We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Good service. Good place for conversation”
Review of Blues - CLOSED

Blues
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed May 23, 2014

While staying in Camps Bay, we had a party of six to feed. Didn't want to drive over the mountain. Wanted to walk. And needed a place that took reservations. Blues fit the bill. All meals were well prepared and presented. Not a lot of originality, but everything was done nicely. The service was excellent. Specialty is shellfish, but I had a fish dish and was pleased. I would not go for meat. For me, the company often makes the meal, and we had the best dinner companions one could ever hope for. It is, to be sure, a great place for digging deep into discussions with old and new friends. Would I return on a subsequent trip? Likely not. There is much excellent food in this town and Blues comes in at very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank whaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickShep13, General Manager at Blues, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Hello Sir!

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant and i am glad that you enjoyed your evening with us...We are constantly working on improving and refining our menu so please do join us again to monitor our progress!

Nick Shepherd

General Manager
Blues Restaurant
Camps Bay
nick@blues.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

598 - 602 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

We ate dinner on a May Sunday and the restaurant was half empty, which should have been a good thing. We were given a lovely, spacious table in the window, and there we sat, for times virtually ignored. The food was very good, but the slow service and lack of attentiveness marred the experience, which was a shame as I had been looking forward to experiencing what everyone had talked about.
I would go back, but then again, there are lots of other very good places to eat in the Cape Town area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KK4765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We got a table for 10 work colleagues and had a great time with our waiter Alfa, he did his best delivering a great service and always smiling. The food was very good - I had Venison as main and carpaccio as starter, and black/white mousse chocolate. The wine list was also very good, and we managed to try few different white wines.
By the way, the location is fantastic facing the beautiful camps bay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaRochaRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickShep13, General Manager at Blues, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Hello Sir!

thank you for the great feedback!

I am glad that Alfa took good care of you and that you enjoyed your evening with us, please do join us again soon!

Nick Shepherd

General Manager
Blues Restaurant
Camps Bay
nick@blues.co.za

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

With two others for dinner on a Monday evening. Only two other tables being used so not too much atmosphere but that was fine. Our waiter was attentive and pleasant so no complaints there. I ordered the seafood pasta,one person ordered steak and the other the fried seafood plate. We had mussels,a salad and a carpaccio to start. The mussels were fresh but needed more seasoning or a richer sauce as very little taste. The pasta needed more sauce as after eating half of the dish the remainder was just a mound of goo in the middle of the plate meshed together with what appeared to be tomatoes purée. The steak on the other hand was cooked to perfection. The fried dish was plentiful but nothing to rave about.
So all in all on a quiet night the food wasn't as good as I would have expected and so unlikely to visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Sadly the crayfish was overcooked, struggled to even get it out the shell. The calamari was below average. And at the prices we left feeling underwhelmed. Views are amazing. Service not the best, 3 of the main meals arrived, whilst the 4th person had to sit and watch us eat and wait. Doubtful we will return.

Thank Tanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickShep13, General Manager at Blues, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2014

Hi Tanya,

i am really sorry to hear about the poor service and food that you experienced at Blues on this visit, i would love to hear further details to take corrective action, if you have the time and would like to possibly join us again to give us a chance to make up for our short comings on this evening please get hold of me on nick@blues.co.za...

Nick Shepherd

General Manager
Blues Restaurant
Camps Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues also viewed

Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing