We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice budget hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Ranked #45 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice budget hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Holiday Inn was one of the most sensible places to stay in Cape Town. It was an ideal combination of a decent hotel and at a more so decent price. The hotel is extremely well connected and is close to the Waterfront at Cape Town. Me and my husband dont mind walking and we would walk for 10mins to the Waterfront.
The hotel is just next to Taj, Cape Twon which gave us easy access to great Indian food!
In december, the road in front of the hotel had artisans displaying their wares. The evenning market was walking distance and so was the "Eastern Bazaar" - a delicious food joint serving some of the best food!

Room Tip: Try to select a room on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaShome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Many thanks for your write up on our Hotel. We are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us and certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    401
    106
    21
    3
See reviews for
92
271
87
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I use this group a lot and can say this is a great place. Sometimes with an Express anywhere in the world they can be remote or not in the best area. My first trip to SA and with all the reported issues, I was sceptical. No need to be. Its in great downtown plsce too. About 3 mins from Long Street.

Its like any big city, just on a small scale. Security is everywhere. If on your own keep your wits about you. Large groups will be fine. Simple as that. V & A waterfront safe. Beautiful scenery everywhere and fantastic value also. The £ goes a long way.

Special mention for all staff. All were superb.

Good luck in the AFCON but after the Norway game I watched at the bar with some staff I cant see them going far in the tournament. Why the Cape Town stadium isn't being used is beyond me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChipoSticko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We truly value our guest feedback and we are pleased to see that you had a comfortable stay with us during your trip to Cape Town. We are very conveniently located to many tourist attractions within the City Centre.
Our Team takes great pride in ensuring that our guests feel welcome at the Hotel and I am glad that you made reference to the friendless of our team. I will definitely pass on your feedback to them.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Rooms are quite small and not very modern.its far from the beach and water front , I guess its more of a business hotel than for holiday , if I go back to cape town ill opt for a hotel more nearer to the beach with some ocean views

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolmm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. It is our goal to constantly provide superior service and accommodations to our guests. I am most dissappointed that we didn't meet your requirements.
We value you as a customer and know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
287 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

It is superbly located near downtown attractions, you can walk to most of them from the hotel. Only needed to get a cab to the Waterfront (60 rands) and Table Mountain (60 rands).
The staff is very good, as it is the breakfast . At night it looks not that safe if you get more than 3 blocks away, but you can find some good restaurants within this distance.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that overall you found everything to be in order and that you found the convenience of the hotel an advantage.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel. I was seriously happy to leave. We booked a non smoking room and when we arrived we had a smoking room. The room was smelly, the carpets dirty and really and the room was really old. Breakfast was terrible. The service was below average. The only thing going for this hotel was that it is central, but so is a lot of other hotels in the area where you will have a much better experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenaChristo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel recently. I was disappointed to learn of your experience and I can assure you that the necessary action will be taken to rectify the problems that you encountered. It is our aim to ensure a memorable and seamless stay for all our guests and the experience that you had of the hotel is certainly not what the hotel is known for. My sincere apologies for the areas where we have let you down.
We do hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Hotel is well staffed and has a small bar. Breakfast was very good! On the first morning, somewhat jet lagged I did not set my clock properly and missed breakfast by about an hour, instead of simply turning me away "the buffet at this point was taken down" they offered to make me a plate and brought me breakfast. It's an easy location and has a lot near by. I did not have a car so can't comment on that. I did my touring using the "on and off bus tour" it stops near by. I'm loyal to their award program so IC Properties tend to be my first choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cincitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel during your recent stay. We were delighted that all services met your needs and that you found everything to be satisfactory. Our location is superb for both Leisure and Business guests and many guests comment on the convenience to the local tourist attractions as well as corporate offices. I was so pleased to learn that our team extended a late breakfast offering to you, our valued Priority Club member and will pass on your thanks to them.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

My colleges and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Cape Town during the AfricaCom 2012. It is very convenient Hotel for business and pleaser, located in Central of the city, walking distains to the Convention Centre, museums, Company Gardens, restaurants, Green Market Square. Our room it was on 15th floor, nice and comfortable with beautiful view on Table Mountain. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager32, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Many thanks for your great review of our hotel during your recent stay. I was pleased to note that you found our team friendly and helpful and that the location was convenient and easy to reach the places you needed to be.
We hope to be of service to you during the next Africa.Com conference
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Parliament Hotel
#38 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town F...
#50 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
City Bowl
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
#36 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Lodge Hotel V&A Waterfront
#65 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#68 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Hotel on St Georges
#72 of 106 in Cape Town Central
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre
Address: 101 Saint Georges Mall Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#48 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre. This hotel is ideally located in the centre of Cape Town, South Africa. The hotel offers convenience for business and leisure travellers with easy access to highways and being in close proximity from the world renowned Victoria & Alfred Waterfront Shopping Centre. The hotel overlooks the majestic Table Mountain. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre features 173 contemporary style bedrooms individually airconditioned, offering guests a comfortable, warm and friendly stay. All rooms have en-suite facilities, power shower, direct dial telephones, work stations, safety deposit boxes, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and televisions. WI FI in all rooms and public areas. Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre is committed to offering guests the best product combining convenience of location with the quality and value for which Holiday Inn Express is famous for throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre Hotel Cape Town Central
Holiday Inn Cape Town
Cape Town Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cape Town City Centre South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing