We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Rose Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Rose Cottage
Ranked #7 of 60 Camps Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2010

At the end of a wonderful trip to South Africa, including a five day walk from Table Mountain to Cape Point, we wanted somewhere that would offer rest and relaxation. Cape Rose Cottage was the perfect place. Situated high up in Camps Bay under the Twelve Apostles, the view from the terrace couldn't be beaten. Fab sunsets. We travelled with friends and the set up with two beautiful bedrooms, bathrooms and kitchen and then the vast shared lounge and terrace was exacrly what we wanted. Pam & Steve were wonderful hosts, even providing a laptop.

Pam had decorated the place to perfection - everything was exquisite - even down to the little box of chocolates on the pillow each night.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravellerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
307
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Just returned from 2 weeks in Capetown and travelling the Garden Route., We wanted to relax in the second week after the travelling around of the first week and based on the reviews in tripadvisor we had selected Cape Rose Cottage. This holiday was to celebrate our 40th Wedding anniversary and we wanted somewhere special to stay. Pam and Steve are the perfect hosts who make you feel that staying in their home is like staying with family. They were attentive, friendly, eager and interested in our wellbeing and enjoying our stay. Nothing was too much trouble even going to amazing lengths to source food for breakfast to meet my wife's allergy. The idea is that all ingredients for a continental style breakfast are replenished daily for guests to prepare in their room in their own time. There is also wine and beer supplied daily for guests to purchase in their honesty bar should they wish. Although the attentive staff clean the rooms daily guests may stay in around the pool and the beautiful garden Pam has created around the tradionally styled house and makes this an idyllic place to relax. The location is quiet, away from the promenade of Camps bay yet is only 20 mins stroll down the quiet roads to the beach and all of the nightlife and great choice of restaurants.

The sunsets are superb and the two upstairs rooms have a balcony that gives perfect views of this special evening happening. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very tasefully decorated, so quiet with only 3 rooms yet close to all of the amenities of Camps Bay. I can only endorse all of the other reviews, which I was a little sceptical of, as they were so good, but having experienced this weeks stay with Pam and Steve in their lovely home soon confirmed all of the accolades were justified. A truly "in a class of its own" place and people!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelEssexUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

A perfect relaxing place to spend time in Camps Bay. Each spacious room opens out onto a balcony with an uninterrupted view of the sea . Rooms are immaculate,luxurious & spotlessly clean. It is possible to walk back from the sea front up the hill but taxis are better, and car parking is not a problem if you are driving. Pam & Steve are the perfect hosts and will look after you during your stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinglight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

We really enjoyed Cape Rose Cottage. Pam and Steve were great hosts, very welcoming and had excellent knowledge of the surrounding area, including golf,shopping, restaurants, places to visit, plus in our case dentist and hairdresser.
We stayed in The Lavender Suite which was beautifully furnished, and great views over the ocean. We enjoyed sitting on our terrace sipping our aperififs from the 'Honesty Bar' (a great idea!) before going out to a delicious dinner. We would recommend Cape rose Cottage as a great place to stay in Camps Bay, the location is excellent - so many places within a short drive...

Many thanks Pam and Steve - we hope to see you again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkLady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

We stayed in Cape Rose Cottage on our honeymoon. Pam and Steve were fantastic - recommending place to eat, things to do, etc. The accomodation was so spacious and the views fantastic. The level of service was excellent. Literally a 2 minute drive from Camps Bay, which is such a lovely spot. We would definalty recommend Cape Rose Cottage and if we are ever back in Camps Bay would have no hesitation in staying here again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieG2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed in cape rose after three week travelling in kenya, tanzania and zambia. A perfect place to relax, to read, to sleep. We stayed in the suite and enjoyed the private garden and the swimmingpool. it takes about a 20 min walk down to camps bay restaurants and a shorter taxi drive up. As we were looking for a place to rest and to relax, Cape Rose Cottage was perfect.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sigruido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

We spent a couple of nights in the Cape Rose Suite. It was a perfect set up self catering unit with a good breakfast / cooking area, bedroom / sitting area and outside small terrace to sit and have a drink.

The B & B is a 5 min drive from Camps Bay with all its eating choices. It has a great beach and is safe and quiet but just 15 mins away from the heart of Cape Town

Well recommended....Kenny and Aileen

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ken053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camps Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.2 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean View House
Ocean View House
#5 of 60 in Camps Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
Le Gouverneur Guesthouse
#2 of 60 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boutique @ 10
Boutique @ 10
#1 of 60 in Camps Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Rose Cottage

Property: Cape Rose Cottage
Address: 8 Hoopoe Avenue, Camps Bay 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Camps Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Camps Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Rose Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in Camps Bay, Cape Rose Cottage is a 4 star graded guest house nestled under the Twelve Apostle mountains and is a beautiful haven for the discerning traveller offering breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean, magnificent sunsets, peace and tranquility, beautiful gardens, the sound of birds and gorgeous upmarket accommodation close by to the beachfront and restaurants. Pam and Steve invite you to enjoy three beautiful, romantic and luxurious suites with heavenly views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cape Rose Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Rose Cottage Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing