We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful penthouse apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cape Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Rose Cottage
Ranked #7 of 54 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful penthouse apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed at the penthouse apartment - two en-suite rooms with interconnecting lounge with own bar - ideal for two couples holidaying together. Excellent location in Camps Bay with wonderful views. Lovely accommodation with great attention to detail and our hosts, Pam and Steve, could not have been more welcoming. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWhits10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
309
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

The view from the Aquamarine Suite is to die for - very short/cheap taxi ride to the beach strip restaurants - and there's something to suit all tastes apart from maybe sniffy Maitre'D establishments - Pam/Steve just as helpful as previous reviews - if time in Capetown is limited and you're a first time visitor, an ideal way to take in all the sights is to take the open top tourist bus tour which has a stop down on the beach front - very 'touristy', but so very practical...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

we stayed at cape rose cottage at the end of jan begining of feb 2010 for 4 nights , we stayed in the lavender suite , our expectations were exceded as pams attention to detail is to a very high standard. the room is spacious , the bed is comfortable the adjoinig lounge is great for a sundowner and chat with fellow guests at the end of your day.. the views from the bedroom and lounge of the atlantic ocean are spectacular. and just as it is on their web site . pam steve you have a lovely home . thankyou for your warm and friendly hospitality throughout our stay at cape rose cottage .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtimers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

What can I say? The reviews are all accurate, superb rooms ( the two sea view rooms upstairs especially). The downstairs room has a delightfull patio area private and quiet, leading to the pool and garden. Everthing for a self prepared breakfast is supplied in your small kitchen area, we loved this, no deadline for breakfast!
Camps bay has some excellent restaurants, its too far too walk but their are taxis I'm sure Pam would recommend a reputable company. We drove down, lots of parking available. The car guards take a small tip for looking after your car, between 2 and 5 rand, no problems at all with this and they are always polite!
Pam and Steve are fantastic giving just the right amount of attention and privacy in equal measure. In the upstairs rooms there is access to the lounge with honesty bar and a barbeque, also take away menus, if you fancy just chiiling out!
Can't fault anything except we had to come home!! Thanks Pam and Steve for all your hospitality!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

We stayed at Cape Rose Cottage for four nights, after a tough hike from Table Mountain tot he Cape of Good Hope. It was the perfect relaxation spot, with sensational sunset views from the huge balcony. Our aqua bedroom was so comfortable, with every need anticipated. Pam and Steve have obviously given a lot of thought to their guests, to ensure they never want to leave! From the well stocked kitchen, to make our breakfast each morning, to the plentiful towels and toiletries, everything was taken care of. The large shared sitting room between our bedroom and our friends' was perfect, with our very own honesty bar and barbecue on the balcony to ensure we never wanted to even go out, if we didn't want to. Having said that, Camps Bay is lovely, with a laid back atmosphere and great restaurants, so a trip doen to the beach is highly recommended.

It was really a perfect stay, and we will hopefully be back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

At the end of a wonderful trip to South Africa, including a five day walk from Table Mountain to Cape Point, we wanted somewhere that would offer rest and relaxation. Cape Rose Cottage was the perfect place. Situated high up in Camps Bay under the Twelve Apostles, the view from the terrace couldn't be beaten. Fab sunsets. We travelled with friends and the set up with two beautiful bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen and then the vast shared lounge and terrace was exacrly what we wanted. Pam & Steve were wonderful hosts, even providing a laptop.

Pam had decorated the place to perfection - everything was exquisite - even down to the little box of chocolates on the pillow each night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks in Capetown and travelling the Garden Route., We wanted to relax in the second week after the travelling around of the first week and based on the reviews in tripadvisor we had selected Cape Rose Cottage. This holiday was to celebrate our 40th Wedding anniversary and we wanted somewhere special to stay. Pam and Steve are the perfect hosts who make you feel that staying in their home is like staying with family. They were attentive, friendly, eager and interested in our wellbeing and enjoying our stay. Nothing was too much trouble even going to amazing lengths to source food for breakfast to meet my wife's allergy. The idea is that all ingredients for a continental style breakfast are replenished daily for guests to prepare in their room in their own time. There is also wine and beer supplied daily for guests to purchase in their honesty bar should they wish. Although the attentive staff clean the rooms daily guests may stay in around the pool and the beautiful garden Pam has created around the tradionally styled house and makes this an idyllic place to relax. The location is quiet, away from the promenade of Camps bay yet is only 20 mins stroll down the quiet roads to the beach and all of the nightlife and great choice of restaurants.

The sunsets are superb and the two upstairs rooms have a balcony that gives perfect views of this special evening happening. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very tasefully decorated, so quiet with only 3 rooms yet close to all of the amenities of Camps Bay. I can only endorse all of the other reviews, which I was a little sceptical of, as they were so good, but having experienced this weeks stay with Pam and Steve in their lovely home soon confirmed all of the accolades were justified. A truly "in a class of its own" place and people!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#6 of 54 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
3 On Camps Bay Boutique Hotel
1.0 mi away
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
#2 of 54 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bay Atlantic Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rose Cottage

Property: Cape Rose Cottage
Address: 8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in Camps Bay, Cape Rose Cottage is a 4 star graded guest house nestled under the Twelve Apostle mountains and is a beautiful haven for the discerning traveller offering breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, magnificent sunsets, peace and tranquility, beautiful gardens, the sound of birds and gorgeous upmarket accommodation close by to the beachfront and restaurants. Pam and Steve invite you to enjoy three beautiful, romantic and luxurious suites with heavenly views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cape Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Rose Cottage Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing