tastes are catered for. Be sure to give it a try. The pianist is a great touch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bozzies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dinner and Music”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We've been there a few days ago. It was really nice to have dinner while we listen to the pianist.
The food was good and the service was excellent. They were always looking if we need anyting without being intrusive.
The restaurant is really nice and the decoration was kind of weird but I loved it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
579 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“Kitsch place, great food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We didn't try the "old" version of this restaurant (that seems to be awful) but I can say about the new one (under madame zingara management) that was the best restaurant we went in Capetown. The place is cool, with a kitsch decoration like ceramic dogs. We went on a Saturday with singing performance and it was really nice (R&B and jazz). The food is excellent, we've tasted wildebeest (game) meat and it was well prepared – same with the starters recommended by the waitress (tuna).
Food was nicely presented and wine properly served.
The dessert, dulce de leche cheesecake, was to die for. They also have good wines and the service is flawless. Highly recommend – reservations can be made at their website.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don Pedro' is back - and is now fab again!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Don Pedro's was a legend in Cape Town for many years - it was a spot where everyone turned up to hang out in the early hours of the morning after partying all over town. Slowly it became run down and more and more dingy. It was bought last year by the Madame Zingara group - its owner Richard is flamboyant and owns the wonderful tented Madame Zingara theatre/circus which has been a run away success in this country. This later led him to return to the world of restaurants starting the Bombay Bicycle Club, Cafe Paradisso (another spot that had been a old favourite in Cape Town), The Sidewalk Cafe (a slightly odd spot that no one used to go to) and the most recent Don Pedros. With each restaurant there is the quirky fabulous eccentric decor that has followed his roll out, combined with a touch of nostalgia. It seems that he has a magical touch in terms of creating spaces that people just feel comfortable and able to relax. Don Pedros fits the category completely. The decor is quirky, the staff are relaxed and fun and they have combined this with having a sultry singer from Wednesday to Saturday nights. It is a wonderfully chilled spot with fab music and a nostalgic menu. You are offered martini's on arrival - the choice of martini options if long, quirky and interesting. I love the assumption that people may want to start with champers - there are retro champagne glasses on each table - ready for you! They have retro favourites such as avocardo ritz which comes with a surprise (a barbie doll clutching the glass (that you can take home!!) and Duck a la orange (which I had and it was excellent!). Of course no meal would be complete without ending with a drink that came out of South Africa - the Don Pedro. The Don Pedro was originally whisky blended with ice cream - a naughty adult milkshake! Now a days we blend many different liqueurs with ice cream and the result is that there is an extensive Don Pedro list at this spot!

Note that you can either go for a large meal or you can opt for their "inside out" menu which is lighter meals at a really good price. We saw the burger go past from this menu and it looks fabulous - I will definitely return for a burger and a don pedro next time!

For anyone looking for a fun local restaurant - this is a fun option. Google to find out the new contact details for them

It is now starting to be a spot that the locals love - so I would recommend that you make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammycapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very poor service and rude staff”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

I have officially had a one of the worst experiences at Don Pedro restaurant. They ran out of beers and I mean all of it, by 22h15! ... it took me 30 minutes to get my bill of which i was paying in cash every time I placed a order myself at the bar cause the staff were busy on their BBM's seriously sad! Its such a cool spot, which has good live music and performers. I have been going to this restaurant for more than 15 years ... if only they can get their ducks in a row!

The funny part about all this is that they were having a "Save Don Pedro Weekend" which I went to support. however with the horrid service I got, I would not be returning anytime soon. unless there are new owners managers and waiters because these guys have had more than eight months to sort things out... it's a real shame that a establishment like that will die because of incompetence and bad service from it's current staff. really *****!

That was the norm, which has grown to become Don Pedro over the past year... but with things in the current state where they can't even pay there rent and then expecting the patrons who supported them while they gave **** service is not nice on any level!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dom Pedros also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing