We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (966)
Filter reviews
966 results
Traveler rating
272
518
145
26
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
518
145
26
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews long street hi express pedestrian mall george's mall central location budget hotel per day green market square greenmarket square food lovers market company gardens walking distance reception staff stayed at this hotel for nights table mountain double bed hop on hop
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 966 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2019

We returned to the Holiday Inn Express for a2nd time for 2 weeks and we had the most amazing stay, better than the first !!! The room, location, breakfast and amazing team lead by GM Judy Coleman was superb. So much so, we are planning to return to Capetown in November this year, alas we may not be able to afford this amazing hotel for our stay . Fiona

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank fifithom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2019

Dear fifithom
Many thanks for the wonderful review of our hotel. I really do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in November - would be so great to see you again.
Once again, thank you for the kind comments, till next time.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

The hotel is located very centrally and convenient for shopping in St. Georges Mall and access to he various Government buildings. Valet parking is useful as access to the hotel is via one-way streets and St. Georges Mall is mostly for pedestrians. The most outstanding feature was the friendliness of all the staff. Without exception we were treated as important guests.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear John O
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that the hotel suited your requirements and that you found the location convenient.
Your kind comments relating to the staff is much appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.
Thank you for choosing IHG.
Kind regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

My wife and I stayed at this Hotel the last week of January and we had a wonderful week.
The weather was just nice around 26/27c and the evenings cooled off thanks to Cape Town`s location and the winds.
We travelled with a British Airways holiday which included breakfast.
Picked up a cab at the airport for £10 and indeed we used this taxi for some of the trips we did whilst there.
There is lots to see and do around Cape Town and the Hotel is very well positioned to give access to all these things. Obviously Table Mountain is a must and this is very much dependant on the winds.
Quite by chance I met the Hotel Manager "Judy" in the lift on the first morning. She informed us that if the winds were so severe they stopped the cable car to the top and you had to walk. This also meant walking down if you were up there.
She checked her phone and the wind forecast was not good. About an hour later a Hotel worker asked me to go to the desk. "Judy" had very kindly been keeping a watch for us. The low cloud had cleared and she advised "go now". We did and had an amazing day. The cable car rotates 360 degrees during the ascent, which means that wherever you stand you all get the same views. Once on the top the views are breathtaking and we also saw Whales in the bay from up there as well.
We booked to go over to Robben Island to see Nelson Mandela`s prison, but sadly the 2 times we were going the boat was cancelled due to the wind. Annoyingly 2 hours later the wind had dropped and the boat`s for the rest of the day all sailed trouble free. We got a full refund no problem, but never got over there. If you decide you want to go there plan it in for the beginning of your stay not the end.
Another little known fact. There is a colony of land Penguins just south of Cape Town. We went to see them and there are thousands of them. They are a smaller version of the ones you see down at the South Pole, but nevertheless Penguins.
Back to the Hotel.
It only served Breakfast so we ate Dinner in various restaurants around the City. Quite by chance on the second day we found the road with many many restaurants and went there. They were charging pretty much half what the ones in the City Centre were charging (but this is no different to big cities anywhere else in The World)
Breakfast in the hotel was first class with tastes from all over the World being catered for.
The Hotel is right in the middle of the main market and City Centre, so if you able bodied you can pretty much walk everywhere. Having had our Robben Island trip cancelled we jumped on The City Red Bus tour. This was very enjoyable and we saw all the City, beaches and surrounding areas.
The Hotel room was just the right size and included a fridge and a safe. We were on the 6th floor overlooking the Market. This was fine as the market was from 9am to 4pm so no noise. When I say market I mean tourist things not fruit and veg.
People are worried about Safety in Cape Town. The local authorities have addressed this and literally on every street corner there are 2/3 City safety people. In the week we were there we never saw a single problem anywhere we went.
One small problem (NOTHING TO DO WITH THE HOTEL).
There are a lot of street beggars in Cape Town.
The cab driver and Hotel staff advised us to be polite but firm and say no. This we did and there were no problems.
SUMMING UP
The Hotel did everything we expected, it was excellent. Every member of staff went the extra mile to help us and make our stay that much more memorable, THANK YOU JUDY AND ALL YOUR STAFF.

Room tip: Go, it is a beautiful City and this Hotel is great value.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedthechippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear tedthechippy
Thank you so much for the wonderful detailed review of your recent stay with us. Once again, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Take care
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

Although we arrived at 8:00 am, they found us a room and let us put away our bags. The room was excellent and the morning breakfast was amazing. They stored our bags with no charge until we were ready to depart for our cruise. This hotel is located about 50 m from the free walking tours of Cape Town, which are also excellent. We highly recommend this Hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2019

Dear Anthony T
Many thanks for your recommendation of our hotel. I am so pleased to read that we were able to assist you with an early check in and that you enjoyed the complimentary Express Start breakfast.
I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2019

Only stayed the one night but the location is great with walking distance to good restaurants and historical sights. Very friendly staff. Very clean but basic room. No pool and the gym was very basic but over all great value for the money.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear socket2me
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review following your one night stay. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and I do hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Thank you for choosing IHG.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews