We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST ANOTHER UPMARKET STEAKHOUSE”

The Butcher Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 55 Restaurants in Camps Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $24
Description: Located along the world renowned sunset strip of Camps Bay, The Butcher Restaurant offers local premium quality steak and seafood. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Restaurant details
Description: Located along the world renowned sunset strip of Camps Bay, The Butcher Restaurant offers local premium quality steak and seafood. We serve breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Reviewed September 20, 2016

Whilst the food was good and the steaks cooked as ordered, I have to question the exorbitant prices. Clearly aimed at international tourists with fat Rand wallets, it was more expensive than some better steakhouses around the country so expect to pay for the fact that you may have a sea view depending on where you are seated.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank stuartc688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 275 of 510 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2016

Had some amazing seafood while in Camps Bay and was ready for something different when we tried The Butcher. Being from Texas; I know a good steak and The Butcher did not disappoint! The service was spot on and the location was amazing. If you are craving a steak - head to The Butcher Restaurant!

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2016

Of our group of 8, nobody was disappointed. The prices are reasonable, service is excellent and the setting is stunning. We missed the sunset but can only imagine how much more beautiful the evening could have been.
Recommended dishes are Ribs, Baby Kingklip, Biltong and Avo steak and the only disappointment was the Baklava at dessert, which was a bit bland. The Malva Pudding is delicious. And highly recommended.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KevinCBne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016

A family of 2 adults and 2 adult children with our best friends at the beginning of our African trip. We were having difficulties with our accommodation and so came down to the waterfront and went in with no booking. We were really well looked aftrer. Food was excellent.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TCP168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja_Tosh, Manager at The Butcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Thank you for your kind comments, reviews like these motivate the team here at the Butcher to keep up the standards set by the owners and management. We are all looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to enjoy the same experience you encountered on your previous visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

Meat lovers paradise. We ate here twice during a week's stay because the steak was so good. Everything we ate was delicious and the staff were friendly and attentive. No complaints at all.

Date of visit: August 2016
2  Thank Flo054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja_Tosh, Manager at The Butcher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2016

Thank you for your kind comments, reviews like yours push the team here at The butcher to strive for excellence in all spheres to ensure that everyone shares the same experience you came to enjoy. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher Restaurant also viewed

 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Camps Bay, Cape Town
 

Been to The Butcher Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing