We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steaks in Cape Town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hussar Grill Mouille Point

The Hussar Grill Mouille Point
Ranked #27 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The original Hussar Grill in Rondebosch first opened its legendary brass doors in 1964 and today, after 50 years of excellence, it is regarded as one of South Africa's premier grillrooms. We go to endless lengths every day to maintain our multiple award-winning reputation by ensuring that we only purchase the finest and best quality produce available.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Best steaks in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were looking for a good place to eat, when my friends (locals) recommended the place as having the best steaks in Cape Town. They were correct! We found the place, a little hard to find at first (its on the main road and is tucked in between many other buildings), but we were determined, and we found it.
Excellent fillets and steaks, delicious vegetables, and a lovely and original deco & ambiente!
There is also a corkage fee (which means one can bring ones own wine)
The food was soooo delicious, that we went back the following day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    229
    69
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
347 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Perfect meat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We were at rhis restaurant last year, six of us. We all liked the food so much, that rhey did not want to go anywhere else for dinners.

Now we are back and have read som reviews that the food was less good now. So we just had ro try.

I can try to persuade you - this is good food at its best!
Go for it, we dont think you could be disappointed. We enjoyed every bit of our food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AroundTheWorld000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Packed on a Monday Night!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This intimate steakhouse nestled on Main Road Green Point across from the Stadium is a delightful venue and obviously extremely popular given that it was packed on a Monday night. Its primary focus is red meat and this they served to perfection.

Our table ordered, rump, ribs, chicken and game kebab and all were very happy with the quality and presentation. A side order of vegetables is good for 2 to 3 persons. We were a bit disappointed that some of the starters.and deserts were unavailable but that's not why you go to this venerable establishment.

The staff was friendly and helpful although they seemed a bit perplexed while trying to assist one of our party who was using a walker. There are three steps to negotiate with no ramp access.

A big plus is the fact that you can take your own wine without corkage and in our case we had a special bottle set aside for a special occasion.

Parking can be in short supply but within easy walking distance

Definitely worth a visit if you want a good piece of red meat in intimate surroundings

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Highly recommend this restaurant. Great meat and sides and overall a very pleasurable experience! Would definitely visit again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ll8555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obninsk, Russia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Defenitely not good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The cause we went to this place is I saw a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 on the door. Can you imagine how I was surprised when my wife gets fish that was smells badly... I understand that it's a steak house but it's surely not the reason to make a fish of a bad quality. At least the staff recognized their fault gave the apologies and didn't charge us for her fish but we were absolutely disappointed. At the same time my yellow tail and my son's steak was good enough... Strange place... Not recomended since there're lots of alternatives around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex2477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at The Hussar Grill Mouille Point, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Hi there,

I am sorry to read about your recent bad experience at our restaurant, where we clearly "dropped the ball" on this occasion.
Could you please get in contact with us on hussargrillgp@telkomsa.net, so we may discuss the matter further?

Kind Regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hussar Grill Mouille Point also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Hussar Grill Mouille Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing