We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely, tasty, normal”
Review of Ferdinando's Pizza

Ferdinando's Pizza
Ranked #234 of 1,325 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: $11 - $23
Description: Ferdinandos pizza is about love and you will love our pizza, fresh, fun and funky - Cape Towns best pizza - a place for celebration, fun and romance! a delicious menu with lots of vegetarian options and Italain classics :) Dinner is alive with wood fired pizza and aperitivi! Make new friends and be entertained by the charm of Observatory's hidden gem!
Restaurant details
Description: Ferdinandos pizza is about love and you will love our pizza, fresh, fun and funky - Cape Towns best pizza - a place for celebration, fun and romance! a delicious menu with lots of vegetarian options and Italain classics :) Dinner is alive with wood fired pizza and aperitivi! Make new friends and be entertained by the charm of Observatory's hidden gem!
Reviewed March 2, 2018

After meeting the owner a few days before my visit, I decided to go to Ferdinando's for a pizza. I can be quite picky when it comes to the balance of ingredients on a pizza, and the best way to test the use of ingredients is by trying a Pizza Tonno. The Tonno Cipolle I tried on my first visit has to be the best I have had period. Many restaurants overdo the tuna, to the point where there is no other taste to enjoy. Almost the perfect amount of cheese and tomato, the onions and capers were a great addition and the crust is just how I like it: a bit thicker but still crispy.

Service wise; down to earth, just like you expect from Ferdinando's and the vibe you feel when entering this restaurant. They ask you if everything's as expected, and when you have questions about the menu, they give you more insight into the products.

Tip when visiting: we went on a normal workday at around 5pm, it was not at all crowded. Will visit again very soon for another (different) pizza.

(Oh, and the Grissini breadsticks + craft beers were delicious too.)

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Daniël G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikitoga, Owner at Ferdinando's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

thank u! ha ha a good tonno is always the best! yum!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 49 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2018

After 12 years in SA, I grew to loathe pizza : those skinny bases that taste of brown paper with absolutely no 'tear', overloaded with toppings and looking like a dog's dinner and ingredients fraudulently being described as 'Italian'. And then yesterday a friend told me about Ferdinando's - so we went. ( How did it take 12 years to hear that?)

What an absolute find.

We shared a starter of antipasti misto - a generous serving of genuinely imported Italian meats( you can smell the difference even before you taste - that unmistakable sweet aroma of a proper Italian salami and proscuitto), and cheese, a humdinger of an artichoke, olives, etc and a curtain raiser for their pizza in the shape of a few pieces of moreish bread. We knew we were in for a good sesh.

My Funghetta and husband's Cacciatore did not disappoint. Stunningly wood- fired, burnt bits and bubbles abound, made with Italian imported flour ( like the difference between tasting the French flour of a baguette in France and the poor imitations around the world masquerading as such) home made chilli olive oil on table... OMG.

So we had to try the Tiramisu while we were there. Another stunner, packed with flavour ( not just whipped cream).

Amazing place and staff. As we were the first customers at 4.30pm we offered to help fold pizza boxes while our food was being prepared and were trusted with pots of paint and brushes to decorate the outsides. A truly whacky place. Music excellent. Decor eclectic. Waitress ( sorry I forgot your name) a big part of the vibe as are mine hosts. Ferdinando ( ancient Jack Russelly type doggy boss) allowed our very humble German Shepherd to sit quietly under our table. Very reasonably priced too.

What else can I say? We'll be back.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikitoga, Owner at Ferdinando's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

yay! what an awesome review! thank u for taking the time out to write up about us!
xxx ps it was notasji! your waiter! she is excellent and so creative!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

The atmosphere of this little family-run restaurant is lovely - from the moment you enter to engaging with the owners,the waiters and even the cute lil puppy running around. The food was incredible and everything felt so personalised and homey.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikitoga, Owner at Ferdinando's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

wow thanks Carmen!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2017

Heading in the direct of Obs we called, never having been and a friendly voice said yes there was a table for two, and minutes later a warm welcome in this tiny jewel of a venue A seat at a table upstairs which was perfect, as not too mad as one grows older on counter seating with high chairs. The clientele a lovely mix, the music at the right levels, no problem in producing a delicious virgin drink for my friend, and the food from caprese salad to pizza and ravioli, delicious. Its quirky, its fun, and we'll be back!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikitoga, Owner at Ferdinando's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

:)))) thank u!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017 via mobile

Loved the funky atmosphere, splendid menu, friendly service, happy people. To be critical the pizza is a bit doughy with a thick crust, but altogether a delightful experience. Outside was a table with pasta for the poor being well patronized. Yay!

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank PeterSulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kikitoga, Owner at Ferdinando's Pizza, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

thanks for the cool compliments! yes every wednesday we host the Obs pasta kitchen where we feed a bowl of pasta to the homeless of the area! you can join us serving pasta from 6pm every wednesday or if you would like to help set up come at 5:15pm x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ferdinando's Pizza also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Ferdinando's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing