We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #49 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights in this hotel in early July 2014 and had nothing but good experiences. The staff on the reception desk were friendly, helpful and efficient and always happy to help. We arrived at approximately 10am (4 hours before standard check-in opens) after travelling for 30+ hours and we're expecting to drop our bags and have to wait until our room was available. The reception staff informed us that our room was already available and we could go straight up.

The rooms are comfortable, and compact. Nothing extravagant, but very tidy and well maintained. Although there are no bar fridges in the rooms, the hotel staff are happy to store items you may need refrigerated (in my case medicine) in their dining room fridge behind the bar.

Wi-fi internet is complimentary to guests and this is a great added bonus for a 3-star hotel. If there was one complaint, it would be that the wi-fi login was quite temperamental and unless you actively log-off each time you switch off your mobile device the wi-fi would block you out as you can not log-on more than once. This meant if you just closed down your mobile device without actively selecting the log-off button you would have to reset your connection each time. By the end of our stay we had the process worked out, but it did seem a little cumbersome.

The breakfast selection was good and you will not go hungry at breakfast here! The hotel's location is tucked away in a pedestrian mall, but if you google maps the location before arriving it is easy enough to find. We had no real issues finding the hotel having spent time on-line in advance finding the location.

The hotel is located in central Cape Town and there are a number of dining and shopping options all within walking distance.

All in all, we were very impressed with this hotel, the staff and the location, given this is only a 3-star rated hotel. It is not an opulent hotel, but if you want a clean, comfortable and value for money hotel in down town Cape Town the Holiday Inn express is for you.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Ian F
Many thanks for your comprehensive review of our hotel and for the many compliments and positive aspects of your three night stay. I was delighted to learn of your positive experience and I shall be passing your good wishes on to our team. We do hope to be of service to you when you are next in Cape Town and once again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in detail.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 834 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

-The room and bed was comfortable and enjoyed my stay. Had a good choice of pillows.
-The complimentary WiFi for IHG members was very good.
-Breakfast was good and pretty standard for Holiday Inn Express.
-Standard Holiday Inn Express service. Very good.
-But the state of the bathroom was not very good. The shower had lots of stains and its old. Didn't enjoy the shower as much as I like.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamchops22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear lamchops22
Thank you so much for your review of your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre.
I was pleased to learn that overall you found the standard to be acceptable and the service that you received to be very good.
My sincere apologies for the condition of the bathroom, we are currently busy with a "winter care" program to deep clean, repaint and re-grout all of our rooms to ensure that all stains and marks are removed.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Thank you for choosing IHG.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

The service is brilliant. The room was extremely neat and clean. Love the security features at this hotel. Staff are very friendly and helpful. We decided at the last minute to stay at this hotel and my wife has made it clear, she wants to go back.

Room Tip: What you see is what you get. You wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Rodney L
Thank you for your extremely positive feedback from your recent stay at our Hotel. We are so pleased that we could make your stay in our beautiful province such a pleasant one. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The biggest and most frustrating thing about this hotel is finding it, Even if you have sat nav.
The main entrance is on a pedestrian area only, and is a night mare to find, I had just driven from Durban arrived in CT at 10 pm and 1 hour later and even asking the cops where it was we eventually found it, my advice on this is really plan out how to find it before you go.
The room was normal standard although a little noisy next to the elevator shaft, so I asked to be moved. and was moved the next day.
Breakfast was great plenty to choose from, very helpful staff,
The front desk were very pleasant and very knowledgeable about the area, I get very little time to my self but managed an afternoon off, so wanted to go to Table top Mountain, asked the front desk my options they called first then found out it was closed due to high wind an low visabiltiy saved me wasted journey, So always ask the front desk

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not near the elevator ,it is very noisy, rooms at the back have no view only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Dear Robert D
Grateful thanks for your review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our services convenient and our team to be helpful and friendly. My sincere apologies for the frustration you experienced in locating the hotel. We are located on a pedestrian walkway in the City Centre and unfortunately surrounded by one way streets that can be confusing. Detailed driving instructions are available on our website and these can also be emailed through. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Kind regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Parking is a problem. We had to stop and ask in the hotel for directions. The car was then parked for us.

In the bathroom the washing basin was blocked. But I was too tired to complain. There was also no plug at the bed for my CPAP. But I got an extension cable after waiting for 20 minutes.

Bed was comfortable as Holiday Inns are known for. Breakfast is a bit poor. No selection. It's what is says: a budget hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeinOtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear HeinOtt
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel.

I am very sorry to hear you experienced some negative issues during your stay.

Cognisance is taken of all of the points that you have raised and the necessary steps taken to ensure that we address these issues.

As we are a limited-service 3-star hotel, we are restricted by the standards set out for Holiday Inn Express Hotels from our parent company – Intercontinental Hotels Group. These standards included a free breakfast for all guests, however with only certain items we are allowed to set out.

Thank you for your feedback. I hope we have the pleasure of hosting you again in our beautiful city in the near future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

lovely central location. breakfast on site, other meals not possible but plenty of restaurants close by. comfy clean room. definitely happy to come back here. staff very helpful when I wanted to get tickets for cable car up table mountain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear trekkerKent
Grateful thanks for your great review of our hotel recently and I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our location and services convenient and our team to be helpful and friendly.
We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The hotel is mid price in a great location. The room was plenty big enough for two adults and one child and the beds were very comfortable. Everything is clean and in great condition. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Westy1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerHIECPT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Westy1208
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel recently and I was delighted to read of your positive and enjoyable experience. Your very good comments relating to our team and services will certainly be passed on to our team.
I hope that you have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Judy Coleman - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,376 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#48 of 110 in Cape Town Central
880 reviews
Parliament Hotel
#42 of 110 in Cape Town Central
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel
#40 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
#47 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $75 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing