We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hussar grill makes it right”

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point
Ranked #27 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hussar grill makes it right”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not sure how to edit my old review, anyway a few times I visited Hussar grill in green point and camps bay and got poor steaks, they invited me back at their cost and the steak was excellent, great service as always will definitely give them another visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spennybig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    505
    246
    76
    37
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great food and service”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

we ate for starters the "Tomato and onion salad" and "Cheesy garlic roll", for main dishes we ordered 300g beef fillet.
all the dishes was very delicious! service was very kind.
definitely recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Great steak”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Steak was definitely up to scratch! Service was good with a welcoming hostess and nice warm vibe. Extensive wine list with a good selection.

Helpful?
Thank caryntravelbug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Digital CRM at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear, caryntravelbug1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for our Greenpoint Grillroom. Do visit us again!

Warm regards,
Hussar Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
519 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“No mistake the steak is superb”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Look these people are not on a learning curve They know what they are doing and have been doing so for 50 years YES 50 years

Game steaks Grilled Ostrich Fillet

Fillet Moutarde Man o man I enjoyed this

Tasty burgers offered

I will stop now it is for you to visit and have an adventure Tel 021 433 2081

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 871edieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Digital CRM at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear 871edieh,

Thank you for rating our Greenpoint Grillroom. Yes 50 good years and we are absolutely delighted that you can tell just how much experience and love is behind our brand and every single meal we prepare. Thanks again for taking the time to do this review.

Here's to another 50 years!

Kind regards,
Hussar Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Agulhas, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome as always!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The T-Bone was awesome as were my dining companion's orders of flambe and sirloin. We always take our own wine, being wine fundis and fussy, but always run out and buy a bottle or two anyway - which is as good as our choices!

Keep up the standard and ambience you and Rondebosch have. Steenberg and Camps Bay just don't match up.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weary_of_Work_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HussarGrill, Digital CRM at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hi!

Thank you so much for your amazing review of our restaurant. We hope you'll be back soon.

Kind regards,
Hussar Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing